Xotic SP Compressor Review – Best Guitar Compression Pedal?

Review of: Xotic Effects SP Compressor


Reviewed by: Rating:5On July 2, 2013Last modified:October 6, 2016


Summary:

Xotic-SP-Compressor-Review-Best-Guitar-Compression-Pedal-02

There are many guitar compression pedals available on the market, several of which seek to emulate and surpass the famed Ross Compressor. Xotic decided to have a go at creating a compressor in the vein of that classic pedal while adding more versatility and sound-shaping options than most pedal makers have ever packed into such a small enclosure. Is this the best guitar compression pedal out there? Our Xotic SP Compressor review will help you decide if this is the compression pedal you’re looking for.

Features:

Xotic-SP-Compressor-Review-Best-Guitar-Compression-Pedal-01

Uses the same OTA (operational transconductance amplifier) technology use in the famed Ross Compressor.

Tones ranging from vintage, to subtle, to modern, and more.

Volume knob for up to +15db of boost.

Blend knob for finding the perfect balance between the dry and compressed signal.

2 Attack/Release internal dip switches.

High Cut Filter internal dip switch for controlling high frequency roll off capacitor (220pf).

Input Pad internal dip switch for preventing distortion and low cut filter control.

True bypass for eliminating any signal interference when switched off.

Powered by 9-volt batter or 9VDC power adapter. May also be run at 18-volts with the Xotic Voltage Doubler.

Visit Xotic for more info about the Xotic SP Compressor.

See the lowest price on Amazon.

See the lowest price on eBay.

Sound & Performance:

I had a feeling this was going to be a really interesting pedal right when I pulled it out of the box. The Xotic SP Compressor has a real simple, yet sleek look, similar to the Xotic EP Booster and Xotic SL Drive pedals. It’s also surprisingly heavy for such a tiny little pedal. You instantly get the feeling that Xotic built a real solid and durable pedal. This isn’t some low-budget knock-off pedal.

Having a glance at the included manual reveals that this pedal contains 4 internal two-way dip switches in addition to the 2 surface knobs and three-way Lo/Mid/Hi toggle switch for a total of 7 parameter adjustment controls. That’s a lot of options for such a small unit. You can really tell that Xotic spared no consideration for offering the most versatility they could squeeze into the SP Compressor.

I went ahead and unscrewed the bottom of the enclosure to allow instant access to shaping my tone while testing this pedal for my review. I recommend doing the same when you un-box your SP Compressor to spend some time finding your preferred settings. Although, it does sound pretty great in it’s default settings. You may just want to leave it as is.

Xotic-SP-Compressor-Review-Best-Guitar-Compression-Pedal-03I started with a single-coil Strat sound with a clean amp and the SP Compressor in between. With the knobs on the pedal at noon and the Sustain/Compression toggle switch set to Lo, I activated the effect and was greeted to a nice boost in volume.

At this setting the compression is quite subtle, but there is a slight increase in sustain. Tweaking the Volume and Blend knobs in the range of 10 to 2 o’clock helps to find a good amount of blended compression level. The effect is smooth and pleasing to the ears, and this is a great starter setting for adding just a bit of clarity and boost to your clean phrasing.

Things get a bit more interesting by flipping the Sustain/Compression switch to the Mid position. With the internal dip switches at their default position this puts you in what the SP Compressor manual labels as a Classic Vintage style compression. I find this setting to be a great all-around compression sound for most applications.

Again, just a slight tweak of the Blend knob really lets you dial in the compression just the way you like it. The Blend knob really is the most ingenious function on this pedal and really sets the Xotic SP Compressor apart in a crowded market. This pedal really is something special and is surely to become a secret weapon of many guitarists. Did I mention the pure, near-transparent tone? For an OTA style comp it’s not as overly colored as some lesser compressor guitar pedals.

Flipping the internal Attack/Release dip switches to the On position for quicker attack and release times brings in the twang if country-style compression is what you’re after. Flip the High Cut filter dip switch from its default position if you want to make your sound even brighter. Watch out though. This pedal really cuts though. The SP Compressor never ceases to amaze me with how much control it offers for crafting your ideal compression sound.

The SP Compressor works exceptionally well for really making your lead sounds cut through with singing sustain. Try it with a humbucker equipped guitar for some really fat sounds. Flipping the Compression/Sustain switch to Hi may raise the noise level a bit too much for most clean applications, but it may just be perfect for your gain-saturated guitar solos. No matter what your compression needs may be, there is a setting to be found in this pedal that will get the job done.

If you’re a session player who travels light when it comes to effects, you may appreciate that this pedal is so tiny while still offering 9-volt battery power. Huge tonal options, minuscule size, and plug-and-play convenience. The SP Compressor is hard to beat in every category.

UPDATE: I had the opportunity to try the Xotic SP Compressor with the Xotic Voltage Doubler (as seen in the video above). This allows you to achieve even more headroom from the pedal. It’s definitely worth trying as it provides a subtle sonic upgrade to what is already a great sounding compressor. The difference isn’t night and day, but it’s certainly noticeable and may offer a sound that you like even more. You can also use the Xotic Voltage Doubler with the Xotic EP Booster and SL Drive (and other 18-volt compatible pedals), making it a useful accessory to have indeed.

Let’s have the final result.

Xotic-SP-Compressor-Review-Best-Guitar-Compression-Pedal-04

Overall-Rating-5.0

Xotic really went all out with the SP Compressor. This pedal offers more versatility than most compressors out there while remaining small enough to find a home on any crowded pedalboard. Whether playing sparkly cleans or distorted leads, the SP Compressor will bring your tones to life with unrivaled clarity. The SP Compressor has positioned itself in the top tier of the battle for best guitar compression pedal on the market. This may just be the only compressor you ever need. I’ll be spending a lot more time with this pedal myself. I suggest you get acquainted with it, also.

That concludes our Xotic SP Compressor review. Thanks for reading.

 

Want to buy the Xotic SP Compressor?

See The Lowest Price On Amazon

See The Lowest Price On eBay

Gabriel Tanaka

COMMENTS

  1. Mustafa

    March 24, 2017 at 7:26 am

    How does SP Compressor compare with Mini Ego Compressor?

  2. Delaney

    November 11, 2015 at 7:44 am

    I think I need a compressor.

  3. Mr Sames

    October 9, 2014 at 2:52 am

    Am looking for a guitar compressor to set up and one of my friend recommend me to use a exotic sp compressor and after reading reviews and this video its make me more excited to implement soon.

  4. Stan Soval

    September 18, 2014 at 10:42 am

    “The Blend knob really is the most ingenious function on this pedal and really sets the Xotic SP Compressor apart in a crowded market. ” The blend feature on pedal compressors was around for nearly a decade before the SP, funny that it should make Xotic seem “”ingenious” or “set apart”…homework time!

  5. google

    July 3, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is just placing

    the other person’s blog link on your page at proper place and

    other person will also do same in support of you.

  6. Michal

    June 21, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across

    this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.

    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  7. Dennis Guiney

    February 27, 2014 at 7:21 pm

    I just got the Xotic SL, this would be a perfect compliment to it!

  8. Sammy

    January 31, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    This definitely seems more appealing as a clean boost. Never been too big on compressors otherwise

  9. Vince

    January 31, 2014 at 10:42 am

    Pick me!

  10. alan

    January 31, 2014 at 7:05 am

    Never tried a compresor….

  11. Seth

    January 30, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Thanks for great review, really hoping to win!

  12. Andrea Pagnoni

    January 30, 2014 at 11:57 am

    Utility, good quality compression and small dimensions all in one.

  13. Skeith00

    January 30, 2014 at 7:22 am

    In my opinion this is the best between these Xotic small beauties. It’s transparent and plenty with option. This is really great. A must, and a need.

  14. Dan Wilhite

    January 29, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    I’m definitely picking one of these up!

  15. Igor

    January 29, 2014 at 11:18 am

    Love that one! Sounds great!

  16. John Varney

    January 29, 2014 at 6:53 am

    Packs a lot of punch! Love to have one!

  17. Sam

    January 29, 2014 at 6:19 am

    Look like a good pedal for some funky riffs.

    Would look nice on my pedalboard

  18. Cynthia Alvarez

    January 28, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    Looking to start a pedal board and this would be a great first pedal!!

  19. Daniel Szalay

    January 28, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    This is on my “Must Have / Will Have” list for 2014!

  20. Trent

    January 28, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    Mmmmmm… yes please.

  21. Ryan Opel

    January 28, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Perfect for taps, I’m in.

  22. Alan Grimes

    January 28, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    Just the compressor I need, perfect for slinky singing slide!

  23. bob786

    January 28, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    great demo. looking into one…

  24. Nils

    January 28, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Demo’s sound great, I need one!

  25. will

    January 28, 2014 at 11:30 am

    i would enjoy a compression pedal for the ambient stuff i play, to get some more sustain. but being an ambient guitar player means pedal board space is scarce. maybe this little compressor would be a nice fit, good quality and small footprint.

  26. Steph

    January 28, 2014 at 11:11 am

    Don’t have a compressor yet and would love this little small wonder.

    Steph

  27. xrussianx

    January 28, 2014 at 10:29 am

    love the small footprint and looks amazing!!

  28. Marc

    January 28, 2014 at 9:32 am

    mo pedals mo problems. but this is the exception.

  29. Tom

    January 28, 2014 at 9:27 am

    This is the way pedals SHOULD be made. I have a TC Electronics Mini Poly Tune and Mini Hof on the board. I laugh at the clowns that crave vintage refrigerators that create noise. Welcome to the future. Thanks for the great review!

  30. Jeremy R.

    January 28, 2014 at 8:41 am

    My pedalboard barely has room for any other pedals, and could also use a compression pedal. This would be perfect!

  31. Kevin Dueer

    January 28, 2014 at 8:33 am

    I could really use one of these!

  32. Frederick

    January 28, 2014 at 8:27 am

    It took me so long to figure out what a compressor does… now that I know I want!

  33. Alain Robert

    January 28, 2014 at 8:19 am

    Must have!

  34. kklee100

    January 28, 2014 at 7:38 am

    Awesome compressor pedal!!

  35. Tom

    January 28, 2014 at 7:25 am

    This would take up less space than the JHS “Pulp n peel” on the pedal board. It would be nice to have.

  36. Joseph Earl

    January 28, 2014 at 7:17 am

    I’d give it a shot

  37. Will

    January 28, 2014 at 6:56 am

    I’ve been using the SP Compressor since it came out. It was the perfect compressor for my needs. First of all it fits perfectly on Pedaltrain above an Ernie Ball VP Jr without cables getting wrapped up. Secondly, the blend feature is awesome. It really allows it to sound transparent without the obvious unnatural squashed sound. I’ve gone through probably 10 compressors and this is the one I’m sticking with for a qhile.

  38. Achille

    January 28, 2014 at 6:54 am

    Great size for the pedal board, cant wait to try one!!

  39. Chris

    January 28, 2014 at 6:51 am

    These sound good. I could really use a good small compressor for my very crowded board.

  40. dave a

    January 28, 2014 at 6:15 am

    nice lookin comp, if it’s as quality as some of the other comps i’d love to try it

  41. Dale Randall

    January 28, 2014 at 6:04 am

    Awesome peal, I’ll take one please!

  42. Bob Taylor

    January 27, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    Just watched Mike Thompson Video about this pedal and it sounded like heaven. I will be dreaming of this pedal tonight.

  43. Zac

    January 27, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    More sustain on distorted effects sounds good to me! This pedal could really be awesome to try!

  44. Marc

    January 27, 2014 at 1:25 pm

    Can’t help but love the fact that they are making pedals smaller and smaller. Just means I can fit more on my pedalboard!

  45. Bob Dodge

    January 27, 2014 at 10:26 am

    Transparency in a pint-sized case? Xotic nailed it with this one. The SP is a must-have comp.

  46. Andrey

    January 27, 2014 at 12:47 am

    I’m pretty sure you can get some great tones out of this pedal:)

  47. Lee

    January 26, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    I have really wanted this pedal since the first review I read. I had hoped to win it before. Please let me win it now.

  48. Bill Barry

    January 26, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    As soon as I started looking at compression/sustain pedals, the SP jumped right out at me and I haven’t been able to find a bad review yet. It’s the perfect compact size for my increasingly crowded board and seems to do its job without a bunch of unnecessary bells and whistles.

  49. Pgbouchard

    January 26, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    Good ! you don’t have to ”compress” your pedalboard anymore to have a good tone ! 🙂 Sweet pedal 😛

  50. Bill Siepierski

    January 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

    Sweet!

  51. Carl Martin

    January 25, 2014 at 10:39 am

    I really need one of those and the size is perfect.

  52. Luka

    January 25, 2014 at 7:42 am

    I like the fact that it’s so small. reminds me of those Mooers. I wonder who first thought of this design?

  53. hugo

    January 25, 2014 at 5:47 am

    so cool i want it!

  54. Alexander Ivchenko

    January 24, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    Absolutely fantastic sounding device. My friends owns one, so believe me, I do know what I’m talking about. I have marshall ed-1 and no comparison is even possible..

  55. Dominik Šandor

    January 24, 2014 at 10:44 am

    My fat fuzz factory needs to be tamed , this compressor have guts and power to do it

  56. Conner Johnson

    January 23, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    “Secret weapon” hits the nail on the head. I’d really love one of these, it would give the beards of my germanium fuzzes a well needed goatee!

  57. leonardo

    January 22, 2014 at 10:22 pm

    Me WANT this SP Compresisor pedal!!

    read many review about how good it is, the small enclosure was easy to cramped to my crowded pedalboard

  58. Connor

    January 22, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    Love everything about this pedal. Its great how it can get that snappiness without that muddy clip at the attack stage. And the classiest enclosure I’ve ever seen.

  59. Szczepan

    January 22, 2014 at 2:25 am

    sounds interesting

  60. Brendan

    January 21, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    Buddy of mine agrees with you about this compressor, it’s become one of his always on pedals. I need to get him to loan it to me!

  61. Peter

    January 21, 2014 at 4:37 am

    I’d really like to try this one out in person.

    Thanks for the review!

  62. Zac Hogan

    January 20, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    Great Compression pedal! I heard the guitarist from Aerosmith just loves it and I really badly want it! Good review also by the way!

  63. Yair Hollander

    January 18, 2014 at 1:04 am

    Great Compression pedal, I’m sure.

    I liked the review.

    Thank you.

  64. Tijana

    January 17, 2014 at 10:23 am

    I would like to have this one!! 🙂

  65. Adam

    January 17, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Wow, a 5-star compressor? I’ll have to try it. I’ve been looking to upgrade from my boss cs-5, and would love a compressor that offers the kind of clarity this supposes.

  66. Jordan

    January 16, 2014 at 10:36 am

    Sound, size, high quality components, all gotten right with with this pedal. Exotic is just alright with me, exotic is just alright oh yeah!

  67. Pavle Bodi

    January 14, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    Great pedal!

    What I really like about these xotic pedals is how compact they are!

  68. Farai

    January 14, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    After watching Paul Jackson Jr’s review on this tiny yet power compressor I new I had to get one for myself.I want this! I want this! I want this!

  69. Russ Mains

    January 14, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    I’ve been looking for a good compressor. I’d love to try it out.

  70. Manos

    January 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    Bob you are in my mind man, damn I want this pretty bad

  71. brent stewart

    January 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    another winner – great design, small footprint, high fidelity. Yes, please!

  72. Bob

    January 12, 2014 at 12:25 pm

    Anyone tried this pedal with harmonica?

  73. Alex

    January 10, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    would love to own one! replace my old boss too noisy

  74. Léopold

    January 10, 2014 at 5:50 am

    The low/mid compression would be great on my tele =) My actual Malekko makes sharp treble..

  75. Mark Dally

    January 9, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    Sounds like a perfect replacement for my Redwitch Grace Compressor, a rad pedal which I stupidly fried with a positive tip power supply that has now been taken to with a hammer.

    Please pity the fool

  76. Mattson

    January 9, 2014 at 4:40 pm

    That’s a lotta squeeze from a tiny box

  77. Rafael Alves

    January 8, 2014 at 11:07 pm

    almost unbeliviable that toy can make this…

  78. alexis

    January 8, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    rebuilding my pedal board and this is definitely on the list.

  79. WEI-CHEN CHENG

    January 8, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    Already got one, but don’t mind getting another.

  80. Brian

    January 8, 2014 at 3:28 pm

    I’ve been in the market for a compressor and after reading/watching this pedal’s review I am smitten. Xotic’s pedals work together and compliment each other quite nicely.

  81. Joshua Place

    January 8, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    After reading the review, this pedal is EXACTLY what I need for my current board.

    The interesting dynamic this Compressor will give me just may set me apart the way I have have looking for.

    Great review, keep up the good work. So nice to come to a site where you can find so much great information all in one spot!

    Hopefully I will be able to pick one of these up soon!

  82. Dovlex

    January 8, 2014 at 2:03 am

    beautiful !

  83. Peter Homoki

    January 7, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    nice white

  84. Carolina S

    January 7, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    This one is soo pretty! :3

  85. Miguel Batalha

    January 7, 2014 at 11:50 am

    This thing fits on my pocket yet its quality isn’t effected.

    • Miguel Batalha

      January 7, 2014 at 11:54 am

      affected*

  86. jeff ledoux

    January 7, 2014 at 11:21 am

    sounds awesome; i don’t have a lot of experience with compressors, but maybe i need to give this a try

  87. Stephen

    January 6, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    xotic makes some beautiful pedals, both tonally and visually. Love em.

  88. David

    January 6, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    Always struggle to find a good compressor that ends up staying on my board. This little one sounds like it might have the versatility and sound quality to stay. Great review again guys.

  89. Jordan

    January 6, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Sounds great! And not just because I want to win.

  90. zillah

    January 6, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    I really like the different bands of compression singled out.~.

  91. Jeremiah

    January 6, 2014 at 11:49 am

    Serious little compressor right here. Awesome job.

  92. jon

    January 6, 2014 at 10:23 am

    A well-utilized compressor can be a guitarist’s best friend! I can’t wait to try one out.

  93. Andrew

    January 6, 2014 at 4:42 am

    Love the pedal!! Great review, very informative! Makes me want this pedal even more!

  94. Nathan Bell

    January 5, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    Very Insightfull, would love to add all 3 of these on my board!!

  95. hugo

    January 5, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    i want this on my pedalboard!!

  96. Sherman

    January 5, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    good sounds. Haven’t had a compressor in years but I’m using more and more clean tones. I’ll have to check this out

  97. Gene

    January 5, 2014 at 11:35 am

    Serious little compressor…

  98. Chris Faricy

    January 4, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    Compressors are tricky. Some sound great in the effects loop and others work best in the up front effects chain ….I would LOVE to see if the SP is Really comprable to the Ross Compressor at a fraction of the price. Please rush me this pedal as soon as possible when you choose me entry and thank you for the opportunity to win this gem.

  99. John DZ

    January 4, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    After watching the review, this is the compressor pedal I want. I had the Carl Martin Compressor/Limiter years ago, it was good but very bulky. Love the sleek/small design of the SP. Thanks Best Guitar Effects!

  100. Daniel

    January 4, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    Overall, I think this pedal is a winner. I’ll certainly like it a lot more than the Keeley and the Custom Comp. And give it an edge over the Barber.

  101. Giulio

    January 4, 2014 at 8:30 am

    I wasn’t sure about compressors, but this demo changed my mind!

  102. Mo

    January 4, 2014 at 6:50 am

    Days spent to find the right compressor to upgrade my pedalboard for the next London shows and after reading this review I’ll definitely go for the SP compressor. I’ve always been a fan of Ross compressor and I think this Xotic box will bring that cut to my ’78 stratocaster shaping the sound the way I need.

    Xotic made a great job!

  103. Jeff

    January 3, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Remarkable little box. I am selling several highly regarded (and more expensive) compressors because of this beauty.

  104. Michael Jacobs

    January 3, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    I have one of the SP compressors, I could use another for a get up and go board.

  105. Aaron Strumpel

    January 3, 2014 at 8:44 am

    I dig the size of this pedal. I have a rad Telenordia Kompressor right now and don’t know if it could replace that, but it’d be great to save on the space…and I’ve always loved Xotic stuff!

  106. Will

    January 3, 2014 at 8:21 am

    I could really do with a pedal like this!

  107. Ira tuepah

    January 3, 2014 at 7:41 am

    I haven’t been able to try the xotic compressor yet, but I have there boost pedal and love the sound / build quality you get at such an affordable price. Not to mention the small foot print it’s a win win situation! Keep up the great work xotic! I can’t wait to try this compressor out.

  108. Scott

    January 3, 2014 at 7:12 am

    This looks mighty nifty.

  109. Ted Gomez

    January 3, 2014 at 4:51 am

    I am in need a great compression pedal, the one on my board is lacking and I don’t like the way it colors my tone. Seem I am always turning knobs to get it sounding to where I might want it. Just seems to be taking up space on my board since I almost never engage it anymore! I would love the Exotic SP Compressor as my go to compressor of choice!

  110. Vivek

    January 3, 2014 at 2:40 am

    I go through periods of using a compressor and playing without one but with a footprint this small one could just leave it on the board all the time, even if its not being used! My favorite compressor is the Barber Tone Press and I also own the Boss CS 2 and MXR Dynacomp. The Keeley and SP compressor are on my list of ones to try at some point.

  111. Mike A

    January 3, 2014 at 2:09 am

    I’ve been meaning to pick up a compressor for my clean sections for a while.

    This seems right about..perfect.

  112. luis neiva

    January 3, 2014 at 1:34 am

    i don´t use compressor, but this review left me wondering

  113. Mike Garrett

    January 2, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about this compressor. Love the small form factor for utility pedals like these on a gigging pedalboard.

  114. Mike Woods

    January 2, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Never played this pedal, but I’ve played the other two and they’re absolutely amazing so I expect this to be just the same

  115. chris fox

    January 2, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    Love it!

  116. Eric Baz

    January 2, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    I’ve never had a compressor on my pedal board. This one may make a fantastic first. Thanks for doing the great reviews.

  117. Peter Mahoney

    January 2, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Great review for a great sounding pedal !

  118. Jason Murphy

    January 2, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    Gotta have it

  119. john c

    January 2, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    very cool.

  120. Roland

    January 2, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I think i want to win this :O

  121. Anuj Arora

    January 2, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    Tested this pedal at Guitar Center and was utterly blown away. I’m pretty firmly in the fingers-as-dynamic-tools and have generally eschewed compressors since a foray into using them with my (then main) Carvin VM100’s clean channel – mainly to even out levels between positions 2/4 (hum+single) versus 1/5 (full humbuckers) on my Jem (with its signature high output pickups resulting in the discrepant output levels between end and middle switch positions).

    This one, though, seemed to add some warmth and pop without a significant impact to playing dynamics and articulation. It’s definitely on my to-acquire list.

  122. Shane

    January 2, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    Not a big fan of compressors but I keep reading that this is the compressor for guitarist who don’t like compressors, so maybe this will be the one.

  123. Olly

    January 2, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    Seems to be the best to me

  124. Adam

    January 2, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    I definitely would prefer this over the classic MXR Dyna Comp.

  125. Kyle Alm

    January 2, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    New compressor eh? Could always use one, they are all so different in the way they change the tone. Probably the most misunderstood pedal on anyone’s chain.

  126. Jeremy Judelson

    January 2, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    an amazing pedal. better than most I’ve tried.

  127. Mike

    January 2, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    The secret to a great clean tone is a single coil pickup, a volume knob rolled back, and a great compressor… I think the Xotic SP compressor more than fits the bill!

  128. mike reynolds

    January 2, 2014 at 1:05 pm

    I’d love an old Ross. Seems this is an improved version. Cool.

  129. Steph

    January 2, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Actually, I may like the SL Drive & EP Booster equally, so if I could win 2 out of three, dem would be the two. Otherwise, all good things come in 3’s. 🙂 🙂

    Thanks again,

    Steph

  130. jimmy aly

    January 2, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    I like winning free stuff

  131. Steph

    January 2, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    Xotic Effects sound great, fill in and complete your presentation. I like the SL Drive, EP Boost & SP Compressor in that order.

    Thanks for the reviews and your generous effort,

    Steph

  132. Jon

    January 2, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    Small and perfect size for my board 😉

  133. jonny

    January 2, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    compressed some of the best marshall into a handy-foot pedal

  134. xrussianx

    January 2, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    SP sounds good!

  135. Alan Grimes

    January 2, 2014 at 11:39 am

    A great compressor is the first pedal I ever look for, anything else is gravy, nice guitar, decent amp and a compressor lets your fingers do the talking!

  136. raymond seto

    January 2, 2014 at 11:32 am

    sounds good!

  137. christina marie

    January 2, 2014 at 11:29 am

    I’m sure my boyfriend could use this 🙂

  138. Jimmy

    January 2, 2014 at 11:15 am

    That is an impressive pedal with a small footprint!

  139. cristian

    January 2, 2014 at 10:53 am

    I like the demo above, nice job in a little box.

  140. brupop

    January 2, 2014 at 10:53 am

    This is the Xotic pedal I really want.

  141. Jason

    January 2, 2014 at 10:29 am

    Never had a compressor. Think I need to get one to try out.

  142. Victor

    January 2, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Its good to get a clean compression sound. Thanks.

  143. Jack Weisberg

    January 2, 2014 at 10:17 am

    Squeeze me!

  144. Jamie

    January 2, 2014 at 10:14 am

    I like that these are so small. Smaller pedals = can fit even more on my PT3!

  145. Joseph Bugg

    January 2, 2014 at 9:53 am

    This is by far the sweetest little compressor I have ever seen! I cannot wait to get my hands on one of these!

  146. Mike Harris

    January 2, 2014 at 9:41 am

    Love the small footprint. And it sounds pretty amazing, too.

  147. Gonzalo

    January 2, 2014 at 9:38 am

    This pedal is so versatile that i can even used it as a clean boost, or even like a nice little overdrive. These 3 pedals are just great, I’ve never heard of this brand before and now i just love it!

  148. Justin

    January 2, 2014 at 9:25 am

    First compressor i have been very interested to try!

  149. Dave

    January 2, 2014 at 9:23 am

    It’s good for a small compressor

  150. bertram

    January 2, 2014 at 9:15 am

    I’ve never been convinced by compressors but I definitely have to try – this one seems the right one top do it!

  151. Dylan Thomas

    January 2, 2014 at 9:12 am

    Thank you so much for having these giveaways! I really dig this compressor and could really use it on my board!

  152. Nicosonic

    January 2, 2014 at 9:06 am

    I need it !

  153. Matt R

    January 2, 2014 at 9:05 am

    this compressor is unbeatable! and so compact too!!

  154. Zsolt Dubravcsik

    January 2, 2014 at 8:55 am

    It should be great. Based on the review and other videos I would like to have one despite I’m not being a compressor guy. I would love this pedal.

  155. Seth Okrend

    January 2, 2014 at 8:40 am

    I’d like this/

  156. Peter Trott

    January 2, 2014 at 8:27 am

    Another great pedal. Thanks again for the contests!

  157. chris song

    January 2, 2014 at 8:06 am

    Xotic makes great pedals. Looks like they’ve made another winner.

  158. Dan Sidoli

    January 2, 2014 at 8:03 am

    Great reviews! I don’t have a comp in my chain but would love the Xotic!

  159. John

    January 2, 2014 at 7:57 am

    That’s a good sounding Ross/Dyna at any size. Impressive at that size.

  160. Luke Payne

    January 2, 2014 at 7:34 am

    I’d love to upgrade from my Supercomp to one of these. Thanks for the reviews!

  161. Demian Rojas

    January 2, 2014 at 7:33 am

    I want a happy new gear!

  162. Robert Abernathy

    January 2, 2014 at 7:24 am

    I don’t have a lot of room either on my board – I haven’t taken the plunge into getting a compressor yet, but this might fit the bill

  163. Eric

    January 2, 2014 at 7:21 am

    I don’t have a compressor, or a lot of room on my pedal board, so this would work well

  164. Randall Brown

    January 2, 2014 at 7:18 am

    I’d love to hear what a good compressor like this would do following my growing array of noise pedals.

  165. fescue

    January 2, 2014 at 6:57 am

    Nice pedal. Not too over the top as some compressors can be. Just right.

  166. Pete Gaeta

    January 2, 2014 at 6:57 am

    Not sure how I’d use this, but I always like to experiment.

  167. Brian D

    January 2, 2014 at 6:51 am

    I’ve been thinking of adding a compressor pedal to my board. This one sounds like it might be the one. Small footprint and packed with features. I especially like the blend feature.

  168. Seth

    January 2, 2014 at 6:43 am

    I have heard all good things when it comes to exotic effects!. And I have heard over and over again from all my gear nerd buddies that I’m crazy for not having a compressor on my current pedal board. Well I think I could make room for this little specimen!

  169. Brent Johnston

    January 2, 2014 at 6:30 am

    This one looks like it would add a lot to a signal chain without taking up much room.

  170. David

    January 2, 2014 at 6:27 am

    There are a gazillion compressors out there. It’s great that you can open this up and start tinkering!

  171. MauMau

    January 2, 2014 at 6:03 am

    I dont use compressors, but this pedal seems to be very interesting.

  172. Jimmy

    January 2, 2014 at 5:59 am

    The best compact compressor I’ve tried,,,perfect compliment foe the EP Booster

  173. Matt S

    January 2, 2014 at 5:55 am

    Recently got a dynacomp but would be really interested in trying this one out.

  174. Dom

    January 2, 2014 at 5:55 am

    Im looking to upgrade all of the Boss pedals on my board. This would be a great replacement for my CS-3 🙂

  175. Edson

    January 2, 2014 at 5:50 am

    This is a really cool pedal. I ended up selling it and an EP booster since I have a Strymon OB.1 (Optical Compressor and Boost). It was easier to sell the SP compressor and the EP booster than the Strymon OB.1.

    Really wanted to keep it, but I thought it was a bit overkill to have 2x boost/compressors.

    I’d recommend this one! (And the EP booster) 🙂

    /Edson

  176. ron

    January 2, 2014 at 5:23 am

    I just did a lot of searching for compressors . . . the only downside is that this is a bit top heavy due to it’s size.

  177. Dale Randall

    January 2, 2014 at 5:23 am

    I would love to add this beast to my board!

  178. Alan Bunn

    January 2, 2014 at 5:19 am

    Sweet Compressor.

  179. Florent

    January 2, 2014 at 5:17 am

    Sexy !

  180. Michael Scar

    January 2, 2014 at 5:12 am

    My secret wish…

  181. Rick

    January 2, 2014 at 2:09 am

    I like the crystal knobs.

  182. luca

    January 1, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    this definitely is my favorite out of the 3

  183. don hutchko

    January 1, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    Very usable pedal-+all 3 make an lethal combo

  184. Brett

    January 1, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Super interested in the Sp compressor. That blend control sounds like the control most compressors should have but don’t. well done xotic!

  185. hugo

    January 1, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    i want this!

  186. Cody Budd

    January 1, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    I need a compressor pretty badly.

  187. Arthur

    December 6, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Yes, a very nice review, maybe even too nice. I feel like he’s selling it to me personally, Does Gabriel ever write bad reviews. I bought this unit a few days ago and do like that it doesn’t color the sound like some other boxes.

  188. manolito almirol

    October 4, 2013 at 1:34 am

    xotic sp comp?i just have it today,sounds great mostly on my clean sound its an awesome comp pedal,have one and enjoy your new level of your sound….

  189. Lee

    September 4, 2013 at 2:32 am

    So who won?

  190. Robert Abernathy

    September 1, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Great review – this is an awesome compact compressor

  191. Glenn rexach

    September 1, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    I think this may well be the next pedal I get, based in large part on this great review. Thanks!

  192. Paige Calder

    September 1, 2013 at 3:58 am

    This review was so informative!!!! Thanks a ton for the great reviews, I always look to this site first befoe I check out a new pedal for myself. I DEFINITELY want this pedal now!!! 🙂

  193. Jim

    August 30, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    Impressive dynamics from such a small unit. I was a big fan of the Dyna Comp with JHS mod, but the Xotic SP Compressor is right there with it. Would love to win it!

  194. Bill

    August 30, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    As an acoustic singer/guitarist I have just recently become aware of the value of compression when playing amplified because I have to do my own sound now. I don’t have any Xotic products but this one sounds great and seems to have great simple control set. Great demo of this and the superego too. Keep up the great demos I will be back.

    have a peaceful day,

    Bill

  195. Jeff F

    August 30, 2013 at 11:12 am

    I have not used compressors much, but I am very interested in hearing it!

  196. Phil T.

    August 30, 2013 at 10:24 am

    In the market for a compressor, figured I’d enter and take a chance.

  197. bertram

    August 29, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    very curious about this pedal…

  198. J.C.

    August 29, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    I need a compression pedal on my pedalboard, and this one will do just fine!

  199. LSP

    August 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks for the review. I’ve got a MXR Supercomp but would be happy to replace it with this one.

  200. Zsolt Dubravcsik

    August 29, 2013 at 7:46 am

    Xotic makes really good pedals. The SP Compressor is no exception. I like it. The review is great. Well done!

  201. dan harvey

    August 28, 2013 at 7:19 am

    Good review. Hope to win.

  202. Seth

    August 28, 2013 at 3:31 am

    Been looking for a better compressor pedal. Still just using the right side of the Rt 66 OD/comp. checked out a keeley but this one intrigues me. Small and I’ve only heard good things about Xotic effects. Would love to put this on my pedal Board!

  203. Sonny

    August 28, 2013 at 2:54 am

    Nice gear review! I would love to add that pedal to my rig!

  204. Carol

    August 27, 2013 at 1:33 am

    If you keep playing all funky like that, you should sell a lot of stomp boxes.

    Keep up the good work!

  205. David

    August 26, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    Great pedal, nice review.

  206. Vince

    August 26, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    Nice review…

    If I don’t win, I still want one.

  207. Lloydy

    August 26, 2013 at 10:05 am

    Great review. I’ve never been inclined to use a compressor but this little guy could change my mind. Nice work, my friends!

  208. ERIC

    August 25, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Great review! I don’t have an Xotic Effects SP Compressor but I definitely need to add it to my pedal board! Thanks for the chance!

  209. Jake

    August 25, 2013 at 4:42 am

    Just how a compressor should be! Not overwhelming unless you want it to be, can’t wait to try one of these in my rig!

  210. Brian Defilippis

    August 24, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    This review has me wanting to try this pedal. Plenty of features packed into a small pedal. I’m already a fan of Xotic Effects as I own and love both the EP Booster and the BB Preamp. The EP Booster is always on, placed after my dirt pedals and adds something that I find hard to put into words. You just have to hear it. The BB Preamp adds transparent overdrive that cleans up with a turn your guitar’s volume knob for a variety of sounds.

  211. Steve

    August 24, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Really complete review. Definitely answers any questions I had about this pedal.

  212. Matt

    August 24, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Great review

  213. Bruce

    August 24, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    Great review…short and sweet…clearly demonstrated the product completely.

    Love the pedal…Xotic never disappoints.

  214. Christine Randall

    August 24, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    I love Xotic pedals

  215. Paul

    August 24, 2013 at 10:42 am

    This sounds awesome. I’ve never heard a pedal from Xotic that I didn’t like!

  216. Scott

    August 23, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    Ok, I’ve never used a compressor. This sounds like a great pedal to add to my chain.

  217. Steven

    August 23, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for the thorough demo and in depth review.

    Sounds like a very nice pedal. Lots of options for tone shaping.

  218. Tony

    August 23, 2013 at 4:05 am

    Pedal sounds great! I would love to try this out on my board someday!

  219. George

    August 22, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    This pedal offers plenty of features to tailor that tone to perfection! Impressive.

  220. Anthony

    August 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    Consider my dyna comp replaced! Xotic makes the stuff.

  221. peter mongaya

    August 22, 2013 at 11:50 am

    I am buying one!! I have several fly dates coming up and I am making a travel board small enough to carry in my suitcase

    So far:

    Budda wah, Boss tu-2/TC electronic Polytune Mini, SP compressor, Maxon SD-9, Maxon 808, Ernie Ball Jr. w. tonesuck mod, Maxon AD-9/ TC electronics Nova Delay

  222. KB

    August 21, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    I started w a Maxon comp – worked well, hated the soft stomp switch.

    Now I’m using a Wampler Ego comp and its great(!) but needs more room

    Than this little SP! ..want!

  223. Jenny

    August 21, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    Wow! That’s a cute little pedal! I am yet to try this out at my local store.

    May I add this is a good a balanced review. Did you do that demo too? Even if you didn’t it complemented it very well Mr Gabriel! Thanks for trying it with different pickups. That’s something that isn’t normally done in most demos. Maybe we could hear more about its performance alongside other pedals? I’d wanna hear about how it could sound like with my SD-1 overdrive!

    Thanks very much and good luck to all contestants of the competition! x

  224. Jeremy

    August 20, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    I started doing compression pedal research just a week ago, and coincidentally stumbled across this review. Wow! this is a killer compression pedal. I’m starting to save up for a pedalboard for myself, and this is definitely looking like the one for me.

  225. Lewis

    August 19, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    Very good review. One thing that seems to be missing from every review I read is how this pedal sounds in with a bunch of other pedals. Is it best before distortion or after, etc. I am a working musician and this kind of info really helps me find a starting place for incorporating a pedal like this into my various pedal boards. I love the idea of a blend knob and wish that they would put blend knobs on all effects pedals. I also love the idea of high, middle, and low compression. I tend to use the compressor to take the high bite off of my bridge pick-ups and then have to deal with the low end being too squished. This just seems like a really practical pedal. I own several xotic effects and am absolutely sold on the RC Booster. It is awesome. Love your site, thanks.

  226. Lee

    August 18, 2013 at 5:37 am

    Sounds great! I would love to write a review, but first I’ll need the pedal. Email me for shipping info.

    But seriously, it seems quite a versatile pedal, as far as compressors go. I’d love to try it first hand.

  227. Joseph Bugg

    August 18, 2013 at 3:47 am

    I CANNOT WAIT to get my hands on one of these!!! I am in college right now and don’t have the extra cash for a new board and power supplies, so my board is very limited on space. This would be the PERFECT Ross-based compressor I have been looking for… and the BLEND knob is such a great idea!?! I currently own the Xotic EP Booster and a huge of their lineup. Once again, well done Xotic Effects, and thank you Best Guitar Effects for this great (and VERY helpful) review!.

  228. Mark

    August 17, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    Anyone know how this compressor sounds on a bass guitar??

  229. Jeffrey Vastine

    August 16, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    This sounds like a winner and the form factor is really a plus in my honest opinion. I will definitely have to take this for a tet drive and check out Xotic’s other offerings too.

  230. alex

    August 16, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    crispy compressor. I could use one of those…

  231. Wojciech Trusewicz

    August 16, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Nice looks, I’ll gladly review it if i get it 😉 kisses

  232. John

    August 16, 2013 at 3:42 am

    Nice! Getting easier to build a great small pedal board by the day.

  233. Steve

    August 15, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Love the size of this one. Would look great in my line.

  234. mike p

    August 15, 2013 at 2:09 am

    have a stomp ped and would love one

  235. Matthew

    August 14, 2013 at 4:28 am

    My frame of reference for a compressor is usually the Diamond Optical Compressor. Easily the most popular pedal among the boutique crowd.

    After playing the Xotic SP, I’d have to say this is the only thing I would consider to replace the Diamond (and at half the price!) do keep in mind that the SP is more of a Ross-style compressor whereas the Diamond is an optical compressor. They both have their strengths and weaknesses.

  236. Topomole

    August 14, 2013 at 3:04 am

    Gotta say, the SP seems like an ideal compressor for fingerpicking electroacoustic.

  237. Sarah

    August 14, 2013 at 2:42 am

    I’m new to guitar and I want to get geared up so I can start comparing things myself.

  238. Sandy Aphid

    August 14, 2013 at 1:40 am

    I’d like to see a side by side comparison vs a DynaComp. DynaComp doesn’t have that blend knob of course, but I think it more or less defines the compressor genre of pedals. Of course to do that comparison I’d have to have an SP.

  239. Shawn

    August 14, 2013 at 12:20 am

    Every board must have a good compressor…

  240. Kyle

    August 13, 2013 at 8:55 pm

    Would love to add this to my growing Xotic collection. Everything I’ve read and heard is superb.

  241. Peter Mahoney

    August 13, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    Looks like there’s a lot to play with here. Let me at it !

  242. Seth Okrend

    August 13, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    I’d love one.

  243. Wyatt

    August 13, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Looks like a solid comp! Would love to have one.

  244. Stephen

    August 13, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    Looks beautiful. It’s amazing that they packed so much tonal versatility in such a small enclosure. Sounds incredible too.

  245. Alexander

    August 13, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Looks tight! Could definitely put that baby to use…

  246. Aaron

    August 13, 2013 at 11:11 am

    Excellent pedal! Thanks for the opportunity to win a great quality compressor!

  247. Thomas Murawski

    August 13, 2013 at 10:37 am

    Excellent review! Thank you for going into such great depth on all the features. There is a lot more here than first meets the eye!

  248. Dale

    August 12, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    All of Xotic’s pedals are great. I own 3 of them (AC Plus, BB Pre, EP Booster) and I’m really considering bring on this compressor in the future to replace my Keeley.

  249. Mike

    August 11, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    Xotic make great products. I have the EP boost on my board and it’s on constantly. The small footprint is a plus as well.

  250. Peter

    August 11, 2013 at 3:30 am

    I have to say in both sound and style the SP compressor is killing it.

  251. Jeff

    August 9, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I heard an SP next to several other compressors and came away very impressed.

    • bob

      January 31, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      sounds good to me.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.