EarthQuaker Devices Arpanoid Review – Best Guitar Arpeggiator Pedal?

Review of: EarthQuaker Devices Arpanoid


Reviewed by: Rating:4On November 28, 2013Last modified:December 3, 2016


Summary:

EarthQuaker-Devices-Arpanoid-Review-Best-Guitar-Arpeggiator-Pedal-04

If there’s one thing that can be expected from EarthQuaker Devices, it’s the unexpected. Their pedal range reaches manic extremes, from classic-inspired gems like The Depths, to ultra-modern designs that sometimes go off the deep end like the Bit Commander, Organizer, and Rainbow Machine pedals. The Arpanoid is their latest example of the latter, offering polyphonic pitch arpeggiation that is unlike anything else to be found in any other pedal anywhere.

The Arpanoid is an avant garde instrument, offering wild pitch-modulation possibilities for the most experimental of musicians. You can certainly find some interesting ways to form music around it or use the Arpanoid as a way to add some spontaneous pitch-shifting insanity to bring chaos to order. But how does it fare in actual use? Few pedals offer any form of pitch arpeggiation. Is the Arpanoid the best guitar arpeggiator pedal out there? It’s the first dedicated pitch arpeggiation pedal out here, and we’ll find out how good it is in our EarthQuaker Devices Arpanoid review.



EarthQuaker-Devices-Arpanoid-Review-Best-Guitar-Arpeggiator-Pedal-05Features:

Wet control knob adjusts the effected (digital) signal.

Dry control knob adjusts the unaffected (analog) signal.

Rate control knob adjusts the speed of the sequence.

Step control knob selects how many notes are in the sequence.

Toggle Switch controls direction of the sequence: up (left), up & down (middle), down (right).

Mode 8 position selector switch chooses the octave and scale:

1: Major: -1 octave to root.

2: Major: root to +1 octave.

3: Major: -1 octave through +1

4: Major: Random pattern

5: Minor: -1 octave to root.

6: Minor: root to +1 octave.

7: Minor: -1 octave through +1

8: Minor: Random pattern

True Bypass foot-switch for letting your signal pass unaffected when disengaged.

Powered by 9VDC power adapter.

Visit EarthQuaker Devices for more info about the Arpanoid.

See the lowest price on Amazon.

See the lowest price on eBay.

Sound & Performance:

I’ve played some crazy and bizarre guitar pedals in my day, but few are as insane as this one. The Arpanoid is not for the faint of heart. I’ve spent a lot of time coming to grips with this pedal, and I’ve realized a few things. The Arpanoid is a challenging beast to tame. Even so, to what degree you’re able to tame it is up for dispute as you may come to realize that you’ve had to submit yourself to this pedal to make use of it. I like the idea of “controlled chaos”, and I accepted the challenge of trying to get the Arpanoid to bend to my will. But ultimately, when playing this pedal it is you who bends as you give up control and align yourself to the chaotic flurry of sound that spews forth from the Arpanoid.

It’s important to get familiar with the controls before getting overwhelmed with a cacophony of pitch-shifting insanity. The Wet and Dry controls are easy enough to understand. I’d recommend rolling down your dry signal and focusing on the Wet signal to get a feel for what’s going on. The center Mode knob will allow you to pick various ranges of minor, major, and random note sequences, and the Step knob will limit or extend the range of notes available. For example, rolling the Step knob counterclockwise will result in the base note being heard, turning it slightly will bring in the second note, then the third, and so on, arpeggiating between them. The direction of the sequence is set by the Toggle Switch to either up, up & down, or down. It’s also important to note that the Step knob has a subtle influence on the rhythm of the note sequence as you turn it, giving the Arpanoid an analog, yet digital vibe. The Rate knob sets the speed of the sequence. To give you some ideas of what this pedal can do while reviewing its capabilities, I’ll cover several of the interesting settings I discovered.

Warped “Digital” Record

Set the Dry and Wet knobs to noon, and roll the Rate and Step all the way down. Set the Mode knob to 2. The Toggle Switch setting isn’t relevant. From here the Arpanoid produces a fast slap-back style delay effect due to the latency of the digital signal. Now push the Step knob up just slightly until the second note of the sequence can be heard shifting back to the first note. You’ll have a bizarre warped record sounding effect that’s interesting over clean chords.

Octave Down

Again, set the Dry and Wet knobs to noon, leave the Rate and Step all the way down, and use Mode position 1. You get an instant octave down effect. Try turning down the Dry knob for a fully wet signal that’s an octave below your original pitch. This is another cool sound, but now we’re going to start getting to the really good stuff.

Minor 3rd Triplets

Set the Mode knob to 6. Turn down the Dry knob and crank the Rate control. Set the Step knob so that 3 different arpeggiated notes can be heard. Set the Toggle Switch to Up or Down. Each note you hit will trigger 3 notes – the root, the second, and the third – in ascending or descending order depending on where you set the Toggle Switch. Try hitting E, B, and G notes on the high E and G strings using wide-interval stretching and string skipping. The Arpanoid allows you to generate a lot of notes with minimal effort. While it may prove challenging to remaining locked within a specific scale, it’s easy to create wild chromatic sounds.

Rise & Fall

Set the Mode to either 3 or 7 and leave the Toggle Switch in the middle position. Turn the Rate and Step knobs fully clockwise. Leave the Wet knob around noon and either set the Dry to around noon or fully counterclockwise. You’ll be treated to a wide -1 octave to +1 octave sweep of the notes throughout the range. Despite the Arpanoid’s digital nature, it has an analog feel in terms of its rhythmic vibe and the sensitivity of the Rate and Step controls. It can be useful to blend in your dry signal to add some rhythmic stability to the oscillating chaos of the arpeggiated scale.

Bucket-Shred

Want to play some insane 8-finger-tapping style, chromatic 12-tone shred but don’t have the time to practice 16 hours a day? The Arpanoid will make you an instant shred-god. Crank the Rate and Step, set the Mode to either 4 or 8, and turn the Dry signal all the way down. Next time the other guitarist in your band starts wanking with all that tasteless shredding, just kick the pedal on in this setting and show everyone who’s the real shredder. Why not try turning your back to the crowd like Van Halen did in the early days as if you’re hiding your secret techniques? Then turn back and show them you’re just hitting one note. Yeah, it’s pretty ridiculous, I know. In all seriousness this is probably my favorite setting. You can either hit one note and let the Arpanoid do the rest or play chromatic sequences really high up the neck for some intense chromatic auto-shred. Kick it on for a quick burst of random notes for the most dramatic effect.

The funny thing about this pedal is that its weaknesses are its biggest strengths. The unpredictable nature of the Arpanoid forces you to just let go and be awed by the assault of notes that takes place when you engage the pedal. You’ll never have it lock in time to a rigid beat so don’t even try. You might be able to play in time by having your drummer form a beat around it. But then there’s the slight latency that, while subtle, further ensures that perfect timing is futile. The Arpanoid is an ego-shattering pedal that will force you to give in to its spontaneous, hypnotic arpeggiations. It’s at its best when you just let it run wild and is well suited to being used over ambient sequences without a clear beat or progression.

The Arpanoid really is the kind of experimental pedal-bomb that could only come from EarthQuaker devices. Let’s see the final result.

EarthQuaker-Devices-Arpanoid-Review-Best-Guitar-Arpeggiator-Pedal-06

Overall-Rating-4.0

The EarthQuaker Devices Arpanoid will decimate your audience with an assault of pitch arpeggiated chaos and take you on a journey into the unknown with hypnotic patterns of ascending, descending, and random note sequences in major and minor keys. From ambient to extreme, the Arpanoid may be just the pedal to take your sound to exciting new frontiers. If you’re brave enough, try setting the Mode knob to the 2 random positions for the ultimate unpredictable sonic attack. Few pedals offer pitch arpeggiation, making the Arpanoid one of the default choices for best guitar arpeggiator pedal, but it’s a surprisingly useful pitch-mangling tool for those who like to terrorize their audience with extreme audio effects.

That concludes our EarthQuaker Devices Arpanoid review. Thanks for reading.

 

Want to buy the EarthQuaker Devices Arpanoid?

See The Lowest Price On Amazon

See The Lowest Price On eBay

 

And check out our list of the best EarthQuaker Devices pedals!

 

 

Gabriel Tanaka

COMMENTS

  1. jake red

    December 31, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    quite a unique pedal only heard sounds like this out of few pedals

  2. don hutchko

    December 30, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    Seems to be a one of a kind pedal. Could open up new creative doors

  3. Captain Jack

    December 30, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Sounds like a really fun pedal to play!

  4. Captain Jack

    December 30, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    Oh Yeah! I could have a lotta fun with this one!!

  5. Will

    December 30, 2013 at 8:15 am

    This is the most distinct pedal I’ve heard all year! Wow!

  6. Garrett Jeffirds

    December 30, 2013 at 1:38 am

    Exactly what I dial a lot of my similar pedals to do, this makes it cleaner and easier for what I am going for. Sounds great.

  7. Connor

    December 29, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Can’t wait to jam with this and a loop pedal.

  8. Connor

    December 29, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Can’t wait to jam with this and a looper.

  9. Keith

    December 28, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    This pedal looks wild.

  10. Timothy White

    December 28, 2013 at 10:53 am

    This is another pedal I’d like to try although probably normally wouldn’t buy one. I have an electro harmonix POG 2 that I read very rarely use. Although lately I’ve been finding more use for octave switcher is it Harmonizers with the band apparently playing with.

  11. Jordi Farhansyah

    December 28, 2013 at 6:28 am

    This is one of many Earthquaker Devices pedals which create such a unique sound! I’d like to have one of this.

  12. roy nadav

    December 28, 2013 at 4:17 am

    nice one , love to try one

  13. Scott

    December 27, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    It’s cool to see people expanding on the guitar pedal universe of sounds rather than building another Muff or Tubescreamer clone.

  14. Jeremy Judelson

    December 27, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    such a cool pedal!

  15. Mark Dawson

    December 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    First review of this pedal I’ve read that includes examples of useful settings, well done!

  16. Carlos

    December 27, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    I just got the organizer and already is one of favorites pedals !

  17. jonny gleadell

    December 27, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    All out wacky, making boring pedal boards less boring like a pro.

  18. Sergio

    December 27, 2013 at 8:31 am

    It seems a very funny as well as usable pedal, specially for solos. A must have if you like the unexpected

  19. Mike Woods

    December 26, 2013 at 10:50 am

    I played one of these not too long ago, it is beyond fun. Really an inspiration machine.

  20. Dominik Šandor

    December 24, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    This pedal should be in every guitarist´s pedalboard. Sounds completly crazy. MUST HAVE !

  21. xrussianx

    December 23, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    this pedal sounds completely crazy. especially with the octave jumps

  22. Jason Murphy

    December 23, 2013 at 9:42 am

    These guys make pedals that do everything and things that peeps never thought if before. If love to have this pedal and the depths. Every time I look at the depths pedal it reminds me of captain nemo and his prized nautilus. I’m the captain and I want to go to the depths

  23. Adam

    December 21, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Whoa….I’ve never heard anything like this. Wild! I’d love to try to figure out Edgar Winter’s Frankenstein solo using this pedal. For V2, they should throw in an expression pedal or tap tempo.

  24. luca

    December 21, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Sounds amazing.

    Great pedal 🙂

  25. Nic K

    December 18, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    Nice demo and showcase of effect’s options and parameters. Would love to pair this with a bass or synth too – the dry/wet is awesome.

    Cheers!

  26. Gerald Wisnieski

    December 17, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Wow this pedal sounds totally badass with distortion

  27. Sigi

    December 17, 2013 at 10:07 am

    Great pedal! Would be perfect for my experimental intentions!

  28. Alain Robert

    December 17, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I’d Like to have one of these weird pedals!

  29. Tom Tracy

    December 17, 2013 at 6:59 am

    Looking forward to seeing this one on my pedal board!

  30. Matthew Vinson

    December 17, 2013 at 6:26 am

    Sounds like space. This thing probably helps time traveling 🙂

  31. Seth Hale

    December 16, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Sweet pedal. I’d love to win one!

  32. Vc

    December 16, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Like the fact that you can dial in separate wet and dry setting. Probably would be cool to have a shimmer of an octave on a dry signal. Nice!

  33. Michael W Perkins

    December 16, 2013 at 8:37 am

    Ive been hit N Miss when playing with arpegiators, I always end up diong weirdness…

  34. Brian

    December 16, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Love thewhole octave thing. Do have any pedal yet, but…

  35. duncs

    December 16, 2013 at 4:39 am

    I would love to hear what I could do with this pedal. It could do some crazy stuff no no-input mixing desk stuff.

  36. Matthew Hajdys

    December 15, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Jamie’s ideas, perfectionism, and attention to detail never cease’s to amaze me! EQD makes the best pedals around…Hands down!

  37. Jeff Klein

    December 15, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    One of the most innovative effects I’ve heard in years!

    I have the Organizer and the Speaker Cranker. They are so well built and a mainstay on my board.

  38. Dave

    December 15, 2013 at 6:06 am

    That’s crazy! I want one! Great review!

  39. Alec

    December 15, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Love it , my next pedal !

  40. Michal

    December 15, 2013 at 3:57 am

    wow, this gives great possibilites, i’d love to try it.

  41. brupop

    December 15, 2013 at 1:36 am

    OK then

  42. Trent

    December 15, 2013 at 1:25 am

    i’ll take it.

  43. Sammy

    December 14, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    I don’t even know what chaos is going on with this pedal, but I love the sound of it. It sounds like it would be a great match for some dirty style of punk

  44. Daniel lunsford

    December 14, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    God I love this website. It’s gotten me to buy three pedals that I never turn off. This pedal is very cool, I’ve never had an octave or arpeggio pedal before

  45. Nathan Mumford

    December 14, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    Per bestguitareffects.com there is a giveaway that I want to win for this pedal!!!

  46. Aaron

    December 14, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    This thing is intense! Like running a fuzz into the front of an octave multiplexer

  47. David Miller

    December 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Super interesting what this baby can do

  48. Mike

    December 14, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    Awesome tone!

  49. Jonathan Guillemette

    December 14, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    This pedal sounds insane.

  50. Brian Kelly

    December 14, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    I’d love to win this pedal, it sounds great!

  51. Gary

    December 14, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    I would totally use this with a bunch of wacky instruments.

  52. Junior

    December 14, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I want one!

  53. Christopher

    December 14, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    The random feature on this pedal sets it apart, great for noisemakers.

  54. Clif. McKinley

    December 14, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Dang, that’s awesome! I had been considering the EH Pog, but this looks like it will do the same & more. I think I need the Arpanoid instead.

  55. fescue

    December 14, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    That, my friend, is one bomb-ass pedal.

  56. Michael

    December 14, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    craving this Arpanoid!

  57. Kyle Alm

    December 14, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    Whoa, that thing is crazy.

  58. Phil T.

    December 14, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    You are killing my wallet!

  59. Jacob Roch

    December 14, 2013 at 10:31 am

    Woah, this thing is crazy!

  60. dan l.

    December 12, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    let me have one

  61. Trevor Nelson

    December 12, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    This thing osunds sick! I wish I could get my hands on one to try it out…

  62. Jordan

    December 12, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    As the newsletter said, EQD is killing it right now!!! Love the wackieness possible with this thing, polyphonic craziness! Saw a demo of a more subtle setting with one setting that was killer! the creativity contained in this metal enclosure!

  63. Mark

    December 12, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    The Arpanoid would be the perfect partner for my Eterna shimmer reverb pedal! Great sounding pedal.

  64. Rick

    December 12, 2013 at 9:03 am

    This thing sounds evil. I want it. I have an entire neighborhood I want to go metal machine music on.

  65. Adam

    December 11, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Got the chance to mess around with one of these; sooo much fun. This pedal has so many possibilities by itself, not to mention when linked up on a board. you can spend an hour playing on it and still not reveal the full potential. Definitely on my wishlist; it would sound amazing with my Organizer.

  66. Brian

    December 10, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    Definitely a freaky pedal, dang!

  67. Peter

    December 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    This feels like one of those pedals where the designer said, “what if…” and then built it just to see how it would sound.

  68. Courtney Copenhaver

    December 10, 2013 at 8:46 am

    for my boyfriend

  69. Edson

    December 9, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    Wow.. this was some wierd sh…. 🙂

  70. Matthew Norman

    December 7, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    NO WAY!!! THIS IS SO SICK!!! OK so after watching the demo video above for the Earthquaker Devices Arpanoid, I must confess it is now on TOP of my list for pedals to acquire! I have been searching for years for a guitar effect pedal to do exactly what this does. Namely, create Steve Vai-esc type finger tapping shredded licks with the most minimal effort on my behalf. LOL. Now, having seen and heard of this pedal for the last few months , watched demos on YouTube ect, I must admit I always kind of glossed over it in favor of other EQD pedals that are more straight forward in their sounds. After watching the demo above produced by bestguitareffects.com, I AM BLOWN AWAY!!! I absolutely had no idea that this pedal has the range of tones and sounds-capes it does! It seems to only be limited my my own imagination! Thank you bestguitareffects.com for the chance to actually add this to my pedal board. You seriously couldn’t have picked a cooler pedal. Also, keep up these rocking awesome demos! BEST ON THE NET!!! _

  71. Chris Williams

    December 7, 2013 at 10:32 am

    This is something unique I need on my pedal board! I’d love play with these sounds.

  72. Ian

    December 7, 2013 at 7:28 am

    I feel like you could open the door to the Mines of Moria with this thing.

  73. Sherman

    December 6, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    Interesting, I’d like this one in the bag of tricks for sure!

  74. Jens

    December 6, 2013 at 6:44 am

    Great pedal!

  75. Ictus

    December 6, 2013 at 2:34 am

    *_*

  76. Rodolfo

    December 5, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    Its a great sounding pedal!, you can come up with pretty crazy stuff with it!

  77. ilker Isikyakar

    December 5, 2013 at 11:20 am

    Definitely a must have.

  78. Nico

    December 5, 2013 at 9:55 am

    Incredible pedal… I must buy it for my pedalboard !! =D

    Cheers from Belgium dudes !

  79. jesse tovar

    December 5, 2013 at 6:34 am

    I wondered if this could actually be used musically, but the more I hear it, the more I think this is an extremely musical pwdal. It seems like the type of effect that 4 really brings out your creativity!

  80. Guillem Vilade

    December 5, 2013 at 5:37 am

    Arpeggiator!!! Such a cool name for a cool pedal!!!

    I wish I have it on my pedalboard!!!

  81. Nicosonic

    December 5, 2013 at 4:42 am

    Cool pedal !

  82. Mattson

    December 4, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    That is friggin’ cool

  83. Kevin Dueer

    December 4, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    This is an awesome pedal straight up. I must get my hands on it.

  84. Dakota

    December 4, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    I’ve yet to play one but, given the reviews I’ve read, I would really like to. I like to play pedals like instruments themselves, and something like the Arpanoid lends itself to this readily. Hope to get my hands on one soon.

  85. Jason Russell

    December 4, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    This thing is sweet. Imagine it with a fuzz and an envelope filter after it.

  86. Sj

    December 4, 2013 at 3:50 pm

    Wow this toy is amazing! Heard on Juan site, made bass going in wild dimension!

    Sj

  87. Andrew

    December 4, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    At first I was a little skeptical of this pedal, but after reading your review and watching the video, you’ve changed my mind! Ambient sounds galore!

  88. Neil

    December 4, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Mmm… Sounds right arp my street!

  89. Andrea Pagnoni

    December 4, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    This is the coolest EarthQuaker Device pedal i’ve ever tried; it sounds amazing and, last but not least, aesthetically it’s really cool. It takes whatever you play and transforms it into an ascending or descending scale using 8 different programs. The disposition of controls is really simple, even a child can understand how it works.

    Hope to win it in the December Giveaway!!!

  90. Patrick gundran

    December 4, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    Love every Earthquake pedal I’ve tried, every one is super weird and fun!

  91. Brett Jackson

    December 4, 2013 at 10:58 am

    you want to sound unique? this could a be a good place to start! looks like it can create a crazy range of sounds = Awesome!!

  92. Pete Gaeta

    December 4, 2013 at 4:49 am

    Okay, this would be fun to play with. I’m sure I could find somewhere to use it, right?

  93. Dave

    December 3, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    UGHHHH SOUNDS SO COOL

  94. Andersonn Co

    December 3, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    If there’s one thing this beast is great at; its definitely making insane noises! Just perfect for noise rock… m/

  95. brenden

    December 3, 2013 at 11:50 am

    Sweet! No more practicing scales for me!

  96. Scruffie

    December 3, 2013 at 7:55 am

    Yes… Good…

  97. Ben Anderson

    December 3, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Earthquaker devices make some freaking killer pedals! It would be fun to experiment with this!

  98. hugo

    December 3, 2013 at 5:25 am

    nice pedal!

  99. Russ Mains

    December 2, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    That pedal looks quite interesting.

  100. Daniel Kirkland

    December 2, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    Definitely a very fun pedal. I would love to get one someday to use with some noise rock stuff. Cool idea indeed, works very well too.

  101. Jordan Palamara

    December 2, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    Cool! This would be so hard to use in a band environment, but I’m working on an experimental album that this would be great on.

  102. oguzhan

    December 2, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    Looks fantastic!!

  103. Szczepan

    December 2, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    just discovered the EarthQuaker Devices – they do have incredible stuff up their sleeves. must find a place to test those in Poland

  104. Glenn Dye

    December 2, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    The “Arpanoid” sounds the most interesting of the 2 pedals. I have a couple octive pedals, but they just dont cut it. Wish you had a video demo or sound clip. Would be very interested in trying one out!

  105. bert

    December 2, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    i want this pedal so bad

  106. adam

    December 2, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    hey i am buliding pedals my self and im allways so impressed when someone pushes the limits and inovates …. would really like to try one of these out …living in austria…no eqd pedals around here yet….

    sounds sick tough….

    keep the good sounding devices going…

    adam.c

  107. Jacob McEntire

    December 2, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    It’s good to see somewhat new ground being broken. Surely inspirational to play and a good tool to help with those moments in writing when you need something just a bit more.

    A must have for my taste in music.

  108. matt

    December 2, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Who doesn’t want to add octaves to their tone!?!

  109. Glenn Janssens

    December 2, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Looks very awesome, reminds me of a song of Atlas Sound – Te Amo!

  110. Patrick marshall

    December 2, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    I’ve been dreaming of some of the sounds I could make with this one…

  111. Brandon Tiller

    December 2, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Very unique! Would be great for experimenting with sound!

  112. Rogelio Dewar

    December 2, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    I own some EQD pedals, the Dispatch Master is basis for my tone…

    Looking forward to own this device, it simply has that unique and interesting blend of experimental features good enough for my sound design kit.

  113. Henry Robertson

    December 2, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    real cool unique pedal. EQD rules.

  114. Isaac

    December 2, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Also commenting because random drawing.

  115. seth

    December 2, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    I could make use of one if these

  116. Ryan Opel

    December 2, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    Sounds fantastic!

  117. Ken

    December 2, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    This sounds totally amazing and unique! Oh, to have this on my board…..

  118. Chris Faricy

    December 2, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Oh, and Spacey too @/@

  119. luis

    December 2, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    must be fun when you’re playing at home

  120. Chris Faricy

    December 2, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    Chromatically Delicious. Poly wants this Pedal!!!

  121. David miller

    December 2, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    This with a drum looping machine could prove to create some cool stuff

  122. joseph

    December 2, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    This would sound so good with some nice delay

  123. Vince

    December 2, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    You can make such amazing passages with this wizardry.

  124. alan huynh

    December 2, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    this, the rainbow machine, and the disaster transport would make anyone’s rig killer for experimental/textural/spacial sounds

  125. Gordon

    December 2, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    These would sound awesome with my guitar collection

  126. Demitri

    December 2, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    Enigmatic and awesome, I’d like to experiment with this device!

  127. Kyle Schauer

    December 2, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Boy would I sure like to tame this beast. You guys do an awesome review of this pedal! Describes it perfectly!

  128. mateusz

    December 2, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    Rewelacyjne brzmienie!!! ale czemu takie zdjęcia prześwietlone?

  129. Kevin Gray

    December 2, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Niiiiiicce!!

  130. Maxx Harkins

    December 2, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    This thing is a total abomination… I want one.

  131. Dago Marino

    December 2, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    quality arpeggiators are hard to come by… GAS!

  132. Ian

    December 2, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    Brilliant pedal would love to experiment with it.

  133. Samuel Boodt

    December 2, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    This thing looks insane, definitely would like to experiment with it.

  134. bob barnett

    December 2, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    from the review, this sounds like the one of the two amazing EarthQuaker Devices arpeggiator type devices (between the Arpeggiator and the Rainbow Machine) that I’d want. more options, deeper controls, just MORE! can’t wait to try one!

  135. Zsolt Dubravcsik

    December 2, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Would love to put it onto my pedalboard!

  136. Vitali

    December 2, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    so amazing!

  137. Jeremy Judelson

    December 2, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    this is the dopest!

  138. Peter Trott

    December 2, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    I would love to put this pedal through its paces. Thanks for the review!

  139. jim Healey

    December 2, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    This pedal is a great addition to anyones tone archive, never owned one but I’ll learn it, great effect.

  140. Sean Reiness

    December 2, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    hoping to be lucky … love this pedal !

  141. Mike Garrett

    December 2, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    I wasn’t so sure about the usefulness of this pedal – until I saw the demos. I never should’ve doubted you, EQD!

  142. Patrick James Foetisch

    December 2, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    Love the sound of these pedals. The idea of owning one is mesmerising. I would love to spend hours playing with one of these babies. Never won anything in my life. One of these pedals would make up for these lost years… Would really make a great xmas present 😀

  143. Dylan Thomas

    December 2, 2013 at 11:58 am

    I don’t have an arpeggiator pedal but would love to, sounds fun. Thank you so much for having these giveaways, I hope I win!

  144. Nickpharvey

    December 2, 2013 at 11:54 am

    Got the oppurtunity to try this at a recent pedal expo and was blown away. Such a rad pedal.

  145. Alex

    December 2, 2013 at 11:53 am

    Earthquaker makes done of the best pedal stomp boxes on the market

  146. Junior Tidal

    December 2, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I could totally use this bad boy.

  147. Colm

    December 2, 2013 at 11:48 am

    I already own this pedal in the future. I won it in an amazeballs pedal giveaway. It helped me to destroy my foes and caress my non-foes.

  148. Rob Burrill

    December 2, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Love it!

  149. Justin

    December 2, 2013 at 11:42 am

    I’m ready to spend hours floating around in unexpected sonic space.

  150. Lucas Van Lenten

    December 2, 2013 at 11:39 am

    I’ve been waiting for a pedal like this.

  151. Franco

    December 2, 2013 at 11:35 am

    I want it!

  152. Sie Carroll

    December 2, 2013 at 11:32 am

    NIce, watched a couple of youtube videos and as mentioned in the review it is the unpredictability of this effect which would entice me in, I love when an effect can do something unexpected and wonderful to turn a good song/guitar line into a great one.

  153. Brent Johnston

    December 2, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Sounds like a very intersting pedal

  154. Kyle Roy

    December 2, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Weird pedals are always right up my alley.

  155. Seth

    December 2, 2013 at 11:27 am

    <3 these pedals

  156. rus_R_us

    December 2, 2013 at 11:24 am

    heck yes

    sounds perdiculous

  157. Andrew E.

    December 2, 2013 at 11:23 am

    I love these. They seem like they could be a really useful thing to have on your pedalboard. A lot of interesting possibilities with them for sure.

  158. Gonzalo

    December 2, 2013 at 11:22 am

    This is they type of pedal I’ve been looking for a long time. Definitely getting one.

  159. Joseph Earl

    December 2, 2013 at 11:21 am

    I like it

  160. Bobby

    December 2, 2013 at 11:21 am

    It sounds like it handles shifting the pitch of guitar tones better than my boss super shifter, which is kind of erratic. Different ballgame in many ways, but this could replace the super shifter on my board.

  161. Jim Schreck

    December 2, 2013 at 11:20 am

    I fell in love with this pedal the first time I heard it. Oh, the creative possibilities! Hope one day to make it mine:)

  162. Gideon Hansen

    December 2, 2013 at 11:19 am

    I love all different sounds that you can possibly create using this pedal. It’s THE pedal to have and I want it.

  163. Andrés Ponce

    December 2, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Great for making some new geometric mistforms, a must have in my gear

  164. Jack Weisberg

    December 2, 2013 at 11:17 am

    Looks very interesting.

  165. Mark Young

    December 2, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Total diggin’ the endless options this pedal would bring to my guitar rig as I’m always looking to push it to the next level.

  166. Andy Dalton

    December 2, 2013 at 11:14 am

    Earthquaker Devices seems to make some of the most interesting pedals I’ve ever heard. I also love the graphics and branding they have. I’d be stoked to have this crazy thing on my pedal board. Especially when looping, reversing, and messing with the pitch. I’d like to hear what happens when it receives a Whammy 1 signal!

  167. Jared

    December 2, 2013 at 11:13 am

    endless possibilities.

  168. james zzyzyx

    December 2, 2013 at 11:13 am

    EarthQuaker Devices does great work another great pedal

  169. David

    December 2, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Pedals like this are what keep me from switching to just an AxeFx.

  170. Noel

    December 2, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Nice

  171. Alberto

    December 2, 2013 at 11:02 am

    I wanna put my foot in this, too!

  172. Matt

    December 2, 2013 at 10:58 am

    I love Earthquaker Devices they make great stuff. This pedal sounds really rad I can picture some cool ear pleasing awesomeness coming from this thing.

  173. Stephen

    December 2, 2013 at 10:57 am

    I would love to have my hands on this pedal. I think it would be wise to spend some time and really get to know the ins and outs of the pedal because its almost like another instrument. I would love to use this with a looper and go nuts with the synth like flutters or maybe add it to the effects loop in my delay. rock on and hook me up! 😉

  174. Dave Polidoro

    December 2, 2013 at 10:56 am

    wow. this pedal is completely insane, but in a really good way. I love it.

  175. Erik

    December 2, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Another great pedal from Earthquaker

  176. Razvan Lazea-Postelnicu

    December 2, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Earthquaker make the best stuff.

  177. Nico Kuhz

    December 2, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Wow! The demos a great and this pedal would inspire most of us to do new and cool stuff!

    Great and interesting pedal!

  178. Mike

    December 2, 2013 at 7:01 am

    A lot to choose from on this pedal.

  179. BlackCat Slim

    December 2, 2013 at 6:57 am

    Interesting. Need to hear a video of this sucker..

  180. Chris

    December 2, 2013 at 6:39 am

    I really hope to get my hands on this pedal soon. I’ve been wanting an arpeggiator for a long time. I love Earthquaker Devices!

  181. No Whales

    December 2, 2013 at 3:45 am

    Love Earthquaker’s pedals. Always adds someting unique to the palette of boutique pedals. I’ve been wanting an arpeggiator for quite a while now, and this might be the thing I just need!

  182. Vivek

    December 2, 2013 at 2:36 am

    Always on the look out for unique pedals and this is one!

  183. Peter Homoki

    December 2, 2013 at 2:33 am

    real crazy

  184. Scott M

    December 2, 2013 at 2:32 am

    I love the grit. Aen kicks A

  185. Kelly

    December 1, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Another unique pedal from EQD. Would love to experiment with this. I have a V1 Hummingbird that has brought me a unique sound and creative fun for years

  186. Efraim Tirto

    December 1, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    simple design, but have fuckin great sound. I want this pedal for sure! 🙂

  187. Mike

    December 1, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    Whoa, cool!

  188. brupop

    December 1, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    OK

  189. robert koch

    December 1, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    I like both the Arpanoid and the Depths pedals

  190. Mike

    December 1, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    Sounds excellent!

  191. Sunny

    December 1, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    i dont understand!

  192. Randall Brown

    December 1, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    I’d love to make some noise with this pedal.

  193. Frederick

    December 1, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    This thing is amazing.

  194. Eric

    December 1, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Would love to get one of these to throw into my Superegos loop.

  195. Michael Scar

    December 1, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    This pedal looks really interesting. “Random effect”? Would love to put my hands on it! 🙂

  196. fescue

    December 1, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    And I would not mind winning this pedal, either.

  197. Joseph Bugg

    December 1, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    Heck yes! This is seriously something I’ve been looking for. Thanks for this review!

  198. John B

    December 1, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    This pedal is giving me all sorts of ideas for new ways to arrange tunes!

  199. zillah

    December 1, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    I’ve got plans for this guy! <.<

  200. Robert Abernathy

    December 1, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    oh man, this is one that I really really want bad! I love arpeggiators, but having one on guitar sounds totally insane! I haven’t had a chance to play with this one yet, but the YouTube demos all sound really cool. – Good review!

  201. matt s

    December 1, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Minor 3rd Triplets!

  202. Mike Andrews

    December 1, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    I can only imagine how cool some of my riffs could sound with this pedal!!

  203. Gonzalo

    December 1, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    this pedal sounds so good! i found it very interesting all the sounds you can achieve! just amazing!

  204. ron grande

    December 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    This seems like a fun pedal to play and to experiment with, but I really can’t comment as to how I would use it until I use it.

  205. Lee

    December 1, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    I want this pedal so very much. When I came across it I was really excited by its existence.

  206. sergio

    December 1, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    It’s a nice pedal 🙂

  207. Nils Bryant

    December 1, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Would love to try one of these, wonder how it sounds on other instruments (synths?)

  208. James Kogan

    December 1, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    wow, this is a freaky and psychedelic thing!

  209. Alan Grimes

    December 1, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    An impressive array, I think I could find a good home for one of these!

  210. Adrian Floro

    December 1, 2013 at 10:51 am

    sounds good on bass…

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.