Red Witch Synthotron Review – Best Analog Guitar Synth Pedal?

Review of: Red Witch Synthotron


Reviewed by: Rating:4On September 25, 2013Last modified:October 6, 2016


Summary:

Red-Witch-Synthotron-Review-Best-Analog-Guitar-Synth-Pedal-01

I love strange and bizarre guitar pedals. Any pedal that makes a guitar sound not like a guitar grabs my attention. And every time a new guitar synth pedal comes out, I’ve gotta try it. And a guitar synth from a company like Red Witch, makers of such gems as the Empress Chorus, Violetta Delay, and Fuzz God II pedals, is something I absolutely must put to the test.

The Red Witch Synthotron looks like it could be one of the best analog guitar synth pedals around, offering two separate analog synth voicings (+1 or +2 octaves up and -1 or -2 octaves down), a tone-shaping filter section, and some additional modulation effects to control of the overall sound and response of the pedal while being housed in one of Red Witch’s very compact dual-footswitchable enclosures. I’m anxious to try this one out, so let’s run down the features and get on to the Red Witch Synthotron review.

Features:

2 discreet, all analog synth voices.

True Bypass Syn footswitch for activating/bypassing the synth function.

True Bypass Filter footswitch for activating/bypassing the filter section. May be used independently of the Synth section.

4 Synth Control Sections:

Red column box controls the first oscillator.

Red-Witch-Synthotron-Review-Best-Analog-Guitar-Synth-Pedal-02

Flipswitch for +1 or +2 octaves up, Level knob for setting volume level, Decay knob for setting decay from zero latency (staccato) to longer delay times.

Orange column box controls the second oscillator.

Flipswitch for -1 or -2 octaves down, Level knob for setting volume level, Decay knob for setting decay from zero latency (staccato) to longer delay times.

Light Blue column box controls modulation and dry signal level.

Flipswitch for Tremolo on/off, Velocity knob for setting tremolo speed, and Dry knob for setting clean, unaffected guitar volume level.

Dark Blue column box controls Filter section.

Flipswitch for setting between Envelope Filter Mode and Sample/Hold Mode, Range knob for setting the sweep of the envelope filter (Filter Mode Only), Velocity knob for setting the speed of the Sample/Hold (S/H Mode Only).

Visit Red Witch for more info about the Synthotron.

See the lowest price on Amazon.

See the lowest price on eBay.

Sound & Performance:

I didn’t hesitate to plug this pedal in and start switch-flipping and knob-turning before I read the manual. The knobs are generally self-explanatory, but I’ll clarify their operation as I go along. A world of interesting sounds lies within the Synthotron, beckoning you with a call to the unknown.

You can essentially have up to three voices at any given time, your dry guitar signal, a +1 or +2 square wave synth voice, and a -1 or -2 square wave synth voice. The 3 signals (dry signal and 2 synth voices) can be easily blended to taste for a wide range of combined sounds, making the Synthotron quite adept at sculpting musical synth guitar tones. The +2 octaves voice sings with a violin-like sustain, while the -2 octaves voice will deliver an earth-rumbling sub-octave roar.

The sounds produced by the Synthotron are pure square wave analog synth beauty, providing jagged, yet smooth tones that can sound like you’re playing an 8-bit NES game, not a guitar. Since the Synthotron converts your guitar signal to voltage to trigger the synth voicings, your guitar and pickups don’t affect the sound, although pickups and their settings can affect the tracking. The Dry knob can be using to blend in your dry guitar signal for a more full sound with organic guitar textures woven within.

The Decay control knobs are a useful addition to the synth channels, allowing the Synthotron’s voicings to ring out in all their sustaining glory if desired. With the decay knobs rolled back to the left, you can achieve staccato-like note stabs. With the knobs fully clockwise, notes will trail off gradually. Since the Synthotron is monophonic, you can play another note to interrupt the decay.

My biggest complaint with any guitar synth is latency, and I’m happy to report that latency isn’t a noticeable issue at all with the Synthotron. The tracking is fast and quite accurate. The quality of response can vary depending on what kinds of pickups you’re using, but input level can be adjusted internally for optimum performance. On a related note, I typically recommend using a high quality compression pedal in your chain before any guitar synth to ensure an even note level for the best possible tracking. The pedal seems to perform best when playing at the 10th fret and above, and with the -1 or -2 synth voicing, you’ll have no problem getting notes from lower registers.

Flipping the Trem toggle switch to the down position activates an interesting Tremolo modulation effect to enhance your synth sound. Using the Velocity knob with the Tremolo allows you to dial in some really cool warbling lead effects, further adding to the Synthotron’s bag of tricks. I rather like the way it sounds just a little shy of being totally maxed out. The Tremolo adds some nice textures that are worth exploring.

The Envelope Filter mode provides a means to hone in on a specific frequency to further tailor your synthotronic sound. This effect can be added via footswitch to enhance your synth sound with a cool “filtered” tone. And the Sample Hold function adds some really cool movement to your playing. The Sample Hold function of the Synthotron is the first random movement effect I think I’ve ever liked. It pulses to the rhythm and will certainly inspire you lay down some grooves. These functions are available from the 2-way S/H toggle switch and may be used independently of the synth voices to affect your normal guitar tone in creative ways. Try the Enveloped Filter by itself for some auto-wah-style, funky chord progressions.

I’m a big fan of guitar synth pedals in general, but I really, really like this pedal. Let’s see the final result.

Red-Witch-Synthotron-Review-Best-Analog-Guitar-Synth-Pedal-03

Overall-Rating-4.0

The Red Witch Synthotron is one of the best analog guitar synth pedals available. It features a small pedalboard footprint yet is packed with plenty of adjustable parameters for finding your perfect synth sounds. Tracking is fast, and the pedal responds very well to controlled dynamics. The ability to use the Envelope Filter separately from the synth adds even more versatility. This is one you should definitely check out if you’re looking for a guitar synth or an interesting pedal in general that will allow you to transform your guitar into an all-new instrument. Kudos to Ben and Red Witch for bringing this treasure trove of analog synth tone to the masses.

That concludes our Red Witch Synthotron review. Thanks for reading.

 

Want to buy the Red Witch Synthotron?

See The Lowest Price On Amazon

See The Lowest Price On eBay

 

Gabriel Tanaka

COMMENTS

  1. Raul Navarro

    March 25, 2014 at 11:42 am

    Awesome pedal

  2. Alan Bunn

    February 28, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    Excellent review on a super pedal.

  3. Bill Chesser

    February 28, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    Great review. Cool pedal.

  4. Douglas

    February 28, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Wow, bet this is a blast of a pedal to play with. I want one now.

  5. Andrew

    February 27, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    This is one awesome pedal!

  6. Carlos Villanueva

    February 27, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    Yes please !

  7. rod

    February 27, 2014 at 2:26 am

    Yup. It looks a weekend of video sounds & tweaking knobs with this pedal! Synthotron is old school wavey game sounds for the future. That’s right!

  8. landon

    February 27, 2014 at 1:15 am

    the witch is red and the synth is back from the dead

  9. Tim

    February 26, 2014 at 11:49 pm

    I love the large range of sounds you can pull out of this box with the flick of a switch and twist of a knob! The kind of fun I’d have with this pedal might be counterproductive… But sooo enjoyable!

  10. Barry Smith

    February 26, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    YEAH!!!

    As my dear sweet mother always said…If you want rawkin, kickin gear that rules with an old school vibe, go

    with Red Witch!

  11. Gabe Tonestoy

    February 26, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Freaky squeaky. Get your synth on with this one!

  12. Simon

    February 26, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    Delicious sounds here. Definitely sold on this.

  13. Claudio Silva

    February 26, 2014 at 9:44 am

    a whole new level of sound!!

  14. Mithun S

    February 25, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    I would totally write video game music with this thing

  15. Sebastian Orellana

    February 25, 2014 at 8:08 am

    That’s one trippy pedal ! Love this crazy weird sound !

  16. Matt R

    February 25, 2014 at 7:38 am

    This pedal actually makes me HUNGRY to knock some weird riffs out…oh man, please let me win this baby….

  17. Cynthia Alvarez

    February 25, 2014 at 5:51 am

    I was interested in finding a guitar synth pedal then I heard about the red witch and I’ve got to say I really like it. A lot!!!

  18. David

    February 25, 2014 at 4:25 am

    Love the 70s prog rock synth sounds. This pedal is right up the early Genesis, Yes alley!!!!

  19. berko

    February 25, 2014 at 1:05 am

    makes me want to take my vintage NES out of storage! haven’t played it for 23 years… this pedal is perfect. must have!

  20. Rafael Alves

    February 24, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    omg, this is my sytn dream besides microsynth! love it 😀

  21. Adrian O.

    February 24, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    What a cool pedal! even my cat was mesmerized by the wacky sounds while I was listening to the demo!

  22. Joel wolfe

    February 24, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    Saving up for one of these… Way better than my bit commander

  23. Dago Marino

    February 24, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    Synthy Goodness Galore is what they should’ve called it! Love it! C’mon win!

  24. Will Murray

    February 24, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Great pedal! Pick me to win!!!

  25. mark Schmidt

    February 24, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    Looks like more new haunting possibilities from the red witch crew!

  26. Jordan Rodriguez

    February 24, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    One of the coolest pedals I’ve ever heard. Millions of possibilities.

  27. keith knapp

    February 24, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    great demo. interesting pedal.

  28. Christian

    February 24, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Most of your reviews match my personal opinion on the pedals. Now that i see this one with 5 stars, can’t can’t wait to get my hands on one!

  29. Mauricio

    February 24, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    amazing demo!

  30. Bill

    February 24, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    Crazy cool…. I really want this!

  31. Demian Rojas

    February 24, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    It makes my face look like a pixel! I want it!

  32. Michael

    February 24, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    Sounds like an awesome pedal! Hope to try one sometime.

  33. thom

    February 24, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    I’d love to actually screw around with a Korg Monotron on this– they’re interesting devices to throw through additional filters such as this, not to mention a mic for some really gritty vocodering. Sadly no one near me carries them to give it a test.

  34. Jon Willoughby

    February 24, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    This would sound SO good on a bass! Want!

  35. Luke Payne

    February 24, 2014 at 12:14 pm

    I could definitely change the world with this pedal.

  36. Tom

    February 24, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    I would imagine the ability to be creative with this would be astounding.

  37. Ken

    February 24, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    The Synthotron is a dream come true for both guitarist and bass players. The analog vibe is quite apparent and adds greatly to its appeal..not to mention sound. Red Witch really nailed it with this one! That said, I plan to donate mine (should I win) to a local school’s band which can’t afford such luxuries. But, would definitely give it a “test drive” first to make sure it works……..then cry all the way to the school to drop it off……

  38. Jude

    February 24, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Sounds like a killer box! Love to win it but since your evil marketing dept. Demands my participation in social media I will have say stuff it! Until you can quit bending over for the NSA I will look els-ware.

    Love your newsletters though And over all you get an “awesome” rating from me! Keep me on your list, just don’t let the NSA know I’m a rocker

    Thanks guys!

  39. Sam

    February 24, 2014 at 11:21 am

    Absolutely THE coolest synth pedal I’ve seen! This along with the Bit Commander and Subdecay Octasynth all have totally unique sounds but the Synthoron really takes the cake for 8-bit synth sounds.

  40. Steph

    February 24, 2014 at 11:20 am

    The choices of this synth seem undefinable. Love to win this one.

    Steph

  41. Franco

    February 24, 2014 at 11:18 am

    i love itttttttttttttttttttt adn want it!!

  42. Chikkipop

    February 24, 2014 at 10:40 am

    Remember when latency was a problem?

    This thing looks like a lot of fun. I like the fact that you can combine 3 voices.

    Makes you want to get in the “lab” and start concocting all kinds of sounds.

  43. David

    February 24, 2014 at 10:33 am

    crazy amount of ideas could be created with something like this!

  44. parc

    February 24, 2014 at 10:21 am

    id run everything through this

  45. Jason Murphy

    February 24, 2014 at 10:20 am

    Very cool

  46. Eric

    February 24, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Great pedal – hope I win it!

  47. j mcD

    February 24, 2014 at 10:07 am

    Neato.

  48. mateusz

    February 24, 2014 at 9:59 am

    nice

  49. raymond seto

    February 24, 2014 at 9:58 am

    wow! i like the effects.

  50. chris song

    February 24, 2014 at 9:58 am

    so buttery. I could do great things with this. the review really helps getting a handle of its potential.

  51. Steven Young

    February 24, 2014 at 9:53 am

    From the demo videos I’ve seen, this is one hell of a pedal. the range in synth tones is awesome. I could easily get lost for days playing this pedal. amazing.

  52. Jacob

    February 24, 2014 at 9:51 am

    If I had this, I’d probably end up missing a few meals and sitting in my own filth, playing for days on end at first.

  53. Clint Dye

    February 24, 2014 at 9:46 am

    yes, I do see it is true bypass. Just commented after watching the video first. Excellent pedal!!!

  54. Jimmy

    February 24, 2014 at 9:45 am

    This synth tickles my inner bass god. I really would like to see what kind of sounds I could get through my bass setup. Hell yeah!

  55. Clint Dye

    February 24, 2014 at 9:44 am

    love the gameboy tones! hahaha! yes!

  56. Clint Dye

    February 24, 2014 at 9:44 am

    I would be as happy as a kid at Cmas morning with this Red Witch Synthotron. Great quality synth tones. I’ve recently been searching for great synth pedals that get far away from anything that resembles a guitar. This pedal seems to do a great job at that. Is it true bypass?

  57. Alexander Ivchenko

    February 24, 2014 at 5:56 am

    8-bit dream! Wish to play tetris on that

  58. andy…

    February 24, 2014 at 1:12 am

    It sounds just like an Atari!

  59. Patrick

    February 23, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    This thing is nuts!

    attaching this next to my ruby would be next level.

  60. Eric Freberg

    February 23, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    Ive been looking to get into a synth for my guitar, after this review, i think this is the way to go for sure!

  61. Matt

    February 23, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    This pedal is incredible, I haven’t seen anything quite like it! One pedal and it does so much. The sounds that come out of this pedal have a huge range and can apply to any style. Definitely number 1 on my wish list.

  62. Jake O’Herlihy

    February 23, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    Absolutely amazing!!!

  63. Jere

    February 23, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    Seems like a decent box, especially if the tracking is really good. And monophonic.

    Would be cool to own one.

  64. danny

    February 23, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    i ever want my duran duran solo project to get off the ground i’m gonna need this 😉

  65. Patrick O’Brien

    February 23, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Great review, I would love to have one of these!

  66. Nathan Faanana

    February 23, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    Great review, sounds awesome – highly usable and undoubtedly loadsa fun. Red Witch delivers again and yet another pedal on the want list. Cheers.

  67. Tom

    February 23, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    An excellent brand. Well made with a diverse range of sounds attainable

  68. Mike Freed

    February 23, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    I’m not sure I’m smart enough to use this pedal….

  69. Kevin Dueer

    February 23, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    Must have this.

  70. Danna Rodelas

    February 23, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    Niiice!!

  71. Matt Ivaliotes

    February 23, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    I love that Ben Fulton focuses not on clones or retro, but on trying out different ideas and widening the range of sounds available to guitarists.

  72. Daniel

    February 23, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    I’m glad this is finally out. I’ve been waiting for it for a long time.

  73. Roberto Gonzalez

    February 23, 2014 at 11:58 am

    It would be awesome to own this pedal, best brand ever.

  74. Geoff Wakefield

    February 23, 2014 at 11:54 am

    Cool and informative review. Looks like a great pedal from guitarists who don’t want to go the synth route. everything Ben makes seems like a gem. I think he has a diamond ear in how he arrives at the sound of his pedlas.

  75. Bernard

    February 23, 2014 at 11:49 am

    Sounds cool

  76. Paul

    February 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    This thing looks and sounds amazing. I have tried a few synth pedals so far and this one definitely sounds the most like a synth… I hope to score one of these some day.

  77. hugo

    February 22, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    cool!!!!!!!!

  78. Kelly

    February 22, 2014 at 5:38 am

    This is wild. I can only imagine the crazy stuff i could dream up with this guy. Thanks for the oppurtunity!

  79. Dan

    February 21, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    IT’S VIDEO GAME MUSIC

  80. Ric Tomasi

    February 21, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    This thing is crazy cool! Who needs a keyboard player? Excellent for a 3rd guitarist/utility man. I would write more but I need to go play Mario Bros.

  81. Chris Thunderkiss Spears

    February 21, 2014 at 11:41 am

    I want it!! Ref Witch rules! Gimme dis in dat give’way!

  82. bill snow

    February 20, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    Great review, in depth & also provoking.

  83. Matt Collins

    February 20, 2014 at 11:20 am

    This bad boy sounds great and looks amazing. I NEED ONE!

  84. Nic

    February 19, 2014 at 10:55 am

    Big fan of the Fuzz God II, can’t wait to try this.

  85. Chris O’Connor

    February 18, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Holy crap, been lusting after this since the NAMM 2012 demo!! I hope like hell to win this …

    8¬)

  86. Ben Allcock

    February 18, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    Wow i need this

  87. Francois

    February 18, 2014 at 10:11 am

    How to play Mario Bros theme with a guitar… Funny!!

  88. Lee Owens-Oas

    February 17, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    haha seems like a pretty wild pedal. I want to try one for some of my old songs, see if a new sound will breathe some new life into them

  89. Rich Pike

    February 17, 2014 at 7:14 am

    I want this pedal so much, it just isn’t right. Nice review.

  90. don hutchko

    February 16, 2014 at 6:56 am

    Heard one and sounded nice

  91. Rodger

    February 16, 2014 at 2:11 am

    Thanks for the review. Lots of ideas for sounds that you wouldn’t expect from a guitar.

  92. curlylockes

    February 15, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    Cool deal, I kind of wish it wasn’t limited to only square wave though. Although the option of using it as an auto-wah/filter effect is really nice. Definitely seems like this would be great for an Anamanaguchi-type band.

  93. hugo

    February 15, 2014 at 11:20 am

    i want one!!!

  94. brian anderson

    February 15, 2014 at 8:15 am

    Good review! Good company! I want one!

  95. Phil T

    February 15, 2014 at 2:59 am

    What the hell, why not.

  96. greg

    February 14, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    Looks fun

  97. postfuzz

    February 14, 2014 at 11:14 am

    This has to be one of the most perfect

    guitar to synth “converters”.

    I can definitely play with it forever… !

  98. Starry

    February 14, 2014 at 2:10 am

    I’m on the dole, so this is the only way I’ll ever own this pedal

  99. Azaam

    February 14, 2014 at 1:00 am

    I could probably play around with this pedal forever.

  100. Steve McCormick

    February 11, 2014 at 11:47 pm

    Looks Good, With all those knobs it’s got to do something, could use more lights

  101. al key

    February 11, 2014 at 7:40 am

    This could be a fun alternative to a fuzz pedal for solos.

  102. T Thurston

    February 10, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    Pretty into the envelope filter on the synth.

  103. Seth

    February 9, 2014 at 11:26 am

    wow, talk about a lot of options!

  104. Adam Sears

    February 9, 2014 at 8:19 am

    The tracking on this pedal is amazing! And props on sneaking in the tetris theme. haha

  105. Arran

    February 9, 2014 at 7:25 am

    I have been meaning to add a synth pedal to my board for a while now and what could be better than a SYNTHOTRON! I really like the range this pedal seems to offer, very usable sounds just need to try one now

  106. Brett

    February 9, 2014 at 2:34 am

    I can’t wait to try one of these, i love the square wave synth guitar sound this thing has.

  107. Drew

    February 9, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Interesting. I’m going to pull the trigger on one of these synth pedals soon but I’ve yet to decide on one.

  108. Goran Pavlovic

    February 8, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Oh my!! I hope it works with bass too!

  109. Brian

    February 8, 2014 at 7:46 am

    Ahhhh I wanna lock myself down in my basement with this thing!

  110. don hutchko

    February 7, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    Good review

  111. William Kazantzis

    February 7, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    Going to put in some serious overtime hours to get this as quick as possible. It would make an awesome addition to my new pedal board.

  112. zack carnes

    February 7, 2014 at 6:30 pm

    I would love to win this pedal. I have never owned a reall synth pedal, and would love for this to be the first. The only pedal i have is a shitty korg ax5g, please help me out!!

  113. duncan

    February 7, 2014 at 3:29 am

    This is top of my list of pedals that I feel liek I need. If only so I can randomly bust out the Tetris theme music in the middle of a set for no apparant reason.

    More than that though, I can only imagine what I could do with this in a no-input mixing desk scenario. Looks awesome too.

  114. Eric Gressel

    February 7, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Does it work out with a bass? I’dlove to check it – I’m searching for a new basssynth…

  115. Bernardo Figueiredo

    February 6, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Man i love this machine!

  116. Billy Payne

    February 6, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    This loos pretty awesome!

    • Billy Payne

      February 6, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      By which I mean of course that it LOOKS awesome! I have not mistaken this guitar pedal for a loo.

  117. Russ Mains

    February 6, 2014 at 10:32 am

    That definitely looks like a fun pedal.

  118. Justin

    February 6, 2014 at 6:48 am

    This is a beautiful machine! I’m dying to get something by RW on my pedalboard!!

  119. franco

    February 6, 2014 at 6:08 am

    the sample and hold sounds amazing. would like to feed it through

    several fuzzes and a recovery bad comrade to get some mud on it.

    then loop it and filter to taste. yum.

  120. Nate

    February 6, 2014 at 4:17 am

    I love the controls/setup scheme, always brilliant design from Red Witch.

  121. Sherman Loper

    February 5, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    Oh Man! I saw this on line somewhere and have been saving up for it. An insane addition to my boxes. Thanks for reviewing this further!

  122. Justin A

    February 5, 2014 at 9:58 am

    Ah perfect! red witch has done it again!

  123. thom

    February 5, 2014 at 6:35 am

    Dying to try this out, two questions:

    Anyone know if I can try it at a guitar center? (do they carry red witch?)

    How does this compare to the EHX microsynth? I’ve never tried any other synth pedals so it’s the only standard I have.

  124. Sammy

    February 4, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    This pedal sounds absolutely insane. I love it.

    Massive props for playing Mega Man <33

  125. Mike

    February 4, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    I really wanna try this out! I love noise pedals!

  126. Nick Christie

    February 4, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    This pedal is incredible. I can only imagine where this innovative pedal would take me musically.

  127. Aaron Halverson

    February 4, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    This pedal sounds and looks great!

  128. Kiryk

    February 4, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Hey, would rather like to win the Violetta delay pedal as it suits more my music style but this pedal definitely sounds fun too!! ; ) The auto wah function sounds rrrrreally great!!! And it looks so cool 70s.

  129. brent stewart

    February 4, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    best synth pedal for guitar by far – Red Witch is top shelf gear

  130. Pablo

    February 4, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    I can’t wait to get this, you know guys this one is mine! (being a douche)

    One does not simply Win this pedal but me (being a douche²)

    Omg, This is awesome but I wont win this shit 😐 (being me)

  131. Victor Toscano

    February 4, 2014 at 7:45 am

    This pedal looks awesome, can’t wait to listen to my Les Paul with it!

  132. Nutshell

    February 4, 2014 at 7:18 am

    Seems awesome !!! PICK ME 😀

  133. Dominik Šandor

    February 4, 2014 at 2:42 am

    must have this ! the greatest among great synth pedals

  134. dan

    February 3, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    Seems like a good idea.

  135. Antero Pertamo

    February 3, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    Good review. Gave some huge GAS for this pedal. So I want one!!!

  136. Pablo Olivarea

    February 3, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    I want one.

  137. Tainui Salzmann

    February 3, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    New Zealand baby!!

  138. Danny

    February 3, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    Wow! Looks cool!

  139. Peter Andreev

    February 3, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    This is EXACTLY what I’m looking for.

  140. Mattson

    February 3, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    I’d be curious to hear a subtle use of this

  141. Michael Walton

    February 3, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    Cool

  142. Ryan begley

    February 3, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    Okay seriously this is one of the coolest looking pedals I’ve ever seen. Reminiscent of the mu-tron with the coloring. Would be honored to win this and put it on my board alongside my empress chorus!

  143. Serge

    February 3, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    I want to try this Red Witch!

    • Samu Tyrväinen

      February 4, 2014 at 4:17 am

      Me too!

  144. Owen

    February 3, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    Synthotron helps you get your game on!

  145. Julian

    February 3, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    I would love to see a Synthotron on my pedalboard. Already built me an Uglyface pedal ’cause crazy sounds are so cool. A Synthotron would be a whole new experience!

  146. Rich Pike

    February 3, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    I want this pedal so bad I can taste it.

  147. Jimmy Gould

    February 3, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    I play guitar in an instrumental psychedelic band and would love this pedal to create more psychedelic noises. Plus I love red witch! 🙂

  148. Ravioli

    February 3, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    yeah, must be fun to experiment with this pedal! B-)

  149. Dave

    February 3, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    Wouldn’t mind getting my hands on one of these to mess around with.

  150. Britt

    February 3, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    My bassist lady friend has been GASsing for one of these for awhile! I would love to give her one for Valentine’s Day!

  151. Jonathan Gescheit

    February 3, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Wow, one of the most fun effects out there!

  152. Phillip

    February 3, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    This thing is trippy! I love the versatility of it. Not to mention the uniqueness!

  153. ODY

    February 3, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    Lo deseooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  154. Leigh Walsh

    February 3, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    I play in an videogamey electronic act, but I am more comfortable playing with guitar(or Mandolin!) than synth. This is often a problem for me in recreating stuff live – generally I go for live mixing with some traditional overdriven or effects heavy guitar over it, but it would be nice to be able to find a synth pedal that really did it for me. I’ve tried the Line 6 and Digitech stuff and it’s not quite there, and the Microsynth is done to death. This looks a bit fresher and from the Review I think it may well be for me. I liked the Commodore 64-ish sounds it got with the S&H function at the start especially. Loved the Megaman 3 rendition too! My bassist would love this.

  155. Ian

    February 3, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    This is the coolest sounding, most versatile pedal I’ve ever heard. I would absolutely LOVE to have one!

  156. James

    February 3, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    Synth + Bass = win.

  157. Jeremy

    February 3, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    Best synth pedal on the market!

  158. jose garcia

    February 3, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    This pedal sounds amazing and so does the delay

  159. John K

    February 3, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    My surf band uses one of these.

    This pedal is gnarly

  160. John

    February 3, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Really want to try this out!

  161. Jeff Weber

    February 3, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Wow Seems Awesome!! On my list:)

  162. Matt Van Gundy

    February 3, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    Wow… This pedal is crazy rad! I’d love to add it to my board.

  163. Kaivai

    February 3, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    This sounds dope – haven’t found it any of the local stores to test it out but would love to give it a hoon.

  164. Adam

    February 3, 2014 at 12:10 pm

    Really cool. I want!

  165. Sunny r

    February 3, 2014 at 10:28 am

    I would choose this over a POG any day!!!!

  166. Mauricio

    February 3, 2014 at 9:49 am

    i want it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  167. cody

    February 3, 2014 at 9:27 am

    sweet pedal

  168. Rob

    February 3, 2014 at 8:08 am

    Looks awesome.

  169. Fabian

    February 3, 2014 at 8:03 am

    Would love to make sound experiments with that for days :)) Love the tweakability

  170. dave

    February 3, 2014 at 7:49 am

    I want it!

  171. Franco

    February 3, 2014 at 7:24 am

    I ever wanted it

  172. Mike H

    February 3, 2014 at 6:49 am

    Holy crap! You could create the soundtrack to a video game with that!

  173. Daniel Thompson

    February 3, 2014 at 5:38 am

    I looked at the Synthotron last year. It fills a unique niche in any guitarist’s sound pallet. I want one!

  174. Joseph Earl

    February 3, 2014 at 4:36 am

    Wicked Pedal

  175. Rob

    February 3, 2014 at 3:42 am

    This is all those wacked-out, cheese-meister 70`s keyboard sounds underneath my pesky digits..

    And in a box!

    All aboard!!!…..Last train to Prog central”…..

    Uh -oh, a quick pit stop for the MOtherShip,-

    Professor Funkenstein, adjust the modular sofa will You please”

    You just know this is going to end in trouble….There will be tears…And they won`t be mine!!

    Just remember,folks. There`s a big difference between kneeling down and bending over

    This has been a public info-disgraceful service ,brought to You by Red Witch pedals.

  176. Mike A

    February 3, 2014 at 3:02 am

    I reckon this, combined with my Arturia MicroBrute analogue synth, could add some serious textures and noise to my music!

  177. Fernando Villabrille

    February 2, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    I really like it to do some funk, and the other effects could be amusing to check and play with

  178. BK

    February 2, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    Sounds and looks sophisticated!!

  179. Connor

    February 2, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    Sweat Jesus!

  180. VertigoMusik

    February 2, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    Very cool pedal that could come in handy for Shoegaze type effects while tracking…

  181. Brian D

    February 2, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    Interesting and freaky sounds that can be pulled out of this – a lot of experimenting can be done with this!

  182. Craig

    February 2, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    Another vote for a bass demo!

  183. Adam

    February 2, 2014 at 6:50 pm

    Count me in as someone else who would like to hear this on bass!

  184. Matt S

    February 2, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    Pretty please!!

  185. MauMau

    February 2, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    I like the versatility of this pedal!

  186. Adrian

    February 2, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Sounds awesome and loaded with a great combination of effects for synth sounds! I’d like to hear this on bass.

  187. Olly

    February 2, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    This pedal is awesome! It just sounds crazy!

  188. bertram

    February 2, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    I’m currently looking for a synth pedal and I’ve looked around to pick the best one – the synthotron is high on my list. In a way we’re so used to glitchy synth sounds that this one is almost too tamed, but once one found out how to use it and what for, I can imagine how powerful it can be… thanks for the compressor trick in the article BTW.

  189. Victor

    February 2, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    This pedal is stacked. Looks awesome.

  190. jon

    February 2, 2014 at 11:02 am

    I used to own an EH Micro-Synth- this seems to have solved the problems I had with its limitations. Can’t wait to get one!

  191. Joseph Bugg

    February 2, 2014 at 10:31 am

    Sounds like one sweet guitar synth! Thank you for the great detailed review, I never know what to expect from a synth pedal and this spelled it out perfect

  192. mark

    February 2, 2014 at 10:11 am

    Sounds like some fun!

  193. Conner

    February 2, 2014 at 6:53 am

    I’m quite certain Radiohead would be proud of songs I would write using this

  194. Manos

    February 2, 2014 at 6:33 am

    i’m lovin’ it

  195. Cody Budd

    February 2, 2014 at 6:30 am

    I wonder how this will sound on my bass!

  196. Alain Robert

    February 2, 2014 at 6:13 am

    Guitar playing will never be the same anymore with a pedal like this one!

  197. John Mark Varney

    February 2, 2014 at 6:05 am

    Always love synth sounds on guitars. Looks like this one delivers!

  198. jd

    February 2, 2014 at 6:00 am

    it would be cool to see what you could get out of this in the studio.

  199. Nicosonic

    February 2, 2014 at 5:47 am

    I want it !

  200. Avory Richie

    February 2, 2014 at 5:25 am

    I think this pedal has a crush fetish and i might be that one dominatrix that can bring it to its max potential .

  201. Rick

    February 2, 2014 at 3:16 am

    Like the sound and paint job.

  202. Drusilla

    February 2, 2014 at 12:17 am

    Impressed with the versatility

  203. Trent

    February 1, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    The Synthotron has successfully blown my mind. incredible. must have.

  204. Christopher Kemp

    February 1, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    This sounds great! I’ve looked at a few synth pedals, and this one is very intriguing!

  205. Erik

    February 1, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    The Red Witch Synthotron is a winner. Never have I heard a guitar synth of this quality. I hope to win it, the people at Red Witch are true artists.

  206. John Bohumil

    February 1, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Very fun pedal! Would definitely put this to use.

  207. Kyle Alm

    February 1, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Pretty cool pedal, a lot like the POG2 or HOG, this seems a little easier to setup that either of those.

  208. Seth Okrend

    February 1, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    Sounds like a great pedal!

  209. Skeith00

    February 1, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    With this we can play pokemon soundtrack..! Nice!

  210. Jason Murphy

    February 1, 2014 at 6:34 pm

    Cool name. Cool looking pedal

  211. Brent Johnston

    February 1, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    Great review, I would love to try one.

  212. John Niespodzianski

    February 1, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    WANT.

  213. Giulio

    February 1, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    I must admit I dont’t have a Synth Pedal, so this could be nice !! 😉

  214. Jordi Farhansyah

    February 1, 2014 at 5:35 pm

    This pedal would be a good use on my pedalboard!

  215. Ted Gomez

    February 1, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    never had a guitar synth pedal, but if I did this would be the one, If it’s a Red Witch you know it’s gonna be good! thanks for the contest!!

  216. Ross Smith

    February 1, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    The synthotron really has some unique tones. Other harmonizers like the pog and organizers miss the synth niche and fewer do it better than Red Witch.

  217. edison bea

    February 1, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    cool colors and knobs ..

  218. Butch

    February 1, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    This is the sickest pedal I think I’ve ever heard. The sonic possibilities are endless

  219. Joe

    February 1, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Woah. That’s pretty awesome.

  220. Steph

    February 1, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    Novelty for sure. Have a lot of fun w/ your friends.

    Steph

  221. Simone Proserpio

    February 1, 2014 at 3:44 pm

    Crazy n awesome toy!

  222. Vincet

    February 1, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    Dag gum it, now I want one.

  223. berko

    February 1, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    this pedal is insane! with one of these i can rule the world experimental psychedelic noise drone improv

  224. Kirsten

    February 1, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    That is a lot packed into one pedal!

  225. Grant

    February 1, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    Looks like really cool pedal.

  226. Chris

    February 1, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    I love making my guitar sound like not a guitar. This pedal is sweet!

  227. Sam

    February 1, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    This sounds like a possible Swiss Army Knife of sounds

  228. Tom

    February 1, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    This looks like it would be MUCH fun to play with!

  229. zillah

    February 1, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    So warm, with low latency! I’m’a use this for more than just guitar.~.

  230. Will

    February 1, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    This is awesome!!!

  231. Randall Brown

    February 1, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    This would be CRAZY fun to experiment with!

  232. Justin

    February 1, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    You need to play the Legend of Zelda dungeon theme music with this!! m/

  233. sebastian

    February 1, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    Wicked!

  234. Yannis

    February 1, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    cool, cool pedal..rock on, dudes!

  235. Mark Dally

    February 1, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    This would sound rad with my FuzzGodII. Synth plus Fuzz sounds killer.

  236. Bill Siepierski

    February 1, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    How cool would this be to have!

  237. brupop

    February 1, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    This would be groovy

  238. Andrew Myers

    February 1, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    Whoa crazy pedal wow

  239. Sam Boodt

    February 1, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    Could make some crazy sounds with this box.

  240. Ross

    February 1, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    This thing could absolutely bridge the upsetting gap I have right now between playing guitar and making music with synths and sound design, I spend hours on each in isolation but would love a middle ground and the immediacy and expressiveness from playing guitar in a synth sound. Loads of tweakability with voices and filtering and s/h stuff, could make some pretty dirty riffs, yes please.

  241. Pavle Bodi

    February 1, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    I’m a huge fan of chip music and now I think I’m a huge fan of this pedal! I’ve been looking for a pedal to do 8bit sounding sounds for a while now and this seems to be the ONE!!!

  242. Pete Gaeta

    February 1, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    I would love to have this as part of my rig – endless possibilities!

  243. Dom Plante

    February 1, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    Would be nice to add this one on my pedalboard 😛

  244. hugo

    February 1, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    really cool!

  245. Neil martin

    February 1, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    Oooooooooh

  246. Slack Jack

    February 1, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    WOOOW!!! I NEED THIS!!!

  247. Edmar Soria

    February 1, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Wow looks like a pretty good weapon on stage!!

  248. Ryan Opel

    February 1, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Gives pigtronix’s mothership a run for its money, I love it!

  249. mike cummings

    February 1, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    wish I could afford it 🙂

  250. Mike J

    February 1, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Red Witch comes up with some great effects, another keeper.

  251. Mike Garrett

    February 1, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    nice review – seems like a very unique pedal. and it’s good to have the videos back!

  252. WEI-CHEN CHENG

    February 1, 2014 at 12:39 pm

    I want one. pick me!!

  253. Dave

    February 1, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Crazy synth tones. Truly bizarre but really cool!

  254. Gonzalo

    February 1, 2014 at 12:18 pm

    Wow this pedal sounds really good! I’m amazed with the job red witch did! So good. Really nice pedal.

  255. Oscar Cardel

    February 1, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    There’s something about this pedal that makes it stand out of the other synth effect pedals. It’s a must have for me.

  256. Clif. McKinley

    February 1, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    Very cool!

  257. Thomas

    February 1, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    this thing sounds awesome, and appears to have loads of possibilities…

  258. Rob s.

    February 1, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    Sounds great and has a myriad of tones.

  259. John

    February 1, 2014 at 12:10 pm

    If Jeff Beck were to join Devo, he should get one of these. (And that means I think it’s pretty cool.)

  260. Nathan Mumford

    February 1, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    I’m trying to think about when I would use this??? There are other synth pedals that make this pedal sound like a toy by comparison. Grantedly, the ones I am referring to are also multi-FX processors and/or MIDI. I wonder how this pedal would sound combined with other pedals. I would really need to spend some time on this pedal to give a proper assessment and rate it.

  261. Dan S.

    February 1, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    Sounds great, would love to hook this thing up to my keyboard too.

  262. rarcher

    February 1, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    sounds rad

  263. Vlada Bojic

    February 1, 2014 at 11:58 am

    sounds like hell , i want it ! 🙂

  264. josh m

    February 1, 2014 at 11:57 am

    very usable and super cool

  265. ron

    February 1, 2014 at 11:51 am

    I want to win the Synthotron for experimenting and to break up the monotony of learning classic rock and just fooling around for a bit with something ‘odd’ to come up with something novel.

  266. David Baker

    February 1, 2014 at 11:44 am

    The problem with these kinds of pedals is the tracking, this one sound pretty good but you would have to play it yourself to assess the tracking!

  267. Caleb

    February 1, 2014 at 11:43 am

    Red Witch knocks it out of the park again.

  268. Frederick

    February 1, 2014 at 11:39 am

    Wild sounds!!!

  269. Robert Abernathy

    February 1, 2014 at 11:37 am

    Very cool synth effect for guitars – this thing does a ton without taking up a ton of board space. – great review!

  270. Mark Darrow

    February 1, 2014 at 11:36 am

    This is unlike anything I’ve ever used. Would love to do some writing with this!

  271. Nathan

    February 1, 2014 at 11:35 am

    This is one of the coolest pedals that I’ve ever seen! I’d absolutely love to be able to play around with it!!

  272. mark mihalko

    February 1, 2014 at 11:33 am

    Awesome !!

  273. Luke Payne

    February 1, 2014 at 11:33 am

    Yes please! I’d love to add this thing to my board!

  274. Kyle Roy

    February 1, 2014 at 11:32 am

    Wanted one of these for a while.

  275. Gary

    February 1, 2014 at 11:32 am

    Cool.Love the sample & hold

  276. Eric

    February 1, 2014 at 11:28 am

    I love synth pedals! This thing would sound killer on bass

  277. James

    February 1, 2014 at 11:28 am

    Sweet! Really would like to play around with some of those violin-like sustainy sounds…

  278. sean

    February 1, 2014 at 11:27 am

    really cool pedal

  279. Henry Robertson

    February 1, 2014 at 11:25 am

    super cool

  280. No Whales

    February 1, 2014 at 11:25 am

    I’ve been eyeing this pedal for quite a while now, hoping that it would be available… the time has come! 🙂

  281. Nils

    February 1, 2014 at 11:25 am

    great sounding synth pedal, really loved the envelope section, wonder how it will sound paired up with other effects…

  282. Dylan Thomas

    February 1, 2014 at 11:23 am

    Killer pedal, I would love to own this. Thank you so much for having these giveaways!

  283. alan

    February 1, 2014 at 11:22 am

    This is my kind of stuff! 🙂

  284. Michael Norton

    February 1, 2014 at 11:21 am

    Love 2 Have

  285. Michael Scar

    February 1, 2014 at 11:20 am

    MY precious! 😀

  286. jimmy

    February 1, 2014 at 11:18 am

    I really want one of these

  287. Andrew Estes

    February 1, 2014 at 11:18 am

    I’ve always wanted one of these. I love the sounds it can make. Great pedal!

  288. Jeffrey Ballard

    February 1, 2014 at 11:17 am

    I could have a lot of fun with this!

  289. Patrick Marshall

    February 1, 2014 at 11:15 am

    I must have one of these!

  290. Miguel Batalha

    February 1, 2014 at 11:15 am

    This pedal gives me so many crazy ideas. 🙂

  291. Mark Nason

    February 1, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Not only does this SOUND like a cool pedal but I also love the LOOK of it!

  292. Keith

    February 1, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Sounds absolutely incredible…

  293. Maxxwell Harkins

    February 1, 2014 at 11:14 am

    I want it.

  294. Szczepan

    February 1, 2014 at 11:12 am

    I’d love to try it on a bass guitar!

  295. Vince

    October 2, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Nice review!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.