EarthQuaker Devices The Depths Review – Best “Uni-Vibe” Modulation Pedal?

Review of: EarthQuaker Devices The Depths


Reviewed by: Rating:4.5On November 29, 2013Last modified:December 3, 2016


Summary:

EarthQuaker-Devices-The-Depths-Best-Uni-Vibe-Modulation-Pedal-01

Guitarists have long-sought quality guitar pedals that simulate the three dimensional sounds of a Leslie rotating speaker cabinet, an effect originally designed for use with organ that delivers lush, swirling soundscapes. The first effect to emulate the rotary sound was the Uni-Vibe, and although it failed to accurately reproduce an authentic rotary sound, it become a remarkably well-regarded effect in its own right due to its unique sonic character. Listen to Machine Gun by Jimi Hendrix or his Woodstock rendition of the Star Spangled Banner for a few legendary examples of the effect in action. Over the years countless variations of this now classic effect have been released, and EarthQuaker Devices have released a noteworthy modern update with The Depths.

Deep Sea Vibe Machine

The Depths offers real classic vibe sounds thanks to its optical circuit which features a flashing lamp flanked by 4 light-sensing photocells. The sequence of these sensors along with the pulsing light is what creates the lush, phasing rhythmic pulse and 3D swirling sounds. The Depths also gives you an array of knobs of tweak your tone and a Level control to boost your signal which is helpful since many vibe units are plagued by perceived loss of signal. Is The Depths the best “Uni-Vibe” style modulation pedal out there? Keep reading our EarthQuaker Devices The Depths review to find out.

EarthQuaker-Devices-The-Depths-Best-Uni-Vibe-Modulation-Pedal-02Features:

Voice knob dials in the overall sound. Clockwise is fuller with more lows; counterclockwise offers a thinner, midrange focused tone.

Throb knob adjusts the low end pulse. It’s more apparent when used with the neck pickup or with dirty settings.

Intensity knob controls how subtle or intense the overall effect is. Counterclockwise settings are more subtle and classic; clockwise settings are more drastic and intense.

Rate knob controls the speed of the effect from slow (counterclockwise) to fast (clockwise).

Level knob controls the volume of the effect, unity being around 1 o’clock.

Powered by 9-18VDC power supply. 9V gives a warmer and more natural sound. 18V is stronger with more headroom and “sparkle”.

Visit EarthQuaker Devices for more info about The Depths.

See the lowest price on Amazon.

See the lowest price on eBay.

Sound & Performance:

I was really excited to learn that The Depths is a real optical vibe machine, and I had to open it to see if the circuit was visible. Lo and behold it is! When you open the pedal, you’ll see a light surrounded by sensors, forming the core of the pedal’s unique sounds. You can also adjust the Voice, Intensity, and Rate controls to see how they manipulate the light which in turn affects the sounds The Depths produces. I highly recommend you look inside for yourself when you get your hands on the pedal. Getting a visual of how the controls affect the light may further translate to your understanding of how to get the sounds you want from the pedal.

To start I set the pedal to what EarthQuaker Devices recommends as the “classic” vibe sound, running the pedal at 9 volts, setting the Intensity to the 11-12 o’clock range, Voice at 3 o’clock, and Throb around 2 o’clock. I pushed up the Level to around 1 o’clock to achieve a unity gain level, and I started with the Rate at noon.

The Depths instantly engulfs your sound with a lush, swirling tone that adds dimension and character to your playing. It has a great tonality that can easily hold its own against any of the best vibe machines you’ve ever heard. If you want authentic vibe pedal sounds, The Depths delivers a heavy heaping of thick, pulsing saturation.

Turning the Voice control towards noon will give you a feel for how it affects your sound. Cutting the Voice control a bit accentuates the midrange and combined with a little Level boost will make The Depths great for swirling solo breaks that cut through the mix. I find that the sweet spot is somewhere between noon and 3 o’clock where The Depths achieves a balanced tone that maintains plenty of low end.

The Throb control is extremely subtle, but it seems to add a little extra presence to the bottom end without mudding up your signal. Crank it to the max if you want to beef up your lows a bit more. The Depths sounds absolutely massive as a quick a/b comparison with your dry tone will show, and judicious settings of the Throb control will only serve to fatten it even more.

The Intensity functions as expected and will give you phasing sounds from a gentle wooshing to a hard pummeling vibe. This will make your sound as mild or as extreme as inspiration demands. For classic sounds keep it around noon. Take it to the right for crushing vibe sounds that will awaken the krakens.

As The Depths produces such a thick sounding, hi-fi yet classic sound, I couldn’t help but notice that it makes an amazing pre-amp/EQ/boost when you roll the Intensity all the way down. Tweak the Voice and Throb to taste and adjust the Level, and you’ve got an incredible array of tones available for coloring your sound and adding thickness, presence, and vintage warmth. This extra use might be just the secret to sculpting your unique signature tone.

While most classic vibe pedals feature some kind of foot control of the rate/speed via expression pedal, The Depths forgoes that option in favor of allowing the player to dial in their specific tones. While some guitarists may prefer real-time Rate control, The Depths will find favor among those who like to dial in their desired tones without any fuss, setting it and forgetting it, so to speak.

EarthQuaker Devices have another killer pedal on their hands to go along with the likes of such epic pedals as the Disaster Transport SR, Rainbow Machine, Bit Commander, and Arpanoid. Let’s see the final result.

Overall-Rating-4.5

The Depths from EarthQuaker Devices is an excellent vibe machine that offers plenty of classic mojo and modern tone-tweaking functionality. The array of controls will let you sculpt the ultimate rotary/Uni-Vibe/Leslie style tones, making this pedal a great choice for those looking for some of that signature swirling pulse employed over the years by the likes of Jimi Hendrix, Robin Trower, and David Gilmour among others. The Depths is one of the best “Uni-Vibe” modulation pedals around and another standout pedal from EarthQuaker Devices.

That concludes our EarthQuaker Devices The Depths review. Thanks for reading.

 

Want to buy the EarthQuaker Devices The Depths?

See The Lowest Price On Amazon

See The Lowest Price On eBay

 

And check out our list of the best EarthQuaker Devices pedals!

 

 

Gabriel Tanaka

COMMENTS

  1. Steve Anderson

    March 20, 2016 at 2:21 pm

    The best? No. Not even close to being the best univibe clone. I bought one – looking for a univibe that would save some space and operate at 9v. I was very disappointed in The Depths. It got nowhere near the sound of my MJM Sixties Vibe which IS a great univibe clone, and the best in my opinion. I like Earthquaker effects, and The Depths is an okay phase shifter, but as a univibe, the MJM Sixties Vibe is TRULY THE BEST.

    • Ian Beaupre

      June 7, 2018 at 12:06 pm

      …pretty sure this guy is an MJM employee or something, CTRL + F and search his name to read all his comments and you will see an interesting trend…

      Just saying.

  2. Justin Krampert

    June 18, 2014 at 11:30 am

    I love my Depths! The great guys at EQD even sent me some black knobs to swap out, as they’re easier for me to see…thus my Depths is even cooler with new knobs! m/

  3. joel nathanael

    December 31, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    possibly the best vibe I’ve ever heard.

  4. jake red

    December 31, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    this pedal is great reminds me of a setting on the eventide pitchfactor

  5. jake red

    December 31, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    beautiful pedal gives off a nice tone

  6. Randall

    December 31, 2013 at 1:42 am

    Would love to get my hands on one of these to see what I can pull out of my PRS guitar and Blackstar Amp. I am thinking it it could be very fun and interesting.

  7. don hutchko

    December 30, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    A refreshing break from traditional chorus and flanger

  8. Captain Jack

    December 30, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    OOOHHhh my! Lush,swirly,swishing,aural optical gooeyness! Sounds DELICIOUS!! All the players at the open blues jam I hoist each week WILL want one of these. I just took the leap put together a pedalboard for the first time in my life after wanting to for years and this would be the star on my newfound sonic landscape! Oh man,oh man, I don’t wanna sound like I’d beg, but…..

  9. Will

    December 30, 2013 at 7:58 am

    This is such a unique pedal. I’d love to give it a go.

  10. chris

    December 29, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    I have the sea machine and the Grand orbiter. They are both amazing! I have no doubt that the depths will be anything short of amazing as well!

  11. Connor

    December 29, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    No Quarter! Awesome.

  12. Keith

    December 28, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Would love to try this out. EQD makes the coolest pedals!

  13. joe f

    December 28, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    I played one of these at the guitar store the other day and now I want one! EQD is a great company, got an Organizer for Christmas and it’s an awesome pedal. The only thing better then a Depths pedal, would be one for free 99.

  14. Timothy White

    December 28, 2013 at 10:50 am

    I’m very interested in trying this pedal out. I had a ghost reverb, it currently have the Hoof Reaper on my pedal board. I at one time had a vintage big muff I built, a Vox Tone Bender and a clone of a germainium Fuzz Face, but now this takes place of all three plus has a octave up. They do a really good job designing and building immaculately wired pedals.

    I expect more of the same out of this

  15. roy nadav

    December 28, 2013 at 4:10 am

    great lookin pedals love to try one

  16. Scott

    December 27, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    This artwork is great!

  17. Jeremy Judelson

    December 27, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    I want one of these1

  18. jonny gleadell

    December 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    Clean tones bring me joy, this does it for me!

  19. Sergio

    December 27, 2013 at 8:25 am

    It sounds amazing when played with a clean tone, not so much with the distortion

  20. Tony

    December 26, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    I have the dispatch master, these pedals are great!

  21. Mike Woods

    December 26, 2013 at 10:49 am

    I got to play one of these a few months back, it’s one of the best pedals I’ve ever played in my opinion

  22. sebastian

    December 26, 2013 at 6:31 am

    Awesome pedal! And awesome webpage, you guys rock!

  23. xrussianx

    December 23, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    sweet machine-gunnish uni-vibe feel to it. art work looks great. great job EQD!

  24. Jason Murphy

    December 23, 2013 at 9:30 am

    The Depth s sounds awesome. I really love how versatile it is. The cool art on the pedal sure doesn’t hurt either!

  25. hugo

    December 22, 2013 at 6:25 pm

    nice!

  26. Adam

    December 21, 2013 at 3:30 pm

    I was a little on the fence, but from the stuff from 8:57 on, i was impressed. Great comprehensive demo. Was the distortion before or after? I kind of like running the vibes before dirt to get more of that swampy Hendrix vibe.

  27. luca

    December 21, 2013 at 9:03 am

    I would love to have this little gem on my holeyboard!!!!!!

  28. Bachtopus

    December 18, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    Eqd might just be the most in tune with what players are looking for. They take classic ideas and update them for modern players as well as making some truly fun stuff. Great vibe for a great price.

  29. Gerald Wisnieski

    December 17, 2013 at 10:53 am

    wow, this pedal sounds so unique, i would love to mess around with it

  30. Sigi

    December 17, 2013 at 10:01 am

    great sounding uni-vibe!

    only an optical vibe machine can sound like this! (y)

    it’s a must have!

  31. Tom Tracy

    December 17, 2013 at 7:01 am

    I’m looking for a massive vibe sound – I think this is the one!

    • Steve Anderson

      March 20, 2016 at 2:22 pm

      Not this one, keep looking.

  32. Matthew Vinson

    December 17, 2013 at 6:24 am

    Hammond meets guitar. Earthquaker once again outdoes themselves

  33. Seth Hale

    December 16, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Sweet pedal. I’d love to win one!

  34. Vc

    December 16, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    A vibe effect is a really great one to use, very expressive. I hope this pedal really delivers. It would be great to give it a go.

  35. Jesse

    December 16, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    I cant tell you how much i want to try this out.

  36. Michael W Perkins

    December 16, 2013 at 8:35 am

    Dad has an original UniVibe, cool sounds…

  37. Brian

    December 16, 2013 at 6:12 am

    Currently do not own any pedals looking to begin

  38. Duncs

    December 16, 2013 at 4:38 am

    all EQD pedals are lovely. I have a few – need more vibe though. VIBE. Like R Kelly says.

  39. Matthew Hajdys

    December 15, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    Another AMAZING work of pedal art from Jamie!!!

  40. Jeff Klein

    December 15, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    “Lush” is the perfect way to describe this effect. I have the Organizer and Speaker Cranker pedals. Both are now mainstays on my board. ED is unparalleled in their construction quality. They’re the real deal!

  41. Martin Thorpe

    December 15, 2013 at 10:19 am

    Anything with a throb knob has got to be cool. Nice review as always thank you.

  42. hugo

    December 15, 2013 at 6:56 am

    i want this!!!!

  43. Dave

    December 15, 2013 at 6:04 am

    Great review!

  44. Alec

    December 15, 2013 at 5:20 am

    nice trippy sound ! like this modulation style pedal

  45. brupop

    December 15, 2013 at 1:37 am

    mod

  46. Trent

    December 15, 2013 at 1:23 am

    love it.

  47. Sammy

    December 14, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I can’t say I’ve ever been a fan of this type of effect or seen any use for it, but the art is fantastic

  48. Mark Holloway

    December 14, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    I’ve been looking for a vibe pedal for those Trower tones…..this thing sounds killer! A welcome addition to my board!

    • Steve Anderson

      March 20, 2016 at 2:24 pm

      If you want a vibe that sounds like Trower, try the MJM Sixties Vibe. Its a lot closer than The Depths.

  49. Demian Rojas

    December 14, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Awesomee!! I want one! The graphics are stunning!

  50. Nathan Mumford

    December 14, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    Per bestguitareffects.com there is a giveaway that I want to win for this pedal!!!

  51. David Miller

    December 14, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    The coolest graphics!

  52. Aaron

    December 14, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Not too many decent opto vibe units with this much tweaking. Amazing!

  53. Mike

    December 14, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    Sounds great!

  54. Vincet

    December 14, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    “The Depths” is pretty cool.

    Nice review.

  55. Thorren

    December 14, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    Would be a great addition. I’ve got my base board built up and am ready to add more mod effects like this to the program.

  56. Jonathan Guillemette

    December 14, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    I prefer the sound with a clean tone. It seems like an interesting design, I’d be curious to try one out.

  57. Brian Kelly

    December 14, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    I would love to win this pedal it would help greatly as I build my tone.

  58. albert ceva

    December 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    This could rival my amptweaker swirlpool.

  59. Gary

    December 14, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    I tried this one out. It’s……. interesting. But who can resist a waffle octopus?

  60. Christopher

    December 14, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    I’ve tried this pedal and it is a great one, would love to own one.

  61. hans

    December 14, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Superweib!

  62. fescue

    December 14, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    Hmmmm. This would be a good addition to my pedal board.

  63. Adam

    December 14, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Just the tone boost alone is perdie impressive!

  64. Kyle Alm

    December 14, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    That’s a really awesome sound, goes from tremolo to univibe.

  65. Phil T.

    December 14, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    This will be my next pedal.

  66. Jimmy

    December 14, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    Sweet ass pedal!

  67. Jacob Roch

    December 14, 2013 at 10:32 am

    One word: lush.

  68. John Niespodzianski

    December 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    This pedal sounds awesome – want!

  69. dan l.

    December 12, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    the depths please

  70. Trevor Nelson

    December 12, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    warm. sexy. I dig it.

  71. Jordan

    December 12, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    This thing sounds crazy realistic as far as rotaries in a box go!

  72. Naja

    December 12, 2013 at 8:56 am

    I am glad it mentions giving a good presence to the bottom end without making it muddy. I would hate for it not to live up to its name.

  73. Sheehan Jordan

    December 12, 2013 at 8:40 am

    EQD pedals are f-in awesome. I just recently got into effects (been playing guitar for roughly ten years) and EQD is definitely a brand I’ve noticed. They make some really interesting effects (the rainbow machine) as well as some wicked classics (disaster transport=awesome delay). I think EQD is definitely a brand I’m going to invest in (gunna have to save up some cash first).

  74. David

    December 12, 2013 at 5:13 am

    EQD make some really great stuff. Not all of it is for everyone, but listening to the above demo and reading this review the Depths is defiantly a winner. I will have to try and track one down for a try to see how it sounds!! For sure it will be one to get, so I’d better make sure I’ve got cash when I go to try it out.

  75. Adam

    December 11, 2013 at 9:08 am

    I went to get a new pedal and knew I would be leaving with an EQD piece. I played around with pretty much the entire catalog and wound up picking The Organizer, but this was definitely a close second. Such a creamy sound and with so much variability, you can use it to get heavy or set a more mellow mood. The Depths is such an apt name. the sound reminds me of the water levels on Donkey Kong and Mario, which is a good thing.

  76. Brian

    December 10, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    Looks like this pedal would give you plenty of options (and time) to work on getting your distinct tone. Seems like it is definitely a lot more creative than a normal tremolo pedal…awesome!

  77. Ross

    December 10, 2013 at 11:11 am

    Could really use this thing for mellow or pretty heavy buried stuff, smooth vibe, EQD seems a bit crazy and I want to dig in.

  78. Courtney Copenhaver

    December 10, 2013 at 8:45 am

    neato! want!

  79. Edson

    December 9, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    Cool… I guest this would be perfect for my “Hendrix rig” 🙂

  80. christina marie

    December 9, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    this is purdy. but i’d be super happy to win either one of these for my boyfriend. he’s obsessed with awesome gear 🙂

  81. Charlie Gravlin

    December 9, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    Great graphics, great name, AMAZING sound. Just what i’d expect from these guys. Haven’t owned a pedal of this effect yet but definetly sounds appealing.

  82. Chris Roberts

    December 9, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    Love the Earthquaker Devices pedals, fantastic sounds.

  83. Clif McKinley

    December 9, 2013 at 6:25 am

    Great sounding pedal tones of cool options, thanks for all the amazing reviews you always do, makes pedal shopping a lot easier.

  84. Apostolos

    December 9, 2013 at 6:15 am

    This sounds really great! Seems to have a lot of control over the tremolo and the tone as well!

  85. Lars

    December 8, 2013 at 10:56 pm

    Would love to give one of these a go

  86. Ian

    December 7, 2013 at 7:27 am

    This thing is nuts. Tried one out a bit ago and it makes you force yourself to re-evaluate using anything else. AND the design is cool. Better start saving

  87. Matt

    December 6, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    This pedal practically does it all! I currently use an EH Pulsar for my tremolo/vibe and this blows it out of the water. I especially love that with the right settings you can get super cool ‘Leslie’ sound out of it. Plus, EQD has some of the best customer service around!

  88. Sherman

    December 6, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Sounds great, I’ve been looking for a vibe pedal, I think I may check out this one closer

  89. Jens

    December 6, 2013 at 6:43 am

    Great pedal!

  90. Ictus

    December 6, 2013 at 2:32 am

    WOW!!!

    the video is “earthquacked” too!!!XD

  91. Nico

    December 5, 2013 at 9:54 am

    Incredible pedal… I must buy it for my pedalboard !! =D

    Cheers from Belgium dudes !

  92. jesse tovar

    December 5, 2013 at 6:40 am

    This seems to go so far beyond what a normal tremolo would do! I could experiment with this thing for hours. And what’s even better, I think I could use it for some seriously cool things in a live setting!

  93. Guillem Vilade

    December 5, 2013 at 5:35 am

    I wish I could give it a try!!!! Looks awesome…

  94. Nicosonic

    December 5, 2013 at 4:42 am

    Cool pedal !

  95. dieter

    December 5, 2013 at 2:00 am

    This sounds very good.

    And this pedal comes just at the right time! I mean, it would just come… 😉

    How does this compare to other univibes. Like dry bell, moon vibe etc.??

  96. Troy C.

    December 4, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    This pedal sounds amazing! I have experience with EarthQuaker Devices’ Organizer and it is so good, great quality. The Depths pedal definitely gets that “uni-vibe” vibe going on, I would love to put this pedal on my board!

  97. Dan Sleeper

    December 4, 2013 at 7:51 pm

    I would love to put one of these pedals to use with my organ keyboard, I already have a pro sound rotating speaker but would still love all these different settings available to add to my rig.

  98. Mattson

    December 4, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Man EarthQuaker makes some really nice stuff. Amazing how differently it sounds from the clean to distorted signal

  99. Kevin Dueer

    December 4, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    This pedal is awesome.

  100. Jason Russell

    December 4, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Yesh!

  101. Bob

    December 4, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    Looks pretty cool!

  102. Raymond Brown

    December 4, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    Really nice! I would love how hear how the throb control reacts with the fuzz or low octave blasted into it!

  103. Andrew

    December 4, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    How could you not want this pedal…the vibe sounds this thing produces sound amazing!! I bet Gilmour is wishing he had one of these when he recorded Dark Side.

  104. seab

    December 4, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    cool review, I want one!

  105. Rob O’Block

    December 4, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    Looks really cool. My experience with EQD is that they always have cool extra goodies in their pedals in addition to classic sounds. Definitely want to try this one.

  106. Andrea Pagnoni

    December 4, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    This is not a common pedal, this is a VIBE MACHINE!!!!

  107. Tom Wannamaker

    December 4, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    Awesome looking pedal, love the sounds it’s producing!

  108. Brett Jackson

    December 4, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Really liking the renewed interest in Uni Vibe type pedals. One of my favorite effects and lends it self tpo experimentation for the pedal maker perspective which in turn creates the ability for players to find a unique tone with character. Earthquaker always make well built, quality stuff and are willing to patrol the boundary more than some. Looking forward to giving this pedal a decent work out soon.

  109. Pete Gaeta

    December 4, 2013 at 4:47 am

    I would love this pedal. This is something I actually have a need for – I’m not just being a pedal hog, honest!

  110. Dave

    December 3, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Cool pedal. I love the squid <3 <3 <3

  111. Fred

    December 3, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    This pedal sounds killer love the Leslie sound

  112. Andersonn Co

    December 3, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Me want some EQD pedals!

  113. Scruffie

    December 3, 2013 at 7:54 am

    Yes…

  114. Ben Anderson

    December 3, 2013 at 5:46 am

    This is something I could use everytime I play. Earthquaker devices does it again!

  115. John

    December 3, 2013 at 5:18 am

    Really like the non-traditional take on the Uni-Vibe. It’s great when a designer brings a classic effect into the present like this.

  116. Guitarza

    December 3, 2013 at 12:32 am

    The artwork on this thing is awesome. Earthquaker Devices make amazing stuff!

  117. Russ Mains

    December 2, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    Looks like all sorts of 70s fun.

  118. Daniel Kirkland

    December 2, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Nice review, although I will say that it is possible to get lost in the world of sound that this pedal can create.

  119. Adam Golihew

    December 2, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    Fantastic review! I have a few EQD pedals and am looking forward to add this bad boy to my board. Everything EQD makes is off the wall, amazingly hand crafted, beautiful effect pedals.

  120. Jordan Palamara

    December 2, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    Oh wow! You can really get lost in that swirl. I need this pedal!

  121. James Askew

    December 2, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Davey jonesing for this ever since hearing Juan Alderete’s demo!

  122. Szczepan

    December 2, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    cool effect – would look great on my pedalboard!

  123. Walter R

    December 2, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    I was not that interested until after reading the review and then checking out other samples and now I really want one so I guess it is in my future even if I do not win,

  124. mike norton

    December 2, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    gotta have it

  125. Ryan Cooper

    December 2, 2013 at 4:20 pm

    I want this! I must have this! EQD pedals sound amazing.

  126. Leo

    December 2, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    sound so deep thats what i need

  127. Michael Ford

    December 2, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Definitely sounds like a very interesting effect! I imagine it can give me much more than I’m getting for what I amd using in a multi-effects board!!! I’d definitely like to own one!

  128. Bert Meyers

    December 2, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Damn, this one got me deep! Want!

  129. Brandon Tiller

    December 2, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    So that’s what the ocean sounds like!

  130. Henry Robertson

    December 2, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    awesome pedal, i love earthquake devices, the grand orbiter phaser is essential to my tone and i’d love to get a great vibe effect for more modulation variation

  131. Bill

    December 2, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    KILLER!

  132. Isaac

    December 2, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Commenting because random drawing.

  133. seth

    December 2, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    Sounds pretty awesome

  134. Ryan Opel

    December 2, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Love to get some good vibes outta this one

  135. Ken

    December 2, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    Would love to get a late-Hendrix sound with this!

  136. luis

    December 2, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    looking good from here, gonna try to test it

  137. Chris Faricy

    December 2, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    I Need A GREAT vibe with TONE SHAPING Quality like this… The Depths

  138. Vince

    December 2, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    I was going to get a deja-vibe, but now I am getting this.

  139. alan huynh

    December 2, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    me want. you give?

  140. Jonathan M

    December 2, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    EQD strikes again with an amazing take on a classic effect! The Depths is everything you want out of a vibe pedal. It’s got the sturdy and space-efficient design EQD pedals are known for, excellent bypass, 5 knobs for minute adjustments and a wide variety of tones. This is by far, my favorite vibe pedal available.

    PLZ PICK ME 🙂

  141. Gordon

    December 2, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    These would sound awesome with my guitar collection

  142. Todd

    December 2, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    I’d love to have them, Pick ME!!!!!

  143. Jesse Maes

    December 2, 2013 at 1:14 pm

    Seems like a great sounding vibe pedal, and so compact!

  144. Kyle Schauer

    December 2, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Man I wanna engulf my sound with that lush, swirling tone that adds the kind of dimension you’re talking about!

  145. Demitri

    December 2, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Sometimes sounds as if the mermaids playing their mysterious instruments under the water

  146. mateusz

    December 2, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    bardzo przyzwoity efekt, chętnie zabiorę do domu 🙂

  147. Adam Turetzky

    December 2, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    Very interested in having this replace my current Vibe pedal

  148. Nathan

    December 2, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    I’d love to have this cool vibe pedal! Earthquaker Devices is the best!

  149. Kevin Gray

    December 2, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    super sweet

  150. raymond seto

    December 2, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    cool pedal!

  151. Dago Marino

    December 2, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    Optical vibe… Yeah, buddy!

  152. bob barnett

    December 2, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    sounds like the best of the boutique vibe pedals available right now, from what my friends who’ve bought this say. the THROB control makes ALL the difference! WANT – to get my BOG sounds on!

  153. Vitali

    December 2, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    my best octopus!

  154. Zsolt Dubravcsik

    December 2, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    I would love to have a “univibe” pedal. They make interesting “noise”. Great website. Thanks!

  155. Samuel Boodt

    December 2, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Looks like a really interesting take on a vibrato pedal! Would love to get one in my rig.

  156. Travis Brown

    December 2, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    EQD always has cool pedal designs. I love my bitcommander!

  157. Jeremy Judelson

    December 2, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    love this pedal!

  158. Peter Trott

    December 2, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    Great review. Earthquaker Devices is coming out with some real interesting pedals.

  159. Sean Reiness

    December 2, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    love the inovation and creativity coming from eqd !

  160. jim Healey

    December 2, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    You guys are making some of the best pedals out there, plus I never had a good vibe, I can promise this a good home.

  161. Dylan Thomas

    December 2, 2013 at 11:56 am

    Very cool pedal, I’ve really been wanting a vibe pedal and I think this one would be a perfect fit for my board. Thank you so much for having these giveaways, I really hope I win!

  162. Nick

    December 2, 2013 at 11:56 am

    Got to try these at a store in New York and was pleasently surprised!

  163. Andy Mclain

    December 2, 2013 at 11:54 am

    Yeah, this would be a perfect stocking stuffer… probably the pedal I want most right now!

  164. Junior

    December 2, 2013 at 11:49 am

    I think I could probably use this pedal in my setup.

  165. Patrick James Foetisch

    December 2, 2013 at 11:46 am

    Love these pedals. The quality and sound of these are truly one of a kind. I’d Love to own one. Would make it a good xmas present since I’m all alone at the office this holiday.. Thanks for the contest. Really is a good idea and to make someone happy this season. Good luck all!

  166. Justin

    December 2, 2013 at 11:39 am

    I am very intrigued to use this as a preamp!

  167. Lucas Van Lenten

    December 2, 2013 at 11:39 am

    This looks and sounds amazing.

  168. Franco

    December 2, 2013 at 11:34 am

    I want itttttttt

  169. Kevin

    December 2, 2013 at 11:34 am

    Definitely need that pedal for Jimi/Trower/Audley Freed Tones

  170. Matthew Norman

    December 2, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Have had my eye (and ear) on this pedal for some time. Been a Hugh fan of that Jimi Band of Gypsies sound since first hearing it back in high school. Playing machine gun 1000 times and each time hearing something new. Could there be a new guitar effect pedal that influenced me to find my own unique voice on the guitar? This latest offering from Earth Quaker Devices might just be that pedal. All the classic tones and new possibilities of musical landscapes await in this little metal box! It would be a dream to add it to my pedal board. Thank you https://www.bestguitareffects.com for this rockn’ contest! _

  171. Jimmy

    December 2, 2013 at 11:30 am

    I really want this pedal

  172. M.

    December 2, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Awesome thing…

  173. Andrew

    December 2, 2013 at 11:29 am

    Rad pedal

  174. Seth

    December 2, 2013 at 11:28 am

    sick pedal

  175. Kyle Roy

    December 2, 2013 at 11:26 am

    Best vibe pedal I’ve heard for the price.

  176. shawn

    December 2, 2013 at 11:26 am

    this thing sounds goood.

  177. Andrew E.

    December 2, 2013 at 11:25 am

    I really like the way these sound. I’d probably go with one of these if I needed to buy a Univibe-style sort of effect.

  178. Andrés Ponce

    December 2, 2013 at 11:23 am

    would like to try it with my delays and some synth mod, great to find out new sounds

  179. Bobby

    December 2, 2013 at 11:21 am

    I want one.

  180. Sie Carroll

    December 2, 2013 at 11:20 am

    Great in Depth (Haha) review, I’m really interested in trying one of these along with my Organizer now.

    EQD have kinda crept in on my pedalboard, along with the Organizer I’ve a Bit-Commander and they are both top notch.

  181. Joseph Earl

    December 2, 2013 at 11:19 am

    I like it

  182. Jack Weisberg

    December 2, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Would love to try it.

  183. Jim Schreck

    December 2, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Excellent pedal from one of the coolest companies. These guys make great stuff, would love to add it to My pedal board.

  184. Andy Dalton

    December 2, 2013 at 11:17 am

    I’m seriously considering picking this pedal up to replace my MuTron I. I know it’s not the same thing, but this is more compact, versatile, and seems to sound even more thick and lush than the MuTron.

  185. Brent Johnston

    December 2, 2013 at 11:16 am

    The review makes me want to try one of these pedals for myself.

  186. Gideon Hansen

    December 2, 2013 at 11:13 am

    The Depths is such amazing sounding pedal. The songs and soundscapes I could create with that would be an amazing addition to my pedalboard.

  187. Adam Wujtewicz

    December 2, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Another stellar product from a great company.

  188. Mark Young

    December 2, 2013 at 11:10 am

    This pedal would be great paired with my keyboard on a fender rhodes setting.

  189. dave a

    December 2, 2013 at 11:07 am

    i want one real bad

  190. Carlos

    December 2, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Great pedal Great sound. Would love to have one !

  191. Jimmy Moran

    December 2, 2013 at 11:00 am

    This pedal sounds pretty awesome with a good delay would love to get one

  192. Alberto

    December 2, 2013 at 11:00 am

    I wanna put my foot in this!

  193. Noel

    December 2, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Earthquaker has the best guitar effects

  194. Stephen

    December 2, 2013 at 10:54 am

    this pedal sounds great with that throwback vibe, would love to win this and join the Band of Gypsies

  195. Jordan Adds

    December 2, 2013 at 10:54 am

    EarthQuake always has the best pedals, wish I could afford them though!

  196. Yakov

    December 2, 2013 at 10:54 am

    EQD effects are awesome, design is not too complicated and the tones are great.

  197. Dave Polidoro

    December 2, 2013 at 10:50 am

    this sounds awesome. very well done. I like what I’m hearing.

  198. Razvan Lazea-Postelnicu

    December 2, 2013 at 10:50 am

    Earthquaker make the best stuff.

  199. bertram

    December 2, 2013 at 10:21 am

    I’m looking for a vibe right now, this seems to be a great option… extreme settings are quite unique!

  200. Nico Kuhz

    December 2, 2013 at 9:09 am

    First: I like the color! It looks really cool and during the last years I had some vibe-pedals but sold all of them because I need a pedal with more than one or two knobs so this one is great!

    And check out the YT-demos! Great Pedal!

    Good luck to all of you!

  201. Chris

    December 2, 2013 at 8:59 am

    Sweet sounds from this pedal. I’d like to spend some time getting freaky with it.

  202. Phil St John

    December 2, 2013 at 7:57 am

    The Depths sounds sexy and evil. I want ten.

  203. BlacCat Slim

    December 2, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Very nice. Time to check this out

  204. Mike

    December 2, 2013 at 7:00 am

    Good pedals from Earthquaker.

  205. Vivek

    December 2, 2013 at 2:35 am

    Have been on the market for a vibe pedal for a while – the Drybell Vibe is currently on the top of my list but this pedal sounds great as well!

  206. Peter Homoki

    December 2, 2013 at 2:32 am

    I have two Earthquacker pedals, I very like it

    The Depths looks like great too

  207. Scott M

    December 2, 2013 at 2:32 am

    Good Vibes, for sure )

  208. Jason David Chambers

    December 1, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    Great pedal from one of the great pedal makers rawrk!

  209. brent stewart

    December 1, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    A great univibe sound is so inspiring – thanks for taking a great effect to the 21st century!

  210. Chris Faricy

    December 1, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    I like the feature of reducing the overall intensity level and turning this pedal to an “always ON” tone shaping camelion. I’vebeen reviewing many vibe pedals and I would appreciate having The Depths by Winning this from the giveaway

  211. Kelly

    December 1, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    Earthquaker always takes an already great circuit and pushes it to give the user more tweakability and ability to create some new sounds. Would love to a-b this with some other vibes.

  212. Efraim Tirto

    December 1, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    Very interesting pedal! This pedal really can make your stage earthquake! Trust me!

  213. Mike

    December 1, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    I could definitely find a use for this.

  214. brupop

    December 1, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    In

  215. Seth

    December 1, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Great looking pedal! I’m sure it sounds awesome too. Seems like it has a lot of variations for experimenting with the vibe effect.

  216. Mike

    December 1, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    What an awesome idea!

  217. Sunny

    December 1, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    whoa… i need this!

  218. Peter

    December 1, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Count me in. Looks fantastic.

  219. Steve

    December 1, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Great review. Makes me want one just so I can take it apart and watch the insides do what they do.

  220. Frederick

    December 1, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    Love the swirly sounds on this one!

  221. Randall Brown

    December 1, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    I would first lean toward interest in the craziness of the Arpenoid, but this review makes me think the Depths would be something I’d use more, across the board (so to speak). Great stuff from Earthquaker!

  222. Cody Budd

    December 1, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    EQD pedals are my absolute favorite

  223. Michael Scar

    December 1, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    Great review. As for the pedal , with all these parameters controlled by knobs -and especially the blend/volume level knob, you cant go wrong. I wish I had this pedal!

  224. fescue

    December 1, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    Yes, I would like to win this pedal.

  225. Joseph Bugg

    December 1, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    Sweet! Ha I always love a good vibe pedal. Thanks for another great review!

  226. John B

    December 1, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Swirley goodness!

  227. John

    December 1, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    If it’s an Earthquaker, then it will shake your sound, man!

  228. zillah

    December 1, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Lotta warmth in this deep vibe pedal!

    Can’t wait to try one out!

  229. Danilo

    December 1, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    Amazing pedal and review.. I want it so bad

  230. Robert Abernathy

    December 1, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    Very cool pedal – Earthquaker Devices make some awesome effects – it’s really cool that they use an optical circuit. nice review

  231. matt s

    December 1, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Best Guitar Effects, thanks for your gear reviews, as well as the generous giveaways you continue to share with us!

  232. Mike Andrews

    December 1, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    EQD are nailing it every time right now!

  233. Lee

    December 1, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    This thing sounds amazing. These folks make amazing pedals.

  234. sergio

    December 1, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    great pedal. Wish I had one n.n

  235. ron grande

    December 1, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    I have a mass produced ‘vibe’ pedal so I could really use this pedal. I often use a subtle vibe effect when playing clean; just as some blues players might throw in some tremolo. The ‘Voice’ is a nice feature, but I believe the real flexibility can be found in changing between nine and eighteen volts. Of course, for myself and my general use the nine volts would be best. I haven never owned an Earthquaker Devicess pedals, but I regard them highly and have often almost pulled the trigger on a few of their fuzzes.

  236. Nils Bryant

    December 1, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Very interesting pedal indeed!

  237. Jerry Burrus

    December 1, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    Love this pedal. Not a fan of modulation pedals in general, but this one I would totally get. Awesome vibe sounds. Earthquaker Devices makes awesome pedals.

  238. Adrian Floro

    December 1, 2013 at 10:51 am

    sounds good on bass…

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.