Walrus Audio Janus Review – Most Innovative Fuzz/Tremolo Pedal?

Review of: Walrus Audio Janus


Reviewed by: Rating:4.5On October 9, 2013Last modified:October 6, 2016


Summary:

I’ve played a lot of great guitar pedals. And I’ve played a lot of really great fuzz and tremolo pedals. And I’ve seen and played some really interesting conceptual pedals that capture a unique vibe unlike anything else around.

And still, every now and then, a pedal comes along that completely blows my mind in every aspect of its concept, design, and overall execution. The Janus by Walrus Audio is one of those pedals.

The Janus combines a fully-featured fuzz of the highest quality and an equally great tremolo in a single enclosure. Add in dual-joystick control to manipulate 2 key parameters for each effect, and you’ve got more real-time tone-bending options than you’ll find in a fuzz or tremolo pedal anywhere else.

Fuzz and Tremolo are a bizarre pairing you would think, but they yield surprisingly interesting results once you dig in and and get acquainted with the Janus. Having an understanding of who exactly Janus is may offer further insight into what Walrus Audio had in mind when designing this pedal.



Janus is a Roman god often associated with transitions, beginnings and endings, and war and peace. Janus is usually depicted with two faces which look towards the future and to the past. This pedal certainly is a throw-back to such classic effects as tremolo and fuzz while bringing them into the future with ultra-modern design innovation. Notice how the faces of Janus look towards the different effects, the war-like chaos of fuzz and the peaceful and soothing tremolo. His eyes are fixated on the Level controls which are the swinging doorways to unleashing these effects. The efficient design and beautiful presentation of this pedal are a testament to a dedicated creative vision brought to life in a masterfully executed product. Walrus Audio have really raised the bar with this one. Let’s run down the features and transition to our in-depth Walrus Audio Janus review.

Features:

True Bypass Dual-Joystick Controlled Tremolo/Fuzz

Trem Level control knob adjusts the output level of the Tremolo effect.

Trem Joystick: Left to Right adjusts the depth from minimum to maximum depth, Down to Up adjusts the rate from minimum to maximum rate.

Trem On/Off True Bypass footswitch engages and disengages effect, letting signal pass unaffected when not in use.

Fuzz Level control knob adjusts the output level of the fuzz effect.

Fuzz Blend control knob adjusts the mix between clean signal and Fuzz signal, allowing for transparent, cleaner guitar tone with fuzz underneath.

Fuzz Joystick: Left to Right adjusts the amount of fuzz/gain/distortion from minimum to maximum fuzz, Down to Up adjusts the Tone of the fuzz effect from more bass to more treble.

Fuzz On/Off True Bypass footswitch engages and disengages effect, letting signal pass unaffected when not in use.

3-Way Mode Toggle-switch for selecting from 3 different arrangements of clipping diodes to create an assortment of fuzz tones.

Bass Toggle-switch boosts the low end/bass when switched to the left.

Powered by 9-Volt battery or 9VDC power adapter.

Visit Walrus Audio for more info about the Janus.

See the lowest price on Amazon.

See the lowest price on eBay.

Sound & Performance:

Just so you know, this review took me a while to write. I could barely stop playing the Janus long enough to write about it. Once you enter the realm of Janus, it can be hard to exit from whence you came.

For my review, I simply plugged in a humbucker-equipped American Strat and went into a flat, clean amp channel with the Janus standing guard, facing my guitar and amp.

I decided to approach this pedal slowly and tested out the Tremolo first. With the Level control at noon, I engaged the Trem side of Janus and gave the joystick a whirl.

The Tremolo of the Janus is smooth and musical, offering a nice gentle pulsing effect that can get pretty intense when you need it to be simply by adjusting the Trem joystick. At the lower left joystick settings the depth and rate are at their lowest for the most subtle effects. Bringing the joystick towards the center of its axis brings in a moderate tremolo sound for a bit more movement. The joysticks are stiff enough to maintain their position when set, so it’s easy to find a stationary setting you like on the fly. Pushing the joystick towards the upper right area brings in much deeper throbbing with a fast rate, great for intense pulsing effects. Taking the joystick to the right yields the deepest effect while pushing it straight up produces the fastest rate. I highly recommend using the Trem joystick in realtime, either with your hand or foot, to create some mesmerizing movement.

After getting a feel for the Trem side of this pedal, I switched over to the Fuzz side to experience the wrath and fury of Janus.

Even without the Tremolo functionality, the Janus is still one of the more versatile fuzz effects pedals around and packs in a lot of features for tailoring your ideal fuzz tones. The blend knob is incredibly useful for blending your dry signal into the overall sound for some extra clarity and definition. With the Fuzz joystick set anywhere around the left to center positions you can get some great overdriven fuzz sounds. You must try the Janus Fuzz in all 3 modes as they each have a voice and character of their own for a great “3-fuzz-pedals-in-1” appeal.

I’m a bit of a gain addict, so I really enjoy using the Janus with the Fuzz joystick set towards the right. From here, all 3 modes offer plenty of fuzz distortion in 3 delicious flavors. You’ve gotta try them all. Seriously, this pedal is overflowing with great fuzz tones. Pushing the joystick slightly up or down lets you set your high-gain fuzz tone just right. I personally find myself leaving the Bass switch on most of the time with the Fuzz joystick pushed upward a little bit to bring in more high-end for some great full-range fuzz sounds in all 3 modes.

At all levels of gain, the Janus Fuzz remains articulate and dynamic. Individual notes of chords can be heard clearly even at the highest gain settings. The pedal cleans up well when rolling back your volume knob, and it’s worth exploring the different mode options with various gain settings while attenuating your guitar’s volume knob to hear how expressive the Janus can be.

And of course the Janus must be experienced with both Tremolo and Fuzz engaged. This offers some truly unique sounds and performance options that you won’t find anywhere else. Both effects pair surprisingly well together and offer some very interesting modulated distortion sounds. With the Tremolo and Fuzz engaged, you can create some very dynamic textures by using the Fuzz Blend knob to mix your dry and fuzz signals, revealing both faces of Janus in a clean, yet dirty barrage of pulsating fuzz movement.

Things get really weird and wild when you try playing guitar while using your foot to control the joysticks in realtime. The Janus is truly a performance instrument in its own right and is made for the most adventurous guitarists who will appreciate all that this pedal is capable of.

Few companies are pushing the envelope as far as Walrus Audio have with the Janus. It’s a fuzz pedal like no other. It’s this kind of ingenuity, creativity, and risk-taking that sets apart the best from the rest. Much respect to Walrus Audio for releasing a pedal that’s so much fun to play and that offers a world of inspiration within. Let’s see the final result.

Walrus-Audio-Janus-Review-Most-Innovative-Fuzz-Tremolo-Pedal-06

Overall-Rating-4.5

The Janus by Walrus Audio is one of the most ambitious fuzz/tremolo pedals ever released. It offers 2 high quality effects that are worlds apart yet may be combined to create sounds unheard of until now. It has plenty of amazing fuzz and tremolo sounds on tap that can be easily dialed in and used together or separately. And if you’re feeling bold, you can bring chaos to order via realtime dual-joystick control. While the joysticks are particularly well suited to studio use, you can still use them in realtime with a nimble foot as well. The Janus is a veritable wellspring of great tone and inspiration, and I highly recommend getting acquainted with the Janus face to face.

That concludes our Walrus Audio Janus review. Thanks for reading.

 

Want to buy the Walrus Audio Janus?

See The Lowest Price On Amazon

See The Lowest Price On eBay

Gabriel Tanaka

COMMENTS

  1. Joe

    September 30, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    You could spend hours screwing around with that. Say good-bye to responsibilities, Janus is in the house!

  2. Thomas Dück

    September 29, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Not only does it sound great but it looks great as well. Fantastic pedal. Every time I visit this webpage the list of must-have pedals just gets bigger and bigger. This would be a really nice addition to my current pedal set! (calling it a ‘pedal set’ is kind of offensive… 2 distortion pedals + a Chinese multi-effect pedal aren’t really a set…)

  3. Seth

    September 29, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    Alright, baby, did I win? Send it on over! Well, if I don’t win it, I guess I’ll have to buy one. I am a tremolo and fuzz junkie. This has it all – no need to leave the house.

  4. Sankho Mallik

    September 29, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    Love that this kind of looks like a game controller. Not to mention getting trem w/ fuzz w/ different pedals to work nicely can be tough, really needs a good trem pedal and this seems to have it… watching Steven Drozd mess with all the other pedals in tandem w/ the Janus was awesome… really makes me itch for this one!

  5. Spencer

    September 29, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    Awesome pedal. I wasn’t quite sure which pedals to choose from, the Janos or Decent, both are great. The music I play doesn’t require much fuzz, but this pedal is so unique and looks amazing that I got to have it.

  6. Phil T.

    September 29, 2014 at 6:37 am

    Interesting controls.

  7. JohnnyCNote

    September 29, 2014 at 5:04 am

    I’m not sure about joysticks. They look like it would be too easy to bump them accidentally after having found the “sweet spot”…

  8. Austen

    September 28, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    This would make a great addition to any pedalboard, hopefully mine

  9. dave

    September 28, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    a very cool pedal I’d like to add to my board.

  10. Gueze

    September 28, 2014 at 4:34 pm

    Playing Atari with fuzz!!

  11. Owain

    September 28, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    Fuzz, Trem, Nipple-tweaking joysticks…SOLD!

  12. Matthew

    September 28, 2014 at 5:18 am

    This is a pretty glorious combo.

  13. Lawrence Chandler

    September 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    This is the one

  14. Merrick Ames

    September 27, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    yeah this is rad! ballsy fuzz and tasty trem!!

  15. Jacob Sunshine

    September 27, 2014 at 5:12 pm

    I WANT THIS PEDAL!

  16. Jakub

    September 27, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Very raw and playful!

  17. Michael W Perkins

    September 27, 2014 at 10:56 am

    Pedals with JOYSTICKS! Need I say more! 🙂

  18. Graeme

    September 27, 2014 at 7:47 am

    Sounds awesome.. make it stereo and give me another joystick for panning 🙂

  19. stein vermeiren

    September 27, 2014 at 7:05 am

    i think there does excist a perfect pedal

  20. James Morton

    September 27, 2014 at 4:05 am

    this would be a great addition to any pedalboard!!

  21. mick

    September 27, 2014 at 3:32 am

    2 joysticks for twice the fun…really innovative design and totally useable sounds…fantastic! (fingers crossed…)

  22. Jamie Payne

    September 27, 2014 at 1:57 am

    Such a sick pedal! Would be amazing to add to my studio and live rig.

  23. Darius Oon

    September 27, 2014 at 12:45 am

    Those are some nifty controls! Great review and looks like a really great pedal. Furthermore, it has some great graphics! 🙂

  24. Ricardo higareda

    September 26, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    Great demo and article. This is my favorite pedal from walrus audio. The Janus has always been my favorite guitar pedal. I love the video with Steve drozd. Cheers

  25. Jonny Blundell

    September 26, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    The Janus pedal looks superb! Innovative and practical and the fuzz tone oozes quality!

  26. Chris P

    September 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm

    Ohhh man I want it so bad

  27. Tom

    September 26, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Sweetness

  28. Evgeny Kurbatov

    September 26, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    Hi! Due to my interest to post-rock I must say that this is the killer pedal I ever wanted! With god blessing walrus audio crew put the fuzz that I interested into this pedal. In my opinion double joysticks make this pedal much more useful in studio! But still I heard it only on the youtube(

  29. Ryan Smithee

    September 26, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    This is so cool. Fingers crossed.

  30. Andrew Rigsby

    September 26, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    This just phenomenal ! I’ve been looking for a fuzz and trem for awhile, this combo really adds a new dimension to these effects and looks to provide some great tonal creativity. Great job on the review, really shows the possibilities.

  31. Mark Nason

    September 26, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    I’ve seen the Janus pedal for quite a while now and the joysticks always interest me. To have an effect with that level of sensitive control, it must be difficult to decide to “STOP” fiddling!

  32. Dylan

    September 26, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    Looks cool AND sounds cool.

  33. Randall Brown

    September 26, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    Lovely tonal deconstruction! Excellent demo by Mr. Drozd. Sounds like a great addition to any collection of interstellar spacecraft engines.

  34. David

    September 26, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    A very interesting combination of units. While either one is in the typical guitarist’s tool box, you’d be hard pressed to find another unit which offers the option of mixing these two very different functions. I like it! Can’t wait to try one.

  35. andrea russo

    September 26, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    Would Love it!

  36. ben

    September 26, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    Those joysticks look like 2 big nipples just asking to be tweaked.

  37. chris

    September 26, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Its the perfect blender!

  38. Cleamon Jones

    September 26, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    Really unique pedal and capable of some far out tones.

  39. Calin

    September 26, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Lately I’ve been discovering how versatile a tremolo can be, sounds like a fantastic pedal from a great company! I really liked how well the two effects stacked in the demo; kinda like eating apples and cheese together, sounds weird but tastes awesome.

  40. Petar Petkov

    September 26, 2014 at 2:46 pm

    Very cool pedal ! It’s perfect for the stoner/doom/sludge oriented guitarists ! I thinks the joysticks are what make this pedal unique , giving more opportunities and more sensible control. I like it 🙂

  41. harold carl

    September 26, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    Love that you can blend the sound.

  42. Connor

    September 26, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    Such sweet tone. I would become a noise-rock monster machine with this thing.

  43. Mike

    September 26, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Very innovative design. I bet it’s a hoot to play.

  44. Edward Ten Eyck

    September 26, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    The Janus sounds great! Interesting combo of Trem and Fuzz.

  45. Ben Sticpewich

    September 26, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    Joysticks!! Fly it in to the Deathstar …

    Or just use to sound Sci Fi epic rock awesome!

    The review reads like a fantasy pedal, but this is real science.

    Best pedal.

  46. Chris Faricy

    September 26, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    Crimson & Clover…I’d Like Janus to come over

  47. Bill Chesser

    September 26, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    NIce!

  48. Jon

    September 26, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    The Steven Drozd demo is so great. I’d love to be able to play this thing.

  49. Jonny Blundell

    September 26, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    The Janus looks awesome. The joystick idea is both innovative and practical and the tone quality of the Fuzz pedal jumps right out at you from the demo clip. Would LOVE to get one….many months saving up in South African currency!!

  50. Aaron

    September 26, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    The fuzz on this sounds pretty sweet.

  51. Kirsten

    September 26, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    This pedal is so cool! I have wanted ever since it came out!

  52. Dave

    September 26, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Wow! Such a cool sounding pedal… and it looks like a video game controller to boot!

  53. Joel

    September 26, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    Just leaving a comment because I want to win it, I have no pedals at all so fingers crossed

  54. Douglas

    September 26, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    i can’t imagine what i’d do with this, so that’s more reason for me to have it an make some sounds.

  55. sean

    September 26, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    FUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  56. asarmiento

    September 26, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    so much win in this pedal. brains will melt.

  57. Allan Cardenas

    September 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    wow

  58. Matt R

    September 26, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Oh man I’d play the shit outta this

  59. Thiago Orzechowski

    September 26, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Really need that sound.

  60. Dave

    September 26, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Need !!!

  61. Erik Cirelli

    September 26, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    It would be nice to have this pedal it is a nice pedal

  62. Paul

    September 26, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    They make edals like I make cookies . . Never the same way twice

  63. Dave

    September 26, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    Yes! Yes! Yes! Need one of these. Fuzz!?! Tremelo!?! In one!?! I picture melting faces everywhere!

  64. Tron

    September 26, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    A Fuzz-olo ?!

  65. Joel wolfe

    September 26, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    I bet this would sound great on my juno

  66. ron grande

    September 26, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    awesome sounding and versatile fuzz – who wants more?

  67. Connor

    September 26, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    The joystick idea is kinda cool but I have no idea how I’d use that with my feet.

  68. Gary

    September 26, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Who knew a tremolo and a fuzz belonged together.

  69. David Outten

    September 26, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Ok I really want this pedal. Can’t wait to make fuzzy choppy noises!

  70. zillah

    September 26, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Crazy design; can’t wait!

  71. Jeff Weber

    September 26, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    Very cool pedal!!want!!

  72. Azaam

    September 26, 2014 at 12:21 pm

    Joystick controlled boxes are ridiculously fun to use. I would have never have thought to combine a trem with fuzz but the results seem awesome.

  73. Gabe Tonestoy

    September 26, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    Ooooooooooooh, heavy duty and ready for action. I could go nuts in the Music Cave with this device! A tweaker’s delight, for sure….

  74. keith

    September 26, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    this would be awesome to win

  75. evee

    September 26, 2014 at 12:16 pm

    Honestly, the main reason I want this besides the fact that it looks amazing; it has the same name as my cat…I can see it all now janus on the janus

  76. Rich Di Cas

    September 26, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    I would freaking love to have this feisty beast on my board!

  77. Sebastian

    September 26, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    This is innovation embodied. Who thinks of these things: first, combining fuzz and trem, and second, making it seem like a throwback to the 90s with the joysticks reminiscent of game controllers. Absolutely amazing!

  78. David Mednick

    September 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Wouls love to win the Janus. In need of a good Trem and love fuzz, love the idea of the toggle switches. I’m a pedal geek and this would really thrill me!

  79. Brendan Stone

    September 26, 2014 at 11:39 am

    One of the coolest pedals ever made, I’ve wanted one for a long time now.

  80. Kiryk Drewinski

    September 26, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Nice idea with the joysticks. Wonder if I could use them with my foot while playing.

    Hope to win one!

    Cheers!

  81. Richard

    September 26, 2014 at 10:07 am

    this feels like it would be a nice first pedal since there’s so much to experiment with!

  82. Vinicius

    September 26, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Man… This is just awesome…

  83. Dasyi mcrae

    September 25, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    I NEED THIS TO MELT OFF THE FACES OF MY ENEMIES

  84. Michael Travis

    September 25, 2014 at 11:03 am

    I want this pedal so bad

  85. Ken W

    September 24, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Great review. Joystick controls open up huge possibilities to change the sound on the fly. I think this is way cool

  86. Qman

    September 24, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    The trem and the fuzz at the same time create some really cool sounds. want.

  87. Steph D

    September 24, 2014 at 1:56 pm

    Awesome, two of my favorite effects together, fuzz and tremolo together, i could save some space on my pedal board with this

  88. Tyler Sherrod

    September 24, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    The joysticks on this thing look crazy, but I love it!!

  89. Jim

    September 24, 2014 at 8:48 am

    This pedal looks like you could play with it or play it. Kinda like fuzz for a 90’s video gamer who uses a joystick.

  90. Jason

    September 24, 2014 at 1:46 am

    Tremelo and Fuzz! Great Combo! Plus my pedal board, even better!!! 😀

  91. Andrew Rochon

    September 23, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    really i can win this =) very unique concept for a pedal!

  92. John

    September 23, 2014 at 5:48 am

    This pedal sounds awesome I hope I win it

  93. Henry CHIU

    September 23, 2014 at 2:33 am

    I find this pedal is a fantastic combination of two effect that you never think of. I love the sound of the fuzz and the joystick control, seems have great fun. I would like to get one!!

  94. Jesse

    September 23, 2014 at 1:20 am

    But how easy is it to find your settings again with that joystick?

  95. Alastair

    September 22, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    I wouldn’t half mind winning one of these…

  96. Rickard Ruhngård

    September 22, 2014 at 8:04 am

    Love fuzz, love trem! Seems Walrus Audio has managed to combine the best of two worlds here. Would love to play around with this!

  97. Derek Kimball

    September 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Love the look of this pedal…love the sound of this pedal. I want this pedal. Thanks for the review!

  98. Nick Meyer

    September 21, 2014 at 9:41 am

    This pedal looks like so much fun. I want one

  99. dario

    September 21, 2014 at 5:17 am

    This thing must be super cool! Those sounds I’ve heard makes me want it so much! Creativity at an upper level.

  100. Fran

    September 21, 2014 at 4:20 am

    I want a Janus

  101. Ilja

    September 21, 2014 at 3:32 am

    loving the innovative controls on this and it sounds super sick! now if only I could get my hands on one…

  102. Monty

    September 20, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Good God!

  103. JAcob

    September 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Hard to get and test! over here in europe, but I need to have it.

  104. Abraham Trujillo

    September 20, 2014 at 12:43 pm

    I would so like to mess with this pedal live

  105. graeme

    September 20, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Fuzz plus trem??? YEAH!!!!!

  106. Mike

    September 19, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    I never would have thought to mix trem and fuzz but this pedal is just awesome. Every video demo I see of it I fall more in love. Great tone in all 3 clipping modes and super creative execution. The gamer in me just loves the idea of playing with a joystick. Would love to get my hands (and feet) on one of these.

  107. Namorodo

    September 19, 2014 at 11:28 am

    This has to be the coolest pedal ever!

  108. Aaron

    September 19, 2014 at 9:02 am

    This pedal is siiiiiiick I just wish I could get my hands on one to demo the beast.

  109. B.Knucklehead

    September 18, 2014 at 10:53 pm

    I recently tried a Janus to see if my Fender Hotrod Deville 212 would take to it. I was really surprised at all the different tones. I spent about 2.5 hours just messing with it. Only problem with it was it was not mine and had to give it back.

  110. C C

    September 18, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    Trem is frequently washed out by fuzz. They are integrated creatively here in a way where the two effects compliment each other. I also am intrigued by the foot-controllable joysticks. Lots of ideas occur to me just thinking about the possibilities…

    Very cool!

  111. A Hoffman

    September 18, 2014 at 10:24 am

    Thanks for the review and a chance to win. Dual joysticks to control tremolo and fuzz? Looks like a lot of fun, kind of like Nels Cline playing Robotron.

  112. Jesse Levi Turvey

    September 17, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Such an incredible pedal!

  113. Ryan Roehrich

    September 17, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    Very cool

  114. Ari

    September 17, 2014 at 2:12 pm

    oh how the lure of free machines encourages some creative posting!

  115. Claudio Silva

    September 17, 2014 at 11:39 am

    fuzz with a joystick, how awesome is that?

  116. Steve Dodd

    September 17, 2014 at 5:02 am

    Love it love it!

  117. Rob

    September 16, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    I thought it was an odd combination at first but both effects sound awesome.

  118. James

    September 16, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    With Janus, the skulls of my enemies will pile at my feet upon the stage. Please send it to my house.

  119. Michael Williams

    September 16, 2014 at 5:13 pm

    I’d love the Jannis….beautiful art!

  120. Billy Foulk

    September 16, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    Janus! God of war and peace! And this pedal is worthy of worship as well, I love the trem modulation over the beefed up fuzz. This pedal holds the best of both worlds and would be a great addition to anyones pedalboard

  121. Guilherme Rech

    September 16, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    Gimme!

  122. Jens

    September 16, 2014 at 9:53 am

    This is probably the most spaced-out pedal I’ve seen since, oh, I don’t know, the Loud Button WTF probably… I’d love to get my hands on one!

  123. Jake McMillan

    September 15, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    As a 19 year old University student I am constantly poor which means badass pedals like this one tend haunt my dreams. This is seriously one of the coolest ideas I have seen in a long time. The joysticks are incredible so easy to play around and get creative. I want to win this oh lord do I want to win this. So bad That I would consider riding a Walrus through my hometown to pay tribute to Walrus Audio for making such an incredible pedal. Just saying.

  124. SEBASTIAN PRZYBYLSKI

    September 15, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    QUITE AN INNOVATIVE LOOKING PEDAL! IM NOT SURE IF IT MAKES ME WANT TO PLAY OR FLY A MODEL AIRPLANE 😉 BUT SERIOUSLY ITS A GREAT PEDAL!! ID BE HONORED TO WIN ONE

  125. Paul Oneto

    September 15, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    I own this pedal. The review is accurate.

  126. Addison Hatcher

    September 15, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    I need one of these so bad.

  127. Brett Paschen

    September 15, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    The Walrus Audio Janus would be a welcome addition to anyone’s pedalboard.I would love to own one.The joysticks are cool and I guarantee it would be the first pedal on board that people would notice.

  128. Schuyler Dornbirer

    September 15, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Been using knobs for too long. It’s about time for something like this. Really caught my eye. I’ll spread the word!

  129. James Kogan

    September 15, 2014 at 7:15 am

    This thing looks like it can melt some serious brains!

  130. Chris Cogswell

    September 15, 2014 at 7:09 am

    Wow, very cool looking pedal and the switches, knobs, and two joysticks?!! Too much fun!

  131. Szczepan

    September 15, 2014 at 2:37 am

    That must be fun to play with!

  132. andre

    September 15, 2014 at 12:50 am

    I love this crazy pedal, there are a lot of analog feelings in this joisticks!

  133. Jeff

    September 14, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    Oh man this thing gets so heavy and mean – I’d love it!

  134. Wiseblood

    September 14, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Unlimited soundscape w this pedal. Would love to eat up a few hrs w one of these

  135. Justin

    September 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    There’s so many songs in that pedal. God I’d love to get my hands on one.

  136. Henry Robertson

    September 14, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    SO freeakin’ coool

  137. Shane

    September 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    How…. I…… Neeeeeeed…… This…..

    Never had a fuzz pedal, but this will defnitely be my first!

  138. Jay

    September 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    Love the fuzz!

  139. Taís Abdo

    September 13, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    I want to hear my boyfriend playing using this pedal, he’s pretty much like the batman

  140. Erick

    September 13, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    I would love to play using this pedal to my dear friend Ronaldinho Gaúcho.

  141. Andreas

    September 13, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    This seems very innovative and interesting. I would love to be able to try all the crazy sounds you could get out of this one day…

  142. Eibert

    September 13, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    Love have a Fuzz pedal for my bass and I see a button that says “Bass” 🙂

  143. Ludovico

    September 13, 2014 at 8:55 am

    OMG great pedal: great fuzz tone and grate tremolo. They “joysticklike” control are insane

  144. Manel

    September 13, 2014 at 8:37 am

    Wooow! I want it! I need it!

  145. Eliott Verity

    September 13, 2014 at 6:04 am

    I would love to win this, it looks awesome to experiment with. I love making a lot of weird noise and I think I could get really weird with this!

  146. Tobias

    September 13, 2014 at 1:42 am

    Joysticks. Did someone slip the folks at Walrus some blue sunshine ?? This is probably the strangest, quirkiest, amazing stomp-box to bear witness to. Man oh man the combination of fuzz and tremm is tasty and it just kills me eardrums ! If steven drozd digs it, it has definitely got somethin’ going for it. Awesome review too, you guys realy covered everything.

  147. robert

    September 12, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    Tone aside, I really like the artwork on the Janus pedals. The joystick is a super cool control mechanism.

  148. Eddie

    September 12, 2014 at 5:07 pm

    The joystick manipulation is really cool, but I wonder how long will the joysticks be able to stay in position, would they eventually wear out? The sound & ingenuity of this pedal is impressive.

  149. Ron

    September 12, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Those joysticks look like they’d be wicked fun to experiment with, too cool!

  150. Jacob Roch

    September 12, 2014 at 11:54 am

    This looks like a sweet tool for late night mad scientist experimentation!

  151. Andrew

    September 12, 2014 at 11:34 am

    I’ve been looking for a decent fuzz pedal to mess around with, and this pedal seems perfect! Love that its apparently very flexible, I’m still trying to figure out what tone I like best.

  152. Nicolás

    September 12, 2014 at 10:21 am

    looks like a great pedal to try!

  153. Joe Thomas

    September 12, 2014 at 10:08 am

    Yes!!!!!! What an awesome interface!

  154. Dalton Kennerly

    September 12, 2014 at 9:30 am

    Whoa, dual joystick fuzz and trem? I could make some serious racket with this guy…

  155. Logan Norris

    September 12, 2014 at 7:48 am

    One of the best fuzz pedals I’ve heard! And I love the joy stick controls knobs! Such a cool pedal!

  156. Ian Pritchard

    September 11, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    One of the most unique pedals out there. So many possibities!

  157. Bristol Broussard

    September 11, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    Love it.

  158. Blane Howard

    September 11, 2014 at 11:29 am

    The marriage of style/design and performance on this pedal is sheer perfection. Must have.

  159. Ryan

    September 11, 2014 at 5:23 am

    The design team at Walrus is off their freakin rocker. What amazing exploration and innovation they’ve managed to pack into these stomp boxes.

    Every time someone says “guitar rock is played out,” a new Walrus pedal gets its wings.

  160. don hutchko

    September 11, 2014 at 3:08 am

    One of a kind for sure

  161. Peter Teipe

    September 10, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Never seen a fuzz / tremolo combination before with dual joysticks for adjustments… both the fuzz and tremolo are LEGIT. I’d love to win this and rock my Baritone Guitar through it to chop down some trees!!

  162. Robert

    September 10, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Amazing sounding pedal. Would love to have one for myself

  163. Charles

    September 9, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    I love everything about this pedal! From the joystick controls to the amazing artwork on it – not only does this pedal look good, but it sounds GREAT! I’d love to make this an addition to my current sound-scape set up and see what creative noise I can make.

  164. Cody

    September 9, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    I’ve seen walrus pedals in action and have been very impressed! Great tone with any setup.

  165. Jamie

    September 9, 2014 at 11:54 am

    This thing might put my Big Muff out of business! This thing is amazing! I LOVE THE JOYSTICKS!

    Walrus 4 life!

  166. Jeremy

    September 9, 2014 at 7:56 am

    Entering the giveaway – those joysticks are calling out to me. Always been one of my favorite methods of controlling parameters. Very innovative and interesting pedal. Fingers crossed!

  167. David

    September 9, 2014 at 7:17 am

    Joystick fuzz pleases the fuzz around my joystick.

  168. Victor C

    September 8, 2014 at 9:58 pm

    The joystick feature is so smooth and intuitive.

  169. Jim Lipscomb

    September 8, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Wow this pedal has two things I crave: Joysticks and Fuzz!

  170. Dominik Šandor

    September 8, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    Insane combination

  171. Derek White

    September 8, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Best artwork I’ve seen on a pedal.

  172. Mayse Peralta

    September 8, 2014 at 6:34 am

    I really want this amazing sound in my pedalboard!!!!

  173. Raul Navarro

    September 8, 2014 at 6:31 am

    WOW! … Great Pedal!

  174. Jimmy

    September 8, 2014 at 5:27 am

    Those joysticks look awesome, more pedals should incorporate this. Sounds awesome and looks awesome.

  175. dylan perkins

    September 7, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    The hypest shit on youtube

  176. Andreas

    September 7, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    Really an innovative design – both sound-wise (thats my guess) and graphically! I would love to have that in my pedal arsenal – I would love to have it in a studio.

    I only have 1 concern – can the joysticks hold up with a lot of live usage. I would love to test it!

  177. Reid

    September 7, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    I have wanted to add some fuzz to my guitar loop for a while now and adding some tremolo too would be f@#$ing awesome. The joystick controls and the amount of other controls make me sure I can dial it in for the perfect sound, no matter what style I want to play. I can’t afford one of these regularly so winning would make my year!

  178. Carl Martin

    September 7, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Love the joystick controls, very innovative. Would love to own one.

  179. Lennart

    September 7, 2014 at 11:47 am

    I really like the idea of combining fuzz and tremolo. Walrus Audio makes some good pedals!

  180. Thomas McCampbell

    September 7, 2014 at 11:39 am

    I’m kinda wary about joysticks on pedals, but I think the sound out of the Janus convinced me

  181. Henry Whitmer

    September 7, 2014 at 7:06 am

    That fuzz sound is pretty epic. Compounded with the joystick control there seem like a lot of sonic possibilities. Want one!

  182. Julian Nuss

    September 6, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    Been looking for a new fuzz pedal and this one sounds like a winner. The trem is just a bonus.

  183. sergiogpr

    September 6, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    Sounds killer! And those switches are just beyond cool. Want one!!

  184. Blaise Mcfarland

    September 6, 2014 at 8:43 am

    That fuzz blend seems wicked

  185. Ennio Milano

    September 6, 2014 at 7:12 am

    I really like it. I want one now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  186. Gonzalo González

    September 6, 2014 at 6:47 am

    awesomw!!

  187. outpour

    September 6, 2014 at 4:57 am

    That’s nice

    RC flyin

  188. Ron Mason

    September 6, 2014 at 4:22 am

    This is aesthetically the best pedal I have ever seen, and the joysticks are very nice and unique addition. All reviews I’ve read and seen were very positive and I hope I can get my hands on one of these.

  189. Cleamon Jones

    September 5, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    Great and innovative pedal!

  190. Sami

    September 5, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    I was pretty blown away by the sounds Steven Drozd was coming up with in the posted video. I’m not sure what I want more, this or the Descent! (Probably the Descent actually!)

  191. Juliàn

    September 5, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    nice and fun

  192. Jason Herrmann

    September 5, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    What a strange and unique idea. Maybe there’s another pedal that combines these two effects, but I’ve never seen it. And I absolutely love the design, the artwork, and the videogame controller-like joysticks. Super bad ass.

  193. Javi Metal

    September 5, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    Great pedal! I love the joysticks 😀

  194. Dan

    September 5, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    Raddest fuzz ever, dope tremolo, AND sweet graphics?!? Woo!

  195. Luke

    September 5, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    This is probably the number 1 pedal I want right now. It’s so sweet and the Drozd demo was great…I want to work the joysticks! Pick me so I can lol

  196. Brice Steeb

    September 5, 2014 at 7:26 am

    The effects of this pedal are unlike any pedal I’ve seen before. Great sound, fantastic tone, amazing control.

  197. Bob

    September 5, 2014 at 6:36 am

    Great shimmer.

  198. Joel

    September 5, 2014 at 6:00 am

    I want to try to get new sounds in my amp with this!!

  199. Vivek Nair

    September 5, 2014 at 5:21 am

    This has to be the most creative pedal I have seen this year. The joysticks seem to offer a never ending palate of sounds – the only problem I see is remembering settings from gig to gig and accidentally moving the joysticks while playing. The tremolo itself sounds wonderful and hell given the mood I’d buy the pedal for just that alone. Great review.

  200. nicosonic

    September 5, 2014 at 4:55 am

    fun pedal !

  201. Federico

    September 5, 2014 at 4:48 am

    Awsome!! Great combo trem and fuzz together!

  202. Carlos M. Gómez-Escalonilla

    September 5, 2014 at 3:47 am

    The joysticks its a great innovation.

  203. Michael Olivier

    September 5, 2014 at 3:37 am

    This thing is so creative and rad! Please send me one!!!

  204. Prabjit Virdee

    September 5, 2014 at 1:39 am

    Finally a fuzz made for my feet! And trem to dial in classic vibes. Glad they made this pedal so hands on!

  205. Jose Martín

    September 5, 2014 at 12:53 am

    I’ts perfect for me, i need a fuzz.

  206. Nico Kuhz

    September 4, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    The versatility of the Walrus Audio Janus Tremolo/Fuzz is amazing. For me as a Blues-Player the fuzz as well as the trem is an important part of my sound. Having both in one high quality pedal is very cool and usable on stage as well.

    A pedal not only for sound-hunters but also for musicians who need a very good sounding pedal that is easy to use.

    Well done! =)

  207. Josh

    September 4, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    Want! Walrus is doing some innovative stuff!

  208. Chad

    September 4, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    Reminds me of a cusack, pretty neat

  209. Fernando Gabriel Villabrille

    September 4, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Definitely the joystick control for the variables of the effects is pretty interesting and you can play more with them in a easier way. I want one of those!!!

  210. Ian McNee

    September 4, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    Love to win this pedal and would be stoked if I won. Walrus Audio rules

  211. Brandon Highfill

    September 4, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    so cool

  212. Moshe O’Grady

    September 4, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    I want this one too !!!!!!!!

  213. mateusz

    September 4, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Great!

  214. Josh

    September 4, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Really cool! love the joysticks!

  215. Antonio Ramos

    September 4, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    Nice layout, joystick controls, nice sound and walrus quality… i love all about this pedal and i have a free space in my pedalboard reserved for it, that’s why i want JANUS

  216. Ángel

    September 4, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    I Wish this pedal because is like Geminis zodiac sign, with teoría faces of The same coil.

    The perfect pedal.

  217. Logan

    September 4, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Sounds awesome. Love the artwork.

  218. Borja Hernandez

    September 4, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Joysticks rule, this is the reason I wish I had this pedal

  219. Tyler Fogerty

    September 4, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    Nice Joysticks, and mythology. Suitable for godtone

  220. Brian

    September 4, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    Yassss

  221. John

    September 4, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Joystick controls!!! Yes please!!!

  222. Jay

    September 4, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    Want.

  223. Soren Anderson

    September 4, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    Neardy in a awsome way!

    (would be great for recording)

  224. David Harllee

    September 4, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    When the guitarist for Flaming Lips says something is awesome, odds are that it is indeed awesome.

  225. sean

    September 4, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    coooooooooooool

  226. Lucas Haugh

    September 4, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    If Steven thinks it’s good, then I think it’s good.

  227. Bill

    September 4, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    Joysticks? Duh, Awesome.

  228. Stuart Morton

    September 4, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    Foot control of parameters. Brilliant. And having one control let you find the sound you are after. Great idea. I could get lost in there for days. Please.

  229. Jaime Montes

    September 4, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    I love the sound that has. Joysticks control is very interesting. I want it!

  230. NIK IZRIN THANI

    September 4, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Oh man this pedal sounds awesome. The lush fuzz sound and the interesting vibrato works well together. The fact that is uses a joystick makes this so much cooler!

  231. Tom

    September 4, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    joy stick analog controls seem like a great way to get the sound thats in your head very quickly, always good to have modes on the fuzz too

  232. Postfuzz

    September 4, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    This pedal fuzz side with its variety and flexibility

    can give a decent fight to a big muff…

    add in a tremolo to sweeten this deal

    this pedal sounds great and I could

    spent days playing with it!

  233. Jason Asimakis

    September 4, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Interesting controls on this pedal, would love to win this and give it a try.

  234. Nicholas Merz

    September 4, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    I’d love to win this pedal. Two great sounds that are currently missing from my pedalboard!

  235. Nils

    September 4, 2014 at 12:10 pm

    Generally not a fan of 2-in-1 combo pedals, but this one definitely seems to have some very unique sounds going for it!

  236. William

    September 4, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    Looks epic!

  237. Dan Hood

    September 4, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    This looks and sounds like a really high quality combination of sounds and they really work well together. Would love to spend some time exploring this!

  238. Nat

    September 4, 2014 at 11:59 am

    Wouldn’t mind trying that beast…

  239. William

    September 4, 2014 at 11:58 am

    aWESOME

  240. Angel Tejon

    September 4, 2014 at 11:44 am

    Fuzz & Trem “killer” combination !

  241. bob c

    September 4, 2014 at 11:30 am

    I really like the idea of a fuzz built on to the Tremelo. It’s a natural combo and sounds really great here.

  242. András Tóth

    September 4, 2014 at 11:25 am

    Yiss :3 love it!!!

  243. Michael Schenk

    September 4, 2014 at 11:24 am

    Wow, this thing looks awesome!

  244. Kyle Roy

    September 4, 2014 at 11:22 am

    Love Walrus Audio, and I don’t have a weird fuzz on my board yet.

  245. Britt Guerlain

    September 4, 2014 at 11:18 am

    Probably one of the best pedals on the market!

    Space on my pedal board now!

  246. David Polidoro

    September 4, 2014 at 11:15 am

    love the way the Janus sounds. and you really can’t go wrong with a dual joystick fuzz pedal with modulation. I’d love to have one of these on my board. it would definitely get a lot of usage for sure.

  247. Brendan Stone

    September 4, 2014 at 11:10 am

    I’ve always wanted to try one of these. Just rad looking and the demos I’ve watched were awesome.

  248. Jordan Rodriguez

    September 4, 2014 at 11:08 am

    Super innovative pedal. Looks like a lot of fun to mess with.

  249. Kelly

    September 4, 2014 at 11:07 am

    Very innovative, a new take on fuzz! Love the controls.

  250. Morten

    September 4, 2014 at 11:05 am

    I’d imagine this would be killer for synth too

  251. Patrick Gundran

    September 4, 2014 at 11:04 am

    Great review! Drooling thinking of the sounds I could make. NEED!!!

  252. Carlos Loor

    September 4, 2014 at 11:01 am

    experimental at it´s best! great for chopper effects, me want!!

  253. John Niespodzianski

    September 4, 2014 at 10:58 am

    So many sonic options, I want one!

  254. Honza Čapek

    September 4, 2014 at 10:57 am

    I can absolutely imagine using this as a tabletop device for loop and synth manipulation 🙂 Sweet!

  255. daniel

    September 4, 2014 at 10:52 am

    Walrus make some of the greatest pedals

  256. Razvan Lazea-Postelnicu

    September 4, 2014 at 9:24 am

    Fun on synths!

  257. Chris

    September 4, 2014 at 5:04 am

    Wow! Cool review… would love to try the joystick controls out… seems like you could get some amazing sounds from this!!

  258. eric

    September 4, 2014 at 3:22 am

    Man, now this one I would love to try out. I can only imagine how many different possibilities those joystics could give.

  259. Ben Sticpewich

    September 4, 2014 at 2:47 am

    2 joysticks!!!?

    Fly it into the DEATH STAR and use the Force…

    Thats joy on a stick.

  260. Chris Mckendrick

    September 4, 2014 at 1:07 am

    I’ve never seen anything quite like this in a pedal, I would be very excited and curious to get my hands on one!

  261. Mark Walker

    September 3, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    Its unique and definitely intriguing. And fuzz is always awesome

  262. Kevin L. Gibbs

    September 3, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Awesome pedal effect and I could use the fuzz!!! Thanks for the opportunity! 😀

  263. Shane

    September 3, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    I’ve only recently gotten in to fuzz pedals and love it, the joystick idea on this is so interesting. At least it’s better than all the clones out there.

  264. Davey

    September 3, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    Cool review, it looks awesome, I want one!

  265. Deaner

    September 3, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    Do the joysticks make this difficult to use as a floor pedal?

  266. Oli Richings

    September 3, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    This is so insane but so well thought out and well designed. I want it

  267. Ryan

    September 3, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Hopin’ to play with this guy soon!

  268. Vince

    September 3, 2014 at 10:23 am

    I could play for hours with this thing.

  269. Starry Walsh

    September 3, 2014 at 9:48 am

    Grat review and great giveaway 😀

  270. Annie

    September 3, 2014 at 9:41 am

    Janus fuzz with Joysticks! I would lose my mind

  271. Jade F

    September 3, 2014 at 9:36 am

    Fuzz and tremolo madness in a unique walrus audio pedal. Imposssibru!! They are amazing.

  272. Stephen P

    September 3, 2014 at 7:25 am

    Love how unique this pedal is. Who thinks to use joysticks? It’s an awesome idea.

  273. mr ben

    September 3, 2014 at 5:35 am

    janus, my two favourite effects types rolled into one. Definitely at the top of my “want” list

  274. Manuel Cordero Rodriguez

    September 3, 2014 at 5:07 am

    Fuzz plus tremolo, is Awesome!!!!

  275. Josh Richards

    September 3, 2014 at 4:48 am

    I could get lost with this for hours.

  276. Dejan Slak

    September 3, 2014 at 4:48 am

    super sonic fuzz…yeahhh

  277. Alfonso

    September 3, 2014 at 3:33 am

    Cool for experimenting, but not so to use it as a fixed fuzz pedal. Anyway, what I see as the most cool feature is having the chance to melt fuzz sounds with tremolo.

  278. Gísli Gunnarsson

    September 3, 2014 at 3:05 am

    Those joysticks are asking to be fiddled with >:D

  279. Fred Mendes

    September 3, 2014 at 3:00 am

    Walrus Audio certainly made a masterpiece on this one, and the concept is brilliant, the double faced goddess. Sound´s so beautiful but at the same time so dirty, like some kind of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde vibe hehehe ! Never heard about Walrus Audio before now, a total wake up call for me hehe Will totally check their other works.

  280. Patrick Clark

    September 3, 2014 at 1:35 am

    The Steven Drozd demo actually prompted me to seek out the pocket piano used in the video. It just looks like a lot of fun and could be a valuable tool in creating songs and guitar riffs.

  281. duncan

    September 3, 2014 at 12:51 am

    pedal looks awesome, sounds awesome, is awesome. I could do some serious damage with one of these.

  282. Adam Waters

    September 3, 2014 at 12:46 am

    The joystick idea is pretty cool. I love how easily it can be played around with whilst playing. Although pretty irrelevant I have to comment on the artwork, so sick.

  283. Rodger

    September 3, 2014 at 12:00 am

    Oh man! Toggle switches? What will they think of next? This is the first time I heard of Janus. Best Guitar Effects finds the best pedals. Period.

  284. Layne

    September 2, 2014 at 11:46 pm

    Janus sounds great. The joystick seems to be a good tool to experiment with the sound.

  285. Kyle nadeau

    September 2, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    Have wanted this pedal since it came out, my two favorite effects that are highly controllable in one pedal. The fuzz and tremolo could easily stand on their own as great boutique pedals, but together this is a one of a kind monster. This is going to make someone extremely happy

  286. Taylor Sampson

    September 2, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    The Janus can possibly, maybe, finally be mine. So in love with this thing.

  287. Landon Olesen

    September 2, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    Ze fuzzzzz iz ze zest

  288. Dave

    September 2, 2014 at 9:16 pm

    STEVEN DROZD MAKES ME WANT THIS

  289. Mattson

    September 2, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    That is an awesome pedal. Love the joysticks and the fuzz sounds like creamy goodness. Throbbing fuzz!

  290. Lee Morse

    September 2, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    Whoa! What a COOL looking pedal! Love the graphics. Love the idea of the control joystick! I can’t wait to experiment and see what colours I can pull out of this thing!!!!

  291. Robert Abernathy

    September 2, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    Amazing combination… – you gotta love a fuzz pedal with a blend knob!

  292. Tristan

    September 2, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    I love that the tone is shaped by joysticks!

  293. John

    September 2, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    That’s the most un-gimmicky joystick using pedal I’ve seen. Seems really positively useful here.

  294. Sam M

    September 2, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    A very interesting pairing of effects.

  295. Chris Aguilar

    September 2, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    I’ve wanted this pedal since the first time I heard it. Enter me twice!

  296. Brent Johnston

    September 2, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    A very interesting combination

  297. Dan S.

    September 2, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    Great sounds and the joystick just makes it stand out even more.

  298. Jacob A

    September 2, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    I’ve had a go with this at a friends pedalboard and its by far the most fun I’ve had with a stompbox! I’m eager to get my hands on one.

  299. Adrian

    September 2, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    trem + fuzz + joysticks = fun!

  300. Peter Homoki

    September 2, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    mad

  301. Luke I

    September 2, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    My Volca Bass stares longingly that those joysticks. The Sonic Equivalent of Street Fighter, yes please.

  302. Matt Baker

    September 2, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    Hell yes, I will let you give me one of these!

  303. Douglas

    September 2, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Help me help you. Would LOVE to add this to my mini-colletion of pedals. Maybe I’ll get lucky this time.

  304. Bertram D

    September 2, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    I’ve been watching this pedal since its release… I wish I’d have the opportunity to try one, it’s not something you buy on a whim, but that seems to be quite the pedal I need…

  305. Roel

    September 2, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    That’s an oddly cool combination!

  306. Alan

    September 2, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    This is on my wish list.

  307. Gary

    September 2, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    What a beast of a pedal. Love it

  308. Matt Collins

    September 2, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    The expression pedal qualities of this (with the joysticks) make it fascinating.

  309. Simon Thomas

    September 2, 2014 at 11:14 am

    Fuzz and tremolo. What’s not to like!

  310. Dylan Thomas

    September 2, 2014 at 10:40 am

    Amazing pedal. Would love to have this on my board. Thank you so much for having these giveaways!

  311. Brent S

    September 2, 2014 at 9:56 am

    What a cool pedal! Both sides sound great, but the fuzz is really impressive. Thanks!

  312. Ham

    September 2, 2014 at 9:54 am

    amazing. I’d love to play with one of these.

  313. Ohad

    September 2, 2014 at 9:49 am

    This one definitely takes the best design award.

  314. Oscar Cardel

    September 2, 2014 at 9:43 am

    It’s one of the pedals I’ve always wanted to experiment with. One of these days, I hope so…

  315. eric scherer

    September 2, 2014 at 9:38 am

    i have the walrus voyager and it is great. ive demoed this and it is on my dream list.

  316. Yair Hollander

    September 2, 2014 at 9:35 am

    Never heard of this company so this will be a good start.

  317. Adam Jensen

    September 2, 2014 at 9:34 am

    The joystick controls look pretty awesome and like a lot of fun to control! This would be a great pedal to play with.

  318. Dakota

    September 2, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Had a chance to demo this once – it is ridiculous.

    Want.

  319. berko

    September 2, 2014 at 9:12 am

    i would use the funky little joysticks on this bundle of joy to drive my neighbors insane

  320. odieux fonzie

    September 2, 2014 at 8:58 am

    I am the walrus.

  321. Sammy Yi

    September 2, 2014 at 8:53 am

    Walrus Audio just won’t stop! What monstrous nonsense I could create with this piece. I gotta watch it again!

  322. John

    September 2, 2014 at 8:49 am

    I like unusual pedal combos. I bet there are hours of experimentation with this one.

  323. Aaron

    September 2, 2014 at 8:46 am

    Those joysticks are really innovative.

  324. Gianluca M.

    September 2, 2014 at 8:37 am

    Fantastic! High quality and really good tone!

  325. Joshua

    September 2, 2014 at 8:24 am

    Will it work with my RC cars?

  326. Cody B

    September 2, 2014 at 8:12 am

    This is amazing!

  327. RyanS

    September 2, 2014 at 8:07 am

    Fuzz and Tremolo? Yes please! A great combination.

  328. Jon Willoughby

    September 2, 2014 at 8:05 am

    Loving the sound of this for the fuzz alone! The combination with tremolo is bizarre and inspired!

  329. Eric L

    September 2, 2014 at 7:51 am

    The Janus has been on my gas list for my tabletop noise board. The joysticks would be perfect

  330. Logan Charles

    September 2, 2014 at 7:47 am

    Hey guys!

    Amazing pedal, and equally fantastic review. Very in-depth. I’d absolutely love to win the Janus, as it’s something I’ve been considering for awhile that I’d use for shows with my band all the time. Love the sound, love the joysticks, love the artwork. Walrus is fast becoming my favorite pedal brand. Like I said earlier- this pedal would work perfectly on my board, so I’d love to win. Thanks guys!!

    -Logan

  331. Seth O.

    September 2, 2014 at 7:41 am

    This one sounds pretty awesome, also congrats to the big 10 winners from last month!

  332. Larry

    September 2, 2014 at 7:36 am

    the graphics are actually pretty sweet

  333. Matteo De Feo

    September 2, 2014 at 7:33 am

    Incredible pedal!

  334. Jack

    September 2, 2014 at 7:27 am

    This pedal looks and sounds awesome. I would love to replace my current tremolo with this one. It would also go well with my Walrus Audio Deep Six Compressor.

  335. Charles

    September 2, 2014 at 7:19 am

    Not sure if it’s something I’d ever want to buy, but I’d love to win it!

  336. David F.

    September 2, 2014 at 7:16 am

    Whoa! Aside from looking freakishly cool it sounds so…smooth! I really want one of these, it’s like a video game controller, ha ha!!

  337. zillah

    September 2, 2014 at 7:01 am

    Two of my favourite effects, with high quality sound and an awesome form factor! <3

  338. labellypoke

    September 2, 2014 at 6:57 am

    The sonic possibilities…

  339. Mo Gottschall

    September 2, 2014 at 6:54 am

    This pedal looks and sounds really sweet. And I need a tremolo pedal

  340. Martin

    September 2, 2014 at 6:45 am

    Man that is something else. Different kind of expression pedal for sure if you can control it with your foot. would love to see more pedals with that joystick affair if it can be. Nice one. thanks as always

  341. Ben Anderson

    September 2, 2014 at 6:40 am

    I’ve been looking at this pedal for quite some time. Would be sweet to win it!

  342. Ted Gomez

    September 2, 2014 at 6:25 am

    Loved the video, yea I could see myself rockin’ this pedal. been looking for a fuzz that has more than just tone and volume for controls. This could be the one! Trem side has a lot to offer also, winner winner on this one!

  343. Thomas

    September 2, 2014 at 6:25 am

    Man those guys over at Walrus audio know how to make some insane artwork. Looks stunning.

    Also: joysticks. What else could you possibly want from a pedal. I’m sold.

  344. arbel

    September 2, 2014 at 6:24 am

    joysticks on a pedal. now that’s one dangerous combination//

  345. Brian

    September 2, 2014 at 6:24 am

    What?! I need this.

  346. Malte

    September 2, 2014 at 6:20 am

    best gamepad ever 😀

  347. Mike H

    September 2, 2014 at 6:15 am

    Knobs AND joysticks!? How do I resist?

  348. Ryan Begley

    September 2, 2014 at 6:15 am

    This would seriously be amazing!

  349. MattSDC

    September 2, 2014 at 6:13 am

    I’ve recently been looking a bit more at both trem and fuzz pedals. This is an interesting idea.

  350. Ryan Begley

    September 2, 2014 at 6:13 am

    Pretty sure I could rule the world with this pedal.

  351. duncan

    September 2, 2014 at 6:12 am

    this pedal sounds insane, looks insane, is insane. reckon I could do some deadly things with it.

  352. Kyle R

    September 2, 2014 at 6:11 am

    Another cool pedal. I like the “in and out” chopping with the fuzz. Wish I had one :/

  353. Goran

    September 2, 2014 at 6:01 am

    Now, this is something new, I like it!

  354. willowhaus

    September 2, 2014 at 5:19 am

    Joysticks, huh? That’s pretty wacky!

  355. Geoff

    September 2, 2014 at 5:08 am

    Walrus Audio have some of the best effects on the planet and this one’s no exception! Choppy fuzz with joystick controls – what could be more cool?!

  356. Fabio S

    September 2, 2014 at 4:30 am

    give it to the god of fuzz! Me

  357. Jamae Breeze

    September 2, 2014 at 12:15 am

    What?! Joysticks!? That might be the coolest thing I’ve ever seen. This pedal is really cool! I’ve been looking for an amazing fuzz pedal and I’ve found it! And it comes with an equally amazing tremolo! It doesn’t get better than that. This pedal is killer!

  358. The Bobbert

    July 27, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    That pedal is glorious

  359. greg

    March 1, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    Lot’s of versatility with this pedal!

  360. Paul

    February 24, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    The pedal seems like so much… and GREAT review! Super helpful

  361. mike

    November 5, 2013 at 12:21 am

    This is possibly one of the most over the top creations I’ve come across and clearly more than just having a fuzz and trem in the chain. Lots of possibilities here, and joysticks? Great touch 🙂

  362. Edson

    October 20, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    The fuzz seemed pretty awesome. I liked the joystick concept instead of two knobs.

    Is the fuzz part the same as the Jupiter Fuzz?

    • Jim Mumford

      September 2, 2014 at 7:00 am

      WANT 1!!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.