Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator Review – Best Chorus/Vibrato Pedal?

Review of: Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator


Reviewed by: Rating:4On August 20, 2013Last modified:October 6, 2016


Summary:

The Quantum Time Modulator is yet another example of the kind of stompbox that could only come from Pigtronix, the makers of such eclectic devices as the Philosopher’s Tone compressor and Mothership Analog Guitar Synthesizer pedals. The Quantum Time Modulator seeks to emulate the sounds of such classic rack units as the MicMix DynaFlanger, TC 1210 Spatial Expander, and Roland Dimension D while forging ahead into new sonic territory. Is this the best chorus/vibrato pedal in the known universe? Keep reading our Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator review for a lesson in quantum theory.

The Quantum Time Modulator differs from traditional chorus and vibrato pedals in that its rate of effect can be controlled by either picking dynamics, LFO, or a combination of both. This means that you can use it like a traditional LFO controlled chorusing effect or control the rate of change by how you attack the strings or adjust the input source. With the Quantum Time Modulator’s dual bucket brigade delay lines, you can even utilized both envelope and LFO sources simultaneously for a chorus / vibe sound only found in this unique offering among Pigtronix guitar pedals.

Let run down the features and dive into the review.

Features:

Sensitivity knob controls how hard you have to hit the string in order to produce a modulation voltage from the envelope circuit.

Speed knob controls the rate of the LFO modulation.

Source knob controls which of the two modulation sources (LFO or Envelope) is acting on the bucket brigade delay line.

Chorus/Vibe switch determines if the effect output carries a mixture of clean and modulated audio (Chorus) or just a pure modulated signal (Vibrato).

True bypass for letting your signal passed unaffected when disengaged.

Powered by included 18VDC 300 mA adapter.

Visit Pigtronix for more info about the Quantum Time Modulator.

See the lowest price on Amazon.

See the lowest price on eBay.

Sound & Performance:

If you’ve heard one chorus, you’ve heard them all, right? Wrong. The Quantum Time Modular shows that there is still plenty of room for innovation in the world of stompbox chorus and vibrato pedals.

I went for a clean amp sound and plugged my American Stratocaster into the Quantum Time Modulator. With the Source knob fully counter-clockwise, I engaged the pedal in the Chorus mode. With moderate Sensitivity levels, you can play softly for a dry sound and play more loudly to add emphasis with the chorusing effect.

This is a very unique effect that you have to experience firsthand. Reading about it or even listening to a sound clip doesn’t do it justice. You really need to play this pedal to feel how the Quantum Time Modulator responds to your playing.

With the Sensitivity rolled all the day down, the chorus stops being affected by the envelope. This allows you to use the Source knob to control depth like on a standard chorus pedal.

The Quantum Time Modulator is just as interesting in the Vibrato mode. You can play a passage with your normal clean tone and then dig in a bit to suddenly detune and warp your sound. The bucket brigade warping offers a unique time displacement effect that you won’t find in any other pedal.

In the Vibe mode, there is further otherworldly bizarreness to be found by turning the Source and Speed knobs all the way to the right for a warbling, horror film sound effect. Thanks to the warmth of the all-analog design, this extreme effect can be surprisingly musical.

With all the knobs set around noon, you can start blending the different modulation sources to taste. I like the gentle whooshing sound of a slower Speed setting around 9 o’clock. With careful listening and Sensitivity adjustment, you can find some really cool, spontaneous, dual-chorusing sounds. The Quantum Time Modulator delivers a kind of controlled, yet chaotic chorusing sound never before heard in a convenient stompbox enclosure.

Despite the Quantum Time Modulator’s ultra-modern F.A.T. (Futuristic Analog Technology) design, this 100% analog pedal is exceptionally well-suited for creating vintage-style effects. With the slightly raised noise floor of the analog circuitry, you can get a really cool warped record or tape sound by using your picking dynamics to detune the sound. Only Pigtronix can fuse the past and future with such great-sounding results. The did it with the Mothership and Philosopher’s Tone, and they’ve done it again with the Quantum Time Modulator.

The Quantum Time Modulator is certainly one of the more unique chorus effects to come along in recent years. Let’s see the final result.

Overall-Rating-4.0

The Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator is a brilliant throwback to such classic rack units as the MicMix DynaFlanger, TC 1210 Spatial Expander, and Roland Dimension D. Yet this pedal makes its own statement as a truly one-of-a-kind chorus/vibrato stompbox. The Quantum Time Modulator forges ahead with bold dual modulation abilities thanks to its separate LFO and envelope-controlled bucket brigade delay lines. This pedal can even deliver traditional chorus and vibrato sounds as desired. If you’re looking for one of the best chorus/vibrato pedals out there, the Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator delivers classic and cutting edge modulation you won’t find anywhere else.

That concludes our Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator review. Thanks for reading.

 

Want to buy the Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator?

See The Lowest Price On Amazon

See The Lowest Price On eBay

Gabriel Tanaka

COMMENTS

  1. Michael W Perkins

    February 5, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    Just wanted to say thanks again, the pedal is sooooo nice..

  2. Michael

    October 1, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    COOL! WON IT! Booyah! THANK YOU!

  3. Serg

    October 1, 2013 at 5:00 am

    I like it! I want it!!!

  4. Jeff

    September 30, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    Sounds great! Another solid pedal from pigtronix. I would love to add it to my board!

  5. larry torres

    September 30, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    cool pedal love the chorus sound it can be eeerie

  6. Dennis

    September 30, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    Pretty cool to have innovative analog effects in this digital age!

    Just like a lot of players, I love some of the classic effects, but Pigtronix gives you that and some new stuff, too.

  7. Mike

    September 30, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    Like the pedals that reproduce the classic sounds

  8. lucy

    September 30, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    what a nice looking pedal.

  9. jasonmichael

    September 30, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    omg !! this pedal is so sick !!! if some magical way i manage to win this pedal, not only will i take a picture of it on my board for you, but ill also MAKE my mom bake you guys about 10 pounds of her special cookies and fudge 😉

    oh, ya, to the readers, dont be haters, the same offer goes out to any of you that would like to buy me a pigtronix quantum time modulator 😉

    rotflmao

  10. thom

    September 29, 2013 at 8:53 am

    Sounds worth it. I’ve always wanted to play more with chorus and vibrato, they’re interesting on my cube 60 but definitely have their limitations without a switch pedal (and even still, I can’t imagine they have the range of effect explained above). Gotta go test one out.

  11. Aaron

    September 28, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    I really enjoyed the video which illustrated the vibrato effect, my favorite feature of this pedal. Very nice!

  12. Stanton Burris

    September 28, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    Pigtronix absolutely rules. Luck be a Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator tonight!

  13. Chris Faricy

    September 28, 2013 at 2:53 am

    Pigtronix is a reputable company with a long History of Cutting Edge Effects. The Quantum Time Modulator is destined to join such Greats as their Philosopher’s Tone compressor and Mothership Analog Guitar Synthesizer as THE ONE Stomp Box to have for the Specific sounds I’m Looking for. Good Luck everyone. If you don’t win one BUY One….Great Products!

  14. dan

    September 28, 2013 at 2:20 am

    Looking forward to adding this to my repertoire.

  15. Wei-Chen Cheng

    September 27, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    Love the chorus/vibrato in one small box. In serious consideration buying one.

  16. Adam Turetzky

    September 26, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    I love what Pigtronix does with their pedals. Always putting a new spin on old favorites. The DynaFlanger feature alone is enough to get this pedal. Can’t wait to own it!

  17. Mike Garrett

    September 26, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    I love effects like this. Really makes you look at your sonic possibilities in a whole new way.

  18. Christopher High

    September 26, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    Love pigtronix stuff and it’s great this pedal is more compact. Would really like to play one in person.

  19. andrea russo

    September 26, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Great stuff, Pigtronix pedals. Need a modulator and this could be the one!

  20. Sam

    September 26, 2013 at 2:55 am

    Love the mix of old and new in this chorus/vibrato pedal. It’s definitely something I’d like to try on my board.

  21. Jordan

    September 25, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    I first heard this pedal through ProGuitarShop’s youtube demo. Andy’s demo and this review seem to point to this being a really interesting and unique pedal!

  22. Robert Koch

    September 25, 2013 at 8:33 am

    I like the Sensitivity knob on the Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator and I like the strobe tuner part of the Sonic Research Turbo Tuner ST-200 so I guess I have to have them both

  23. Jesse

    September 25, 2013 at 6:03 am

    I like the vibe I get from it. pretty neat-o me thinks. could use on for sher.

  24. Charles

    September 24, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Nice demo, not sure what to think of this one. Does the vibrato work without the chorus? That would be cool.

  25. Wes

    September 24, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Pigtronix sure makes some funky stuff. I think I should get one.

  26. francesco

    September 24, 2013 at 8:31 am

    I think Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator is a modern and compact solution for the modulation, very interesting

  27. Carol

    September 23, 2013 at 2:20 am

    Cool, I want one! Nice demo.

  28. Brett Husebye

    September 22, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Awesome pedal, modulation, delay are some of my favorite pedals, the wetter the better. Analog always seems to be better sounding to my ears.

  29. dan harvey

    September 22, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    I know that pigtronix make great products I sure this one is quality also.

  30. Heffner

    September 22, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Nice

  31. greg bodish

    September 22, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Sounds like an interesting pedal.I can always put a good chorus to use.Thanks for the opp !!

  32. Jay Dub

    September 22, 2013 at 4:36 am

    pigtronix are epic !! its like, they took the dynamic idea of an envelops filter and turned it into a chorus/vibrato pedal. daang !!

  33. Jason

    September 21, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    one word … SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET !!!!!!!

  34. Shiann

    September 19, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    Very cool 80’s kinda vibe! Dig the pedal

  35. s.huck

    September 17, 2013 at 2:23 am

    I have a love hate relationship with chorus. Sometimes I love it sometimes I hate it. I’m curious that it is reactive to your playing. Would defiantly enjoy checking it out.

  36. Lee

    September 16, 2013 at 4:10 am

    I would love to add this to my board

  37. Tim

    September 15, 2013 at 5:41 am

    Ok, I’ve been waiting to hear samples of this pedal since it came out. I’ve never really liked chorus but I like weird swirly warbled pedals and in particular, I love anything that displaces time. Adding bucket Brigade chips to the signal to warp it out more is pure genius.

  38. jamie

    September 13, 2013 at 11:20 am

    I love pigtronix pedals. Always something a bit different and this one seems to follow suit. I’d love it on my board!

  39. Michael

    September 12, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Very solid sounding pedal, would love to ad its abilities to my chain, I have no great modulation effects…..yet, thanks

  40. John Bohumil

    September 11, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    This sounds like an effect I would really enjoy using, I am in the market for a chorus pedal and definitely plan to add this to the short list of pedals I want to audition

  41. luis neiva

    September 11, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    would love to try this beauty…

    seems there is a lot to explore in there

  42. Jake Regan

    September 11, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Amazing sound from that pedal. It would be perfect for ambient/shoegaze music. Great tone. And the vibrato mode is excellent

  43. Craig Watson

    September 11, 2013 at 1:12 am

    I’ve never used a modulator pedal. Would be interested to have a crack at one.

  44. George

    September 10, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Pigtronix has done it again. Somehow these guys manage to blow me away every time they come out with a new pedal. Awesome!

  45. Edson

    September 8, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Nice video review, definately made me interested even though I’m usually not a big fan of chrous etc. 🙂 The dual modulation thing sounds cool! 🙂

  46. Jeffrey Vastine

    September 7, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    Though the Pigtronix Quantum Time Modulator is a new and unique effect for guitarists, to me it is reminiscent of an analog synth module. I see many applications for this effect, because of it’s dual modulation capabilities. Now the 18VDC may be an issue for some powered pedal boards depending upon their power distribution system. Apart from that this appears to be the chorus/vibrato pedal of choice for the discerning and discriminating guitarist. I would like to see how this pedal could be used in other non-traditional applications, which the youth of Musical Directions, which is my youth outreach, are fond of doing ad they do create some interesting things this way. It does look like Pigtronix has added another winner to their catalog.

    Peace!

  47. Jenny Patel

    September 7, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    Wow that sounds hot! Really want one for my first board! Thanks for the giveaway! xxx

  48. Justin Russell

    September 7, 2013 at 8:13 am

    That white & blue is sexy! Hope it sounds just as good!

  49. Tim Landry

    September 7, 2013 at 1:20 am

    Ok this thing rocks,But I think that the pick sensitive chorus is the best!! No need to stand over effects board.

  50. Mike Hoffman

    September 6, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    Great review of a great pedal! Definitely an inspiring must-have.

  51. Brent Stewart

    September 6, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    I look forward to playing one of these soon – some cool sounds coming out of that box!

  52. Joseph Bugg

    September 6, 2013 at 10:54 am

    I can’t wait to get my hand on one of these! I’m all about 2-n-1 pedals, and Pigtronix has always been up there on my list for the crazy out-there sounds I love!

  53. rv

    September 6, 2013 at 5:37 am

    Love the fact that you can blend signals, and the modded delay vibe of the pedal.

  54. laurent

    September 6, 2013 at 4:45 am

    I just need it !! 😀

  55. jeremiah lind

    September 6, 2013 at 12:44 am

    Man, I love that sound. What an awesome unique chorus. This is a great pedal.

  56. Shawn

    September 5, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    buttons, knobs and switches oh my…

  57. Josh

    September 5, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    Oh my! Now that is purty!

  58. matt

    September 5, 2013 at 2:50 pm

    Need this Pigtronix added to my pedal chain!!

  59. Shiv A

    September 5, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Nice Review, glad I discovered this site!

  60. Stephen

    September 5, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Sounds awesome. Love the ease of use and chorus/vibe switch.

  61. Thomas Murawski

    September 5, 2013 at 12:50 am

    Pigtronix makes some great stuff. A lot of usable, transparent sounding effects in this box. Sounded good with distortion too, which doesn’t always happen with every fx box!

  62. Vince

    September 4, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    Cool review. Use the SRV style more and I will play the review over, and over.

  63. Wilton Townsend

    September 4, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    Pigtronix makes such great pedals. This appears to be another staple in the line.

  64. Jeremy

    September 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Pigtronix makes excellent pedals! Love them!

  65. Robert Abernathy

    September 4, 2013 at 8:49 am

    Great review – I couldn’t really tell what this did until I read the review and heard your demo. Other demos out there don’t capture how cool and unique the Quantum Time Modulator is. Thx

  66. Jeremy

    September 3, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    nice pedal! i need a chorus stompbox to diversify my pedalboard. this would do the job perfectly!

  67. Steve

    September 3, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Thank you for another class review. The only thing about your reviews are that after reading each one I find myself NEEDING the pedal you just reviewed!

  68. FuzzBox

    September 3, 2013 at 11:35 am

    I wasn’t too sure about this pedal after seeing the video so I had to YouTube a few other reviews, and I am actually pretty impressed — It seems like it is quite a versatile chorus pedal.

    From what I heard on other reviews, it sounds especially good with a tube amp, so I’m pretty curious to try it in my rig.

    It looks pretty cool too!

  69. Phil T.

    September 3, 2013 at 7:55 am

    Went to Pigtronix site and not surprised to see Dweezil Zappa uses one. Very interesting effects.

  70. Seth Okrend

    September 1, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Cool pedal. I’ll take one.

  71. Brian D

    September 1, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    This sounds like it might make a nice addition to my pedalboard.

  72. Steve

    September 1, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    This sounds like a very interesting pedal.

    • fescue

      September 5, 2013 at 12:23 pm

      Pretty cool pedal that offers a lot of different effects.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.